CALL ME DADA: A POEM

in #poetry6 years ago

photo-1507532618608-af0b483f11f6.jpeg
Photo by Steven Cleghorn on Unsplash.

My child,
Will you come one day,
Touch my beard with your little fingers,
Smile and call me Dada?
Will you giggle and drool
On my neck, will you burp
And puke on my shirt one day,
My child?

For I dream
Of the rhythm of your breath,
The journey of your eyeballs
Beneath your eyelids
When you sleep and dream,
Of the soft scent of your skin
And your tiny shoe with a pink bow,
I dream.

My seed,
When will you come
To keep a lonely man company,
To listen to my fading stories,
The creak of my aching joints
And perceive the fading scent
Of dead dreams?
When will you come?

For I have dreamt of you.
I have hoped of you
And wished for you.
I pray you come when I am better,
When I am stronger,
When I am truer to myself.
I pray you meet a man, not a boy.
I pray you see the things,
That I do not see in me;
I pray you come
For I have dreamt of you.

My child, I dream;
My seed, I have dreamt of you.
Please come before i fall
Like a dead seed to fertilize the earth.
Please come before my eyes dim
And I do not see the part of me
In you that is beautiful


©warpedpoetic, 2018.


Sort:  

lovely poem my dear @warpedpoetic ! what wise words and dreams. children are really such a blessing - I hope you get your wishes :)

Thank you beautiful @amariespeaks. They are truly a blessing and I pray they do come true too.

You will, I think, one day make a wonderful Dada. Some people are just destined to be fathers, and some are not, life decides, no regrets, I myself still do not understand children, never had any, I do know that for some reason though they seem to like me, go figure.

Weirdly babies cry when I pick them up. I am actually scared to carry them. I think they will fall and break or something. So I have lots of babies crying when I pick them up as if they know I don't trust myself. But after a certain age, I become their mat, trampoline, bed, tray and everything. I can't understand that.

Just the opposite here, when peoples babies cry and they give them to me they get real quiet. I never minded holding babies at all. The "kids" just know you are a pushover, so they push you over and jump-d-jump, a trust thing they know you will catch them if they do start to fall.

Yeah, that they are. 😂 I try to be as push overly as possible... 😂

Can't resist commenting on the piece, for I'm a mother and I'm impressed, Oskilo, because (I was spying on you and I know that you're not yet a parent) you wrote it as if you were a father, you managed to inhabit what you've never experienced.

These little details

The journey of your eyeballs
Beneath your eyelids
When you sleep and dream,
can be spotted just by a parent. And these ones
Will you giggle and drool
On my neck, will you burp
And puke on my shirt one day,
can be cherished just by a parent, - that's what I used to think, but after reading your piece, I'm not sure anymore)

I love the structure: every stanza is self-contained and complete, the repetitions of the beginnings and the ends are charming. From stanza to stanza we travel in time from not so distant future to a more distant one, I've experienced multiple changes of mood while reading, a coctail of emotions ))

The second stanza is filled with almost maternal tenderness, that's amazing! Haha, you know what, I've noticed that you're talking about little girl thanks to the "tiny shoe with a pink bow" detail, although most men are dreaming about having a son, whom they could share their wisdom with, a girl is much more of a hassle, she'll always be your little girl, who needs your protection, therefore a girl is much more of a commitment)

I've noticed also how interestingly you use "my seed" in stanzas that talk about deeper things, than just having a child, - about life overcoming death by continuing in the hearts of children.

This is quite beautiful. I am truly not a father but I have been around children a lot and I tend to be observant, to a fault I think. For I sometimes notice things that not there.

Yeah I would definitely love a girl child. Just want a girl that I can spoil and teach to be self independent and prepared for all the wolves in sheep's clothing. 😂

I hope I make a great father some day. I hope I have the opportunity to be a hero in a little girl's eyes. Even if it is only for a while.

Thank you for your lovely comment once again. I really appreciate it.

Beautiful, heartfelt poetry mate :) Those closing three lines carry so much a weight, conclude the sentiment perfectly - a real treat to read!

Yeah @lazarus-wist. It was an impromptu write. I was listening to a choir rehearsal and watching a mother play with her baby and I just felt that longing to have a child look at me with all that trust, you know? Funny enough, I am very poor with kids but it won't be bad to be better, right?

It like a poetry from a man longing seriously for a child..

Nice lines...
I like the way you use dada rather than daddy. It shows the qualities of a real child (his improper pronunciation)

Yeah that was the idea. Not only women search for children na. 😂 I think men search more than women; leaving a part of themselves behind is their only way to stay alive for ever.

Lol...
Ikr..

Moving stuff, @warpedpoetic You render your longing, powerfully. Based on this piece alone, I suspect you will make an affectionate Dada & hope your child will read this with you, in the not-too-distant future, brother. _/|\_

Amen bro. I pray so too. This piece is quite important to me in ways I am yet to understand.

Yes, Poetry can do that, reveal us to ourselves... Wishing you Good Things.

Thank you bro. Poetry does that. You suddenly find eureka in the midst of a writing a routine piece. Those are the truly beautiful moments.

Your post has been upvoted by the @steemiansarens. Our goal is to support minnows and help them grow.

You can join our discord server here;
https://discord.gg/3dNd49E
You can also support us by donating steem/SBD or delegating SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29