Poker Challenge: $0 to $1,000,000 | Day 16 (October 5, 2018) | Daily: -$28.00 | Total: -$41.98

in #poker6 years ago



Looking at my stats of -9% ROI after 412 sit and go's, I think I can say with confidence that I am not a winning player in the micro stakes at the moment.

Multiple factors can be the cause of my losses. The fact that I have been playing 24 tables at a time is definitely a reason to lower my ROI as my reaction time is like maximum 1 second per table. So, I really can't play a deep poker game that way.

I think I have been unlucky overall, but my ROI would be at best 0% (break even) I guess, which is not very profitable in the long run.

So, I have took a radical change of plan decision. I bought 8 books today. I will read them twice each before playing another poker game. I plan to buy more books and read them before playing again also.

I based my books choices on the offer of used books online (since they were much cheaper than new books), and took the ones with best reviews online.

These books are not all written for Sit and Go's. The simple reason I bought them anyway is that I plan to win at Cash games, Sit and go's and multi-table tournaments. I just am forced to start with the sit and go's format since they offer the lowest stake games ($0.50).

Moreover, I know most (if not all) of these books are a bit outdated to be a great poker players these days. I think I can get a very good ground of the basics/essentials of the game, and learn for sure. However, I know I won't become a professional yet just by reading these books.

After reading the books, I will try to get as much free content as I can online. I will also practice the mathematics and the theory I learned in the books and online.

Only then, I will start playing again, and will start with 4 - 8 tables, to be sure I have time to apply the concepts and theory learned.

I think I have much better chances to stop losing and turning into a profitable player this way. It might be a long term plan, but I don't care. The goal is to reach success, so I have to put the work into it.

So as of today, I plan to read at least a bit everyday, to make progress in this challenge every single day. I will post my reading progress and my opinion on the things I learn.


Here are the poker books I bought today. I sorted them in order I plan to read them.

1- The Theory of Poker

By David Sklansky - 2005 edition

theory-of-poker

2- Hold'Em Poker for Advanced Players

By David Sklansky & Mason Malmuth - 2005 edition

hold-em-poker-for-advanced-players

3- Phil Gordon's Little Green Book

By Phil Gordon - 2005 edition

little-green-book

4- Phil Gordon's Little Blue Book

By Phil Gordon - 2006 edition

little-blue-book

5- Every Hand Revealed

By Gus Hansen - 2008 edition

every-hand-revealed

6- Harrington on Online Cash Games

By Dan Harrington & Bill Robertie -2010 edition

harrington-on-online-cash-games

7- Secrets of Sit'n'gos

By Phil Shaw -2009 edition

secrets-of-sit-n-gos

8- Sit 'n Go Strategy

By Collin Moshman - 2007 edition

sit-n-go-strategy


I will read the sit and go's books at last. This way, their content will be fresher in my mind for when I start playing the $0.50 turbos again.


Poker Books

The Theory of Poker

By David Sklansky - 2005 edition

theory-of-poker

I will start with this book, but didn't manage to start it yet. The book talks about multiple formats of poker (Five-Card Draw, Seven-Card Stud, Hold'em, Five-Card Stud, Draw Lowball, Razz, High-Low Split), but the essential concepts apparently apply to all of the games. Thus, also for No-Limit Hold'em.


Rewards $0.00

Chests $0.00


No chest today


Games Played $0.00


No game played today.


Stats

stats

As soon as my ROI is over 0%, I will feel confident to say I beat this stake. Until then, I consider I am a losing player.


Summary



I wish a good day to everyone.

Feel free to interact in this post. Ask questions, talk about your poker experiences, success, fails, etc.


Vincent Boutin
CEO of Brainy Network Inc.
profile-picture

You can also follow us on Twitter @brainy_network and Facebook

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64549.55
ETH 3170.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.13