Throwback Poem-Off: Love's Goodbye [original poem]

in #poetry6 years ago

Eleventh round, I do believe, and yet the poets still do weave. Indeed the steps get trickier, and perhaps the choices stickier. Where will it all go? Only one way to know! Continue to follow - to and fro...

Welcome to the Poem-Off!!

Read @mitchelljaworski's last entry here: Sins of Another

And my response below...

heart-583895_640.jpg
source

Love's Goodbye

I hold you in my heart
Never parted, the memory
Of you and me and love.
We shared a lifetime
Really, with all that passed.
We carved our beings
Out of and into
One another's soul.
With the sharp knife
Of youthful pride
We bled for each other
And now the war is done.
With no true victor
Nor prisoners taken.
Only we two knew
Of this bloody feud
Only we two are left
To forgive
I offer you my hand
In peace, in friendship
I offer you my shoulder
Should another battle
Ever make you cry.

rsz_screen_shot_2017-09-02_at_103602_pm.png

What's a poem-off, you ask? Just a little thang that started a little bit ago. I read a poem that @mitchelljaworski posted, from his old-school writing days. It reminded me of all of my old-school poems, so I challenged him to see if we could go turn-for-turn and repost long lost words from the vaults of time. No rules apply, and new stuff might just make the mix. Check it out, y'all. Follow the links down the rabbit hole...

Thanks for visiting

rsz_uniwhisp02.png

Here are some of my other poems:
Kiss * Clouds of September * Dammed Love * Sunset Blessings * Fadings of Fall * The Friday Blues * Passion Flower * Defining Love * The Way * Sing On * Heartsong * Desire * Trust Again * Solstice Rain * Dreamtime * Morning Mist * Kintsukuroi * Dead Dog’s Lie * Synchronicity * From Darkness * Love’s Last Throes * For Love of the Pub

For posts on emotions, nature, poetry, and scotch,

come follow my blog!

Sort:  

this is very pretty Uni... im with Kubster here... im wondering the source of the inspiration. But... more importantly, this is beautiful

Roberto!

Thank you meno. It was a poignant moment in my life. <3

Ohh, this one made me wonder what inspired it? I bet there is a story behind it? As I’m sure all your poems branch from a memory, Eleven rounds is no joke. You two are really going head to head. Has he met his match, will he crumble in defeat? Should we ask the audience who rhythm strikes the deepest? In other words, keep at it kiddos!

Leave it to Kubby to up the anti! ;) All of my poems come from current situations. I don't know that I've ever really written a poem about a memory..I think I should try, though.

This one is pretty evident, I think. It's from years ago...when the on and off long and tortured romance with my first love was finally and completely done, and I was making peace with it.

Uhm, challenge accepted! Uni is in poetic trouble lol

Ooo, Mitch is throwin' down with the threats, now, aye? I've got bardic blood. I'm not afraid!

Beautiful 🙏🏼

Not much to add, just very good work my friend ✌🏼

Thank you, friend!

Wow. This is awesome.

Thank you :)

Nail on head (weep)

HUGS! It's all-too-relatable for so many of us. How's the trip going??

The trip is over thanks for reminding me ....Weep x 2

Oooohhh... I got here by following a link from @mitchelljaworski's latest entry in this poem-off, and I have not been disappointed. "I offer you my shoulder
Should another battle
Ever make you cry."

Beautiful.

Following :)

Hah! No wait! I was following you already :D

still following ;)

Haha!! Thank you. I'm glad you're enjoying and have decided to come along for the ride. :)

Oooooh, I think I have the perfect one for this! Might be an easy decision for a change, yesssss :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34