Throwback Poem-Off: Trojan Dulcimer [original poem]

in #poetry6 years ago

Welcome to the Poem-Off!!

We've stumbled upon the land of bitterness and love's ending. I wavered for a moment, debating on taking a turn back the other way, but this one felt most fitting to answer @mitchelljaworski's last entry. Read it here: Closure

And my response below...

20180218_220623.jpg

Trojan Dulcimer

Two dulcimers stand
Like sentries
Guards of a secret
A sacred knowledge
Waiting
For the day
When one comes to challenge
They lean, side by side
Up against the wall
Hidden in part
By the small round table
I can see them though
Always there
Watching me
Sent by their creator
Under a guise of affection
They betray me now
Like a wooden horse
These instruments
Too, made from wood
Two, to share the watch
Reminding me
He still holds my heart
I will not face them yet
Shadowed by their presence
My days will pass
One by one
Until I have the courage
To forever say goodbye

rsz_screen_shot_2017-09-02_at_103602_pm.png

What's a poem-off, you ask? Just a little thang that started a little bit ago. I read a poem that @mitchelljaworski posted, from his old-school writing days. It reminded me of all of my old-school poems, so I challenged him to see if we could go turn-for-turn and repost long lost words from the vaults of time. No rules apply, and new stuff might just make the mix. Check it out, y'all. Follow the links down the rabbit hole...

Thanks for visiting

rsz_uniwhisp02.png

Here are some of my other poems:
Kiss * Clouds of September * Dammed Love * Sunset Blessings * Fadings of Fall * The Friday Blues * Passion Flower * Defining Love * The Way * Sing On * Heartsong * Desire * Trust Again * Solstice Rain * Dreamtime * Morning Mist * Kintsukuroi * Dead Dog’s Lie * Synchronicity * From Darkness * Love’s Last Throes * For Love of the Pub

For posts on emotions, nature, poetry, and scotch,

come follow my blog!

Sort:  

It's beautiful!

Thank you :)

Beautiful poetry. Followed you for more beautiful poetry.

Thank you, kind sir!

Amazing and beautiful !

I love it !

Thank you for sharing !

Thank you :)

Well well, a dulcimer post. Imagine that <3

Timing!

Look at you coming with the quick response! Now I just need to google dulcimer and find me a poem to respond with...lol.

Haha! It's an instrument. But not necessarily relevant to the feel of the poem. And yeah, that one wasn't too hard to find a reply to. But it's going to get harder the less I have left!

Well, I was able to find one that plays on the same theme but takes it a positive direction, I think lol.

Well written, captivating as well.

A well composed poetry. @uniwhisp.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76