SAYING PRAYERS, TELLING SECRETS: A FREEVERESE FREEWRITE

in #poetry5 years ago

I am unhinged today and as always when I am thus, I write my madness into life. Read at your own risk. Good night.


smoke-1031060_1280.jpg
pixabay: Free-photos


I smoked the blunt like a prayer
To the night sky, the heavens dark with sleep.
I watched the smoke flutter to the heavens,
Muttered an amen and bowed my head
To let the high settle like lead
On my skin, like paper machine guns
Poking holes into clean vests
As kiddies, double fingers sounding off,
Poked holes in batman T-shirts
And mothers' well laundered laundry basket.

I told my secrets to six bottles,
Watched them trickle with bubbles
To the top of my glass,
Seeking an escape back between my lips,
On my tongue, between my teeth,
On my throat, between my thoughts
Like empty kisses from painted
Mannequin lips poised with iced up
Glitters and diamond eyes.
Sparkly, bubbly dregs hiccupping
With a staggering dance to the silent stare
Of other dregs swirling with secrets,
Watched me watch them but I cared not,
My watch was broken, so I turned and watched
The night sky flutter with prayers.

I watched the sun fall on my feet,
Drunk with the high of noon
And wasted on the hazy footsteps
Of macadam road spilling heat.
I stepped on a puddle on the floor,
A secret forgotten, spilled like vomit
From my lips to God on a pew
Before the crucifix and the crucible.
Rolled up joints cradling verses
Like little preachers on a mission,
Slept in my pocket as I skipped;
I am going a'fishing, these grasses are sheafs,
Sheafs of scriptures,
Sheep without shepherd,
Chips of the old block,
Sleep without stretchers.
I looked to the noon sky;
The most high smoking off
Like a chimney poking firewood and kindling,
The ash masking the alleluia.

I let my prayers hit my lungs
And I choked and coughed out the lies
And let the truth slide in and permeate
My limbs and I did a cripwalk
To a Snoop Dogg song.
I let my secrets fill my glass
And I drank them empty
And watched the six bottles giggle
With my lips and my eyes twinkle
With the green gaze of the high
From the smoke and the liquid
Choking my throat and making me
Say my prayers in the morning
And do my sinning at noon.

I smoke my prayers like blunts
On bible verses and rosary beads.
I tell my secrets to six bottles
Standing on the wall,
Guzzled empty like milky teats,
Cracked with different faces of me,
Like bullets chinking armour,
Leaking truths to the sun
Heating the wall and making
The zinc sizzle and pop.
I am licking the lips of this prayer
With spittle and liquored breath.
I am smoking this blunt like a prayer
And my secrets are cocked bottles
On a sea, sailing to the sallow skin
Of the fading horizon.
I am telling tales and no one is listening.

Sort:  

Hi @warpedpoetic!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.913 which ranks you at #4149 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 208 contributions, your post is ranked at #178.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Congratulations @warpedpoetic! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 29000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 30000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64647.93
ETH 3160.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.09