Remembering and Honouring A Friend

in #poetry5 years ago

One year ago today my beautiful friend Colette returned to the earth after living with Breast Cancer. Colette touched the lives of all that she met. She was quiet frankly a huge beam of love that graced the earth and all who met her felt blessed. She had such a huge journey with Cancer, she really tried so hard to over come it, to heal herself. Her strength amazed us all. When she returned to the earth, it felt as though a darkness came over the earth for a while. But her love lives on and it beams on all of us that met her.

Today I write this, watching my sister deteriorate with cancer and I wonder how can this be, why can this be. Two amazing, beautiful Goddesses suffering so. I am trying to prepare myself for the time when my sister returns to the earth, but all I have are the words I write now. How can I even begin to imagine what it will be like when she is gone.

Today I am re posting the poem I wrote for Colette when she passed on from here. It is the best way for me to remember and honour and celebrate her.

-

colette.jpg

The first time I saw you I was Singing.

Who is this long haired beauty,

With a lotus tattoo on one wrist and a Sheila na Gig on the other.

I wanted to know this woman,

who came to join us.

This woman with her womb in bloom,

Who added her voice to ours.

We bonded over Ireland and Shelia,

You were a wild woman,

Your Strength and courage was so inspiring,

You had a cheekiness in your smile!

A real lust for life,

you drew me in and I drank you and your wisdom all up,

Yours was an infectious optimism.

I got to dance with you as you birthed your beautiful boy.

I saw a Raw, Fierce and Powerful Woman,

Your sheer determination and power shone so bright,

I feel so blessed to have been with you on those nights.

Your Journey into Motherhood,

Your Sacred Birth,

You came into your full power,

You gifted us all with such light.

Your love for life,

Your fucking huge amazing heart,

This is what I will carry with me.

I remember you strong,

I remember your laugh,

I remember your tears of joy,

I remember you liberating me through cunt craft.

I remember the last time I saw you,

I walked you to that car,

We hugged and said I love you.

I remember your eyes, that smile!

You are the spark I see in fire,

You are the sun that shines today,

You are our Goddess Colette,

You will always stay that way!



8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp



DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @trucklife-family! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 23000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 24000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77