I am Africa

in #poetry6 years ago

I am a child of the black continent,
a light no one can put out.
I am a part of the happening history
a piece of the changing revolutionary.
I am the key to her ancestors'
long-denied dreams;
the night her people adorn like cream.

I am the wind that sweeps
mournfully over her violated lands;
the sun that harshly bakes
her unforgiving vast deserts.
I am the treasure beneath
her unliberated rich soil;
the polluted air
contributing to the climate boil.

I am the wails of her sad mothers
over the immature deaths of their young.
I am the blood of her offsprings
coalescing at the feet of their tribesmen.
I am the pain they hide deep within
masked with glittering melanin.
I am the burning defiance
fueling several worthy insurgents.

I am her sexy long beaches
binding land and sea like stitches.
I am the loud music
ever present on her vibrant streets;
the unending party
that is her addictive nightlife;
I am the beauty of her chaotic markets;
the richness blended in her traditional cuisines.

I am the diversity of her dialects
her fire spitting tongues
melodiously chatting away blues.
I am her promising future
minus this corruption culture;
I am her progress hanging for dear life
in the hands of commons man vote;
I am the undying spirit of Africa!

africa-764302_640.png

Pixabay!


Recent Posts :)

Photography... Healing Landscapes.

Photography... East or West, Home is Best.

Poetry... Honest Spill.

Photography... Night Life.

Poetry... Life is....

Thank you for coming.


TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Sort:  

Africa my Africa, ha! Land of my birth, my place, my identity, my home.

Lovely poetry @tezmel.

Yaaasss! Forever :)

Thank you!

Your post has been chosen for this week’s Powa Moves curation post, highlighting great writing and art from the #teamgirlpowa tag. 💖 Thanks for sharing your wonderful words, and for making @teamgirlpowa awesome!
TGP-22-Banner.jpg

I felt this deeply in my soul, like roots are trying to reform (since my connection to Africa is mostly severed and thin at best thanks to my ancestors being stolen). This poem helps me breathe.

Our ancestors remain within us love, breathe :)

This is incredibly gorgeous! I'm sort of at a loss for words. The richness. The power. This is really, really good.

Thank you :)

You're most welcome. Thanks for sharing your gift.

I just love this. The beaches stitching the land and sea together. The deep pain masked by glittering melanin. May Africa's lands stop being violated sooner rather than later by global oppressors ❤

Much <3 <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29