My people speaks: Two poems and other inanities

in #poetry4 years ago
My people speaks

My people speak of gutters
Yawning besides torn asphalt
And the hungry feet of concrete eyed kids.

My people speak of puddles,
Of frogs and mosquitoes holding concertos
And scoffed knock off shoes
Averting eyes from puddled reflections
Bringing curses and death.

My people speak of swallowed sceptic tanks
Breeding cockroaches - invaders
From distant planets, sleeping, eating,
Shitting between stories and education.

My people speak of these things
And more in their sleep
When the power is out
And the generator is croaking fumes
And the night is soft with heat,
And the baby is saying his prayers
And empty stomachs are growling
Gbrr, gbrr, gbrr
My people speak of these things
And more.


This piece was first posted on the mirakee app. I had a creative spurt last night. I have been reading Langston Hughes' poems. I love the simplicity of his images and the dance in his words. It is a beautiful thing when poetry is true to the time and place from which the poet wanders out of. In his poems, you can find that essence of the emancipation era, the civil rights movement, the negritude movement and other influences that made the Harlem Renaissance a cultural signpost in the history of american literature.


images 1.jpeg
source


I have always believed that poetry is as the poet is. It is the sum total of the poet's life and experiences told in the most private of the poet's voices,- the voice with which he or she weeps alone, the voice with which he or she whispers to the walls, the voice that never speaks out or speaks out loud, the voice of conscience, of empirical truths, of love, of dreams and fascinations, of life. To write great poetry is to have lived a rich life.

It is my dream to write poetry that is not beautiful for its alliterative sagacity or its imagistic satiation but rather for its musicality and simplicity. I want to write that poetry that a man on the streets may recite even as he struggles with wheel barrow and prays for a better day. I want to write that poem that a girl on the verge of womanhood would hang on her bedroom wall and recite to herself just before she steps into the sunlight day. I want to write for my people, to give them truth, to give them joy, to show them lies, to carry their pain.

Langston Hughes was able to do that. He was able to be a bard, a voice, for his time, for a people's story, for a culture and that for me, is something worthwhile to leave behind on the sands of time. The piece below was also first posted on the mirakee app. I hope you enjoy reading the two poems as much as I enjoyed writing them. Good morning.


Look at us

Mr policeman
Look at us, -
I'm bloodied, weary
And you are bold
In your thick-lipped arrogance,
Your baton swinging hard and fast.
Your gun has punched my thigh
And your grip is hard,
Taking possession of my education,
My civilization, my American accent,
My ego, my voice, my wig.
I'm on the ground,
The offspring of no one,
The pitying picture of averted eyes.

Shut up,
You bloody civilian!
Roll over,
Roll over on the mud!
Jump!
Do the frog jump on the mud!

Mr policeman,
Why do you stop me?
Why do you abuse me?
Why do you beat me to the ground
Like yams in mother's mortar?
Are we not brothers
On Sunday when the priest,
Vestment scented in incense,
Says yea and amen?
Are we not lovers
On Fridays when the deejay,
Hands spinning canned songs
Draw our hips together
And draw promises from our lips?

Shut up!
Bloody civilian!
Roll over,
Roll over on the dust!
Jump!
Do the frog jump on the dust!


Previously posted both poems on the Mirakee app.
©warpedpoetic, 2019.

Sort:  

You are a brilliant poet.. so evocative. You capture life so well... you really inspire me!

I havent ever read Langston Hughes but I will give him a go now.

Posted using Partiko Android

Awwww this is so sweet @riverflows. I have never inspired anyone before. Thank you for this.

I'm reading his collected works now. I hope you find them enjoyable too

yes using your voice to reach out and touch people, to connect with them, to uplift them and let them know they are not alone. you are such a talented writer @warpedpoetic, this 2 poems speak such important truth and help spread awareness this is how one should be using their gift xxx
curated for creativecoin

Thank you Trucklife. I have to pull myself out of introspection in order to write poems that are socially conscious. Work in progress

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @warpedpoetic! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1750 replies. Your next target is to reach 2000 replies.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hi @warpedpoetic!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.159 which ranks you at #3327 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 98 contributions, your post is ranked at #72.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70601.11
ETH 3576.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.78