Sexism: : The Key to Winning At Texas Hold ‘Em

in #poker5 years ago

272428878619341-1.jpg

Sexism has negative connotations for women and generally I don’t approve. I do, however, enjoy sexism when it comes to poker. Most women can easily manipulate a poker game in their favour due to the sexist attitudes of men.

From what I gather, most men feel women no more belong in a poker game than in a coal mine, yet given the day and age don’t voice said concerns, but the way they play voices them loud enough for everyone! They call or raise our every move and when we beat them down, they mark it up to a fluke.

I’ve found that men are very patronizing at the poker table. They often offer unsolicited advice or look at you with a bemused expression on their face - and this is where we can grab them by the balls ladies!

14FDA2B9-B38C-4A16-9D88-A852C87DAFDC.jpg

Men have something on the table that we don’t have to contend with and that is their ego. When a woman is around their ego doubles, triples if she’s attractive. This is also to our advantage.

My strategy is simple. Let them play against their egos. Unless I have high pairs I fold before the flop every time. I will check if no one has raised and I have the big blind, but otherwise I just sit back and watch. I watch them raise and re-raise each other, go all-in on ridiculous hands and one by one knock each other out.

When the table is down to you and just one or two, it’s time to get your game on. At this point I am careful about bluffing. I want them all to think I only play when I have something so I avoid bluffing until it’s down to just two people, unless of course I am sure I won’t be called. Eventually they learn that you’re not as dumb as they think and will begin to respect your game.

This is where you pull out the big guns. Hopefully by this point you will be chip leader, or have a decent share, so you can start bluffing and calling all in after the flop. Try to maintain composure though and don’t do anything too stupid, or you will blow your cover!

This seems to work for me both in real life and online.

Sexism. It has it’s benefits!

Word of Warning: Some men aren’t sexist, so this strategy won’t always work and never trust a fellow female poker player! Whilst men pitch their egos against each other women pitch their inner bitch against each other. Give me an ego any day! :-)

86d44a67b28e3b36e0b94e30045e910e187cf6af.jpg

Sort:  

You got a 23.53% upvote from @mitsuko courtesy of @stratilatkryuko!

I would kick your ass at poker!

I'm afraid of you now

Never give away your secrets when it comes to poker. I've seen some men act as you say here in your post around the poker tables. Some men are smart and they're only acting like that to get inside the woman's head. It's poker. Everyone is bluffing.

I'd eat all your chips and then
send you out for more dip. I
wish Steem had some poker,
I'd like to test your theory ; -)

^ was it shit talk or ego? Or did I
want you to think it was ego to
provide a false sense of security?
You'll never know, I'll never tell.

Or was that statement a tell in and of itself?
^ that were snacksism by the way. Nom nom!

I like your theory. I know exactly what you are talking about. As a woman who loves Texas Hold 'em I rarely sit at a poker table with another woman, or more than 1 other at the table for sure. You can almost see most of the men rubbing their hands together and smirking mentally, thinking some new easy money just sat down to donate. And yes I just LOVE when they try to give you helpful "hints" to improve your game. Of course I don't win all the time, but the majority of the time I'm still there with chips to cash out when the table closes at 4:00am. I don't get to do this very often, but that keeps it fresh and fun when I do get the chance.

Nice to see a woman playing poker. My respect. And you are absolutely right, I also watch it all the time)

You got a 14.02% upvote from @votejar courtesy of @stratilatkryuko!

You just received a 28.25% upvote from @honestbot, courtesy of @stratilatkryuko!
WaveSmall.gif

You got a 39.85% upvote from @whalepromobot courtesy of @stratilatkryuko!

Great post! You've earned a 27.23% upvote from @dolphinbot
Join the DolphinBot Team for Daily Payouts in Steem! Click here: http://bit.ly/dolphinbot

Thank you for using Resteem & Voting Bot @allaz Your post will be min 10+ resteemed with over 13000+ followers & min 25+ Upvote Different account.

You have been defended with a 20.54% upvote!
I was summoned by @stratilatkryuko.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70734.57
ETH 3561.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75