#27 SIN CHRONICLES | MAMA, THEY LIED

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)

self-portrait-1265148_1280.jpg
photo by spiritbunny on pixabay


Mama, they lied.
They called me brother
Before they tossed me away
Into the desert to burn.
They called me friend, mama
But they lied.

They stole my tears
And froze my heart to stone.
Mama, they crushed the petals
Of love that stirred the streams
Of my soul and scattered the dust
To the four corners of the world.
They lied mama.

They fed me bullets and blood
And broke my bones
Over the skins of my fathers.
They called me a saint
And lit my feet with a fire
That burnt my weary soul
And I danced until I fell.
Mama, they lied.

I have become the silence
Of deserted roosts at night
When bats snooze and owls hoot.
I have become the red embers of hate,
The strangled neck of love,
The muttering rivers of fear;
They lied.

Who will lift me up?
Who will fight my battles?
Who will show me the colour of truth?
Who will feed me with life?
They called me brother, mama.
They called me friend but
They lied mama; they lied.


©warpedpoetic, 2018.

Sort:  

Hello @warpedpoetic your post has been featured on the Stach Post Review Article--Link to post.
Thanks for using the Stach Tag.
Keep Being Creative!.

Courtesy - Stach Curation team

Hi @warpedpoetic!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.559 which ranks you at #5799 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 18 places in the last three days (old rank 5781).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 285 contributions, your post is ranked at #253.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05