WHILE THERE'S LIVING TO BE DONE

in #poetry5 years ago

The end of love can be painful as much as the start can be sweet. This poem shares the end of love after too much pain. Sometimes a clean end is all there is to it.


van-336606_1280.jpg
pixabay:crgutman


I am leaving you
To your thoughts
And that bottle of liquor
That you hold to your bosom
Like the child we never had.
You can get drunk,
Get laid on the table
Like a sacrifice, snort a line,
Scream your head off,
I do not care anymore.

My bags are packed.
I am going away
To a place where there's sun
And waves and the fading
Of all the memories
We used to hang on
The walls of our hearts.
There's too much between us
And there's nothing between us.
I am leaving this note
Because I do not need you
To panic and look for me.
I am going to live
While there's living to be done.
I am tired of the dying and the dead.

I hope you find peace.
I hope you learn to breathe again.
I hope you learn to love the light
And I hope you dream again.
It is always good to dream
Of beautiful possibilities.
Whenever you think of me
Let it be of me soaking the sun,
Watching the sea kiss the shore,
Writing poetry for soda drinking,
Surf boarding, dreamy boys
Wooing pretty girls who think
Paradise is far away from home
But if you don't, I understand.


©warpedpoetic, 2019.

Sort:  

Hi @warpedpoetic!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.963 which ranks you at #3983 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 3986).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 179 contributions, your post is ranked at #152.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66772.03
ETH 3237.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25