about the responsibility of professional poker players

in #poker5 years ago (edited)

jamila_von_perger_poker.jpg
Hi my name is Jamila and I'm a professional female pokerplayer from Germany for about 6 years now.

I also write a blog about mindful empowerment, modern spirituality combined with self-realization (in german).
I do yoga and meditation. I am vegan - and I'm a professional poker player.

People often ask me how I can play poker and be spiritual person.
And yes - this is a good question. Because when you do poker for living, it is your job to win money from others. To win means that someone else has to lose. Of course it is always the decision of the individual person to play poker for money. And if I stop playing poker, that doesn't mean all other players will stop as well.

The pokerlifestyle is an adventure. You’re travelling around the world. If you’re very good, you might even be famous and winning lots of money. It is exciting and many people would love to turn their hobby, poker, into professional. It is exciting - but is it kind? Is it morally correct?

I would say - no and unfortunetly a lot of jobs aren’t. But I really want to say - it depends. It always depends on the individual person how you handle it.

When I started to play Poker, of course it was not my intention to make money with or even do it for living. I did it because I loved the game. I still do it because I love the game. It is the most complex game in the world - more than chess - with infinite variables.
I love to improve my game on all the different levels.
I love the competition. I love the complexity and I love the never ending different situations in poker.

IMG-20180726-WA0004.jpg
follow me on instagram https://www.instagram.com/seelensellerie/

So I realized I can’t stop my big passion and started to create different other parts of my life to give something back.
I started a blog to inspire others to live their dream. I played my first charity poker event where all the money went to kids with chronical ilness. I also support a local organization in my town, who are clearing up about veganism.

In my opinion it is the responsibility of every poker player (and everyone else) - to do something good with the money he or she can effort.
Go ahead and donate something. Play charity events or do other things in your life where you help and support others.

It’s not only good for the others - it is also good for yourself! Helping others means also to help yourself. Making others happy also means to make yourself happy.

“In a world you can be everything - be kind.” - Jennifer Dukes Lee

Sort:  

Hey
Where you from in germany?
I am too from germany.
What do you play.
Whats your discipline
Plo nlh mtt
Ans are you sponsored from a onlinesite

Hi! I'm from Kiel. I lived the passed years in vienna, so for now I do poker professionally for the first time in germany. I play nlhe cg and mtts. I'm not sponsored as I had a baby break the past 3 years and starting now professionally again. I wasn't able to play live the passed years as i raise my child on my own and even now it is pretty tough to handle.

I love to hate that game. Ive played quite a bit of Poker in Mainz and Wiesbaden and sometimes flew to Vienna to play there.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @jamilavonperger! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Valentine challenge - Love is in the air!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @jamilavonperger! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63464.16
ETH 3111.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98