Kuh-thers /'kʌð·ərz/ (for kim)

in #poetry6 years ago

for kim2.png


/'kʌð·ərz/

(for Kim)

She says kuh-thers /'kʌð·ərz/
not colors /ˈkʌl·ərz/.
Not because she doesn’t know,
but because it is too much for just an "L" /l/;

“colors…”

"kuh-thers"

“kuthers…”

“See?”

And, who is to tell her that she’s wrong?
Not me.
I mean, sure I could,
“It’s colors…C–O-L-O-R-S”
but I kind of like kuthers
I’ve already seen colors,
my whole life; colors,
but now kuthers.

“You're right. It’s much better.”


@veckinon
Original art: "Wanna taste?" India ink markers on paper

Sort:  

"The kuthers of the sky, are lovely to my eye..."
:-)

I'll never forget a toddler I knew who loved especially the "shoe" in a loaf of bread. Nobody ever challenged him, and we felt the loss the first time he asked for the "heel". You captured sweet innocence in this poem.

The picture expresses the emotion perfectly.

Actually, this poem is about my partner Kim. Though, you are not the first to be reminded of a toddler by this piece. For most of her life she has struggled to say the word without more of a T-H sound, especially when speaking quickly and she kind of embraced it to some degree. It was more prominent when we first got together over twelve years ago, but it still slips through every now and then. I have a similar issue when I try to say 'polish sausage.' It just comes out 'polishaushage.'

I think your fondness comes through and that's what brought a toddler to mind. I guess we all bring our experience to everything--mine was recalling a toddler asking for the "shoe" and thinking he had made a sophisticated statement.

i like this, made me smile :) love cultural crossings like this.

I enjoyed this. i had to read twice to understand lol. @Bigskycustoms gave me your link because i live in montana and am looking for other Montanans to connect with. check out my Intro post. I am new but i plan on being here for a while.

I made a facebook page to help us connect and recruit new members. its called Montana Steemit Users. hope to see you there!

https://www.facebook.com/groups/202673140347874/?ref=bookmarks

I found your Facebook group and asked to join

Congratulations @veckinon! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63458.69
ETH 3084.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99