Peonies

in #poetry6 years ago

the garden hose burst
and with it
her peonies,
because they're delicate,
that way.
the petals were carried off
by rivulets and sprays and streams
of water.
since it was raining,
no one else noticed —
they thought the rain
disassembled them...
some thought nothing
at all.
but she knew, because
they were her peonies,
and her mother's,
and her grandmother's,
and a thousand-thousand grandmothers'
before them.
all washed away by rain
or burst garden-hoses —
because they're delicate,
that way.

~original poem by me~

Peony.jpg
• PHOTO BY ME •

ThanksForReading.png 😊

SeeOtherPosts--Poetry.png

Sort:  

Oh goodness, that is a beautiful poem.

My grandmother loved peonies to bits, and she herself was washed away years ago.

I don't sit and think of her often, but now I'm in tears remembering her. :(

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

you can picture and feel everything in this poem. love it!

Peonies are such a beautiful, majestic, delicate, secretive flower. You wrote a lovely poem for them!

Lovely poem :)

Beautiful poem @thekittygirl I love the way you have managed to imbue the peonies with persona, it's almost like we can see the spirit of the families gardening ladies reflected in the flowers

her peonies,
and her mother's,
and her grandmother's,
and a thousand-thousand grandmothers'
before them.

Wonderful :-)

Wow, this really hits home in more ways than one. When we bought this place, our friend who we got it from asked to come and dig up her great-aunt's peonies in case the chickens got at them. Finally last fall I dug them up, along with the columbine, divided the crowns, and transplanted them into pots. They sat out all winter.

This spring I gave her and another lady the pots of crowns and I kept three for us. Only one survived; I'm assuming because of the bitter cold and no insulation. It produced a single, pink flower that this morning was all over the ground from the heavy rain in the night.

I think I will bury it in mulch this winter and give it a chance to repopulate. Maybe next year we will have two beautiful peony flowers.

beautiful poem my lady! i love the generational reference and the water on the petals.

love
eagle spirit

Lovely ....all of it. Photo accompanies poem well

very pretty..Peonies seem even more beautiful and fragile then the Rose

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73