A Part of Japanese Literature that's Making Me Crazy + Taichi's Plea (an original poetry)

in #poetry5 years ago


Lately, I have been obsessed with Chihayafuru and Ogura Hyakunin Isshu. Chihayafuru is a Japanese anime which shows the sports Competitive Karuta. Karuta involves the usage of cards in which Ogura Hyakunin Isshu is written. Ogura Hyakunin Isshu is a compilation of 100 Japanese poems which are written by Japanese poets.

Because of this anime and its concept, I developed a strong desire of learning the 100 Japanese poems as well as the story behind each poem. Thanks to one of my students who is into Japanese literature, I was able to get a greater view of how awesome Japanese literature is.

I specifically wanted to go back to the Heian Era where the ability to create poetry pieces is the basis of one's knowledge and sophistication. I want to meet Ariwara no Narihira because he was said to be the basis of Genji from Murasaki Shikibu's Tale of Genji. He's also the author of the "Chihaya poem" which was subtly made for Fujiwara no Takaiko, the love of his life which was never meant-to-be.



IMAGE SOURCE: This is the Chihayafuru (Chihayaburu card written by Ariwara no Narihira)



Once I gather more information about these things, I'm surely gonna share it here. I'm also planning on doing a calligraphy post of the 100 poems both in Japanese and in English. <3 For now, I'm going to share a poem I made using Taichi's perspective.



IMAGE SOURCE


Taichi's Plea



I heard a silent crack deep within me
Painfully getting numb as I saw your tears
It's not because you're sad that I'm like this
It's because the tears you shed are not for me

Hopelessly in love with the girl I knew all my life
The idiotic girl who's now becoming ladylike
You treat me like you always do
I'm quite dumb for wanting more from you

Isn't it I who is always by your side?
Why does your heart belong to another guy
You are so near, but yet very far
Guess I can never get close to your heart

I listen to your worries... I listen to your everything
But why do I feel my existence equals nothing?
He... he who is faraway and once gave up
To him, why couldn't I catch up?

Well, there's no way I can blame you
For I, deep within me, admire him too
But you know? It really wouldn't hurt you
If for once, you look my way, too


@tegoshei






IMAGE SOURCE



Damn it! Just look at how Taichi stares at her. </3 I really feel for him. I'm rooting for you Taichi! I hope you turn the tide in the upcoming episodes! Oh well, I still have some classes. See you around!

Sort:  

The poem is so touching. I'm not fond of anime's but I want to watch this!

Aww... Thank you so much. I'm glad you enjoyed my poem. Yes, please? I haven't finished the whole series, but it's really interesting in a lot of aspects. <3

Hi @tegoshei. Congratulations!

You've been featured by @steemph.cebu on our Daily Feature of Authors #38. You've chosen as the top best blogs of this day. With that, you've enjoyed the benefits for being featured.

Continue to post more quality content having #cebu & #philippines as part of your tags.

Aww... <3 Thank you so much @steemph.cebu !!! <3 I really appreciate it. <3

You got a 6.80% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @tegoshei!

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the respective amount in Steem.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87