The Hunters (original poetry)

in #poetry6 years ago (edited)


The Hunters




We are the hunters
together we speared our hearts
staking them to the limp dermis of our land
exposing our cankered organs to the stalking vultures,
you and I are cannibals
devouring our own palms
from which we had learned
what sort of danger a fist could create
we are not from the time
when man and woman
could read the dimpled moon’s face
like braille
navigating through the shy constellations

We are the hunters
but hunters not from this moon’s light
but of the dimmest lamp
the angriest allies
the constant cracking of elbows
against elbows
is the white noise
that accompanies our
nightly prowl
the screams of the preyed
the grunts of the predator
bury our senses
into a tavern of static,
you and I are dust
the residual of our civilization
that gave a shrug
to the dearth of nature
they settled with

We are the hunters
and though we are the product
of generations of faceless others
we have not forgotten the taste of salty skin
the harvest of our photosynthesis
that grew us into movers and thinkers
so we thank you, Sun
you and I are ravenous
but killing is not a murderous act
if it is a shared sentiment
if not you then me
and it is me now who will turn the knife
not to get ahead
but to begin again
and we begin again
crouched down on the outskirts of our living spaces
waiting
next to you
spear in hand
casting our exoskeletons
into the desert wind
new skin
standing next to
new skin




Health and Love, always
Zameena Zen

Sort:  

Gives me chills to read your poems 😊

That is so kind of you to say, thank you

You’re welcome, It’s the truth ☺️

A very beautiful one you shated. Thanks

Thank you so much for taking the time to read my words <3

This was great as always.

"but killing is not a murderous act / if it is a shared sentiment" This is odd but those lines reminded me of a bit preformed by the comedian Doug Stanhope. In regards to the idea of a volunteer military he said that "as long as we are sending people who want to kill people to kill other people who also want to kill people, then we are killing the right people." I don't do the joke justice but it popped into my head while I was reading lol.

I will have to check that comedian out :-) Yes, I know that line sticks out, it is supposed to. It is not an ethical precept I prescribe to (in reference to the Stanhope quote), rather I am trying to express the interplay between death and birth (of culture/custom) as one generation passes onto the next. And thank you for stopping by to read my words <3

He is rather abrasive and many people find him extremely offensive so be warned lol. He has described his work as fetish comedy. Meaning that he only appeals to a small number of people but they are more dedicated than a normal fan base. I think one of his specials is on netflix if I am not mistaken

I get you I just couldn't help but to think of that bit but I can see that it isn't something that you are advocating for lol. It really was an interesting poem. I took the time to read it aloud and it has a great sound too.

Thank you so much. I am glad you read the piece out loud as that is how I prefer them to be experienced :-) I may try and record myself reading my poetry and put simple violin to it, undecided still. As for the comedy, I am all for non-pc anything haha. I recently saw Bill Burr, who I love. Thank you once again for taking the time to read my stuff, really means so much.

I agree poetry is meant to be a spoken art form. That is when one can really appreciate the things that don't come through in text.

If you like Bill Burr you will like Doug Stanhope. I have actually heard Burr say some very complementary things about him in an interview.

No problem you do good work.

I noticed that you don't use bots on your posts. You may want to consider the using the nobidbot tag. People are doing well there and that community is growing rapidly. You and your work would fit in great there and you could get exposed to some new people who are actually looking for good content and good creators.

Thank you! I am so new to this, the advice is really appreciated. I will definitely follow what you've just said.

No problem. You are doing very well. It took me two months before I could break an SBD on a post. You have a good following starting to form too and that is something some people on this site never get. I was just reading today that if a person has over 12 SP they are in the top 10% of accounts on this site and you pulled that off in the first 28 days. That is something to be proud of for sure.

You are so kind, and thank you for the encouragement. Means a lot coming from someone who makes quality posts and obviously has a fascinating outlook on life. Just made one more post with the nobidbot tag :-)

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85