Train To Wieliczka

in #poland6 years ago


Taking The Train To The Salt Mines


It suddenly struck me, as I was writing this post, that what is an interesting and unusual experience for one person is a regular every day one for another.

Taking a local train from Krakow to the Wieliczka Salt Mines was a bit of an adventure for us. Using local public transport in a foreign country usually is, especially when you add a different language to the experience. But for someone living locally it might be something they do every day and not very interesting at all.

Anyway, for us, it was great fun. It took a while to work out which train and which platform we needed to be on but we got there in the end. And this was our train.

krakow train.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

krakow train inside.jpg

On our return, getting out of the station also proved to be a bit of a challenge!
Eventually we discovered we had to walk around the building rather than through it! 😁

If you'd like to see more photos from the Salt Mine you can view them at the links below:

Salt Mine Artifacts
Salt Mine Architecture



Thank you to @juliank and @photocontests for this daily photography contest.

Sort:  

Public transport is a great way to see any country and you get a real taste of the place. Interesting post @gillianpearce

I agree @molometer. Just takes a bit more nerve as I get older. Or maybe I'm just out of practice somewhat. 😁

Had a good experience travelling in another country i guess. And the train is also good compared to the train of our country. Peoples here didn't care and split their saliva after eating nuts. And everything is so dirty here. It smells reaaly bad. But their its good. Thanls for the post.

Hmmm. That doesn't sound very nice at all @punkblogs. Where is it you live?

not every but few local trains are like that. i live near indo -china border a state called Arunachal in India. It is too far from the capital so government are not taking any action on improvising the railway system i guess and hope they will do it soon.

I thought you were probably going to say India @punkblogs! Thanks for stopping by. 😊

No in other states railway services are good and is best in the capital. but here it is a little poor and no steps taken toword it. thanks friend.

Definitely getting out of the tourist routines and in with the locals will let you experience more of what the local culture really is like. And often times will also provide you will some impromptu interactions with locals also. Sometimes it will be good sometimes bad but always authentic. And my experience is it will be good most of the time

I agree @steven-patrick. My experience of locals, most places I've been, has been overwhelmingly positive. 😊

Haven't taken the train for awhile... I love train rides! :)

Me too @ackhoo. Trains are my favourite form of transport! 😊

You are a bit of a gypsy I take it. Seems like you can't stay put for any time at all. I'm jealous.

That's one of the benefits of living in Europe @spozone, though to be honest, some of the photographs I've been posting are from a long time ago. 😊

This one was relatively recent though.

Congratulations @gillianpearce! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published 4 posts in one day

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I used to always when I visited places like to try public transport as the locals do it gives a good feel for the life there, and not just what they want tourists to see, I did it almost everywhere I went in my travels, some was interesting some outright scary and perhaps stupid on my part but I never regretted one time trying it

Yeah. I've had many similar experiences including taking lifts from strangers or letting strangers get into our rental car! The sort of stuff I'd be horrified if my kids told me they did. 😱

But it led to some of the greatest adventures. 😊

Indeed experiences like that make memories that last

And for kids I guess this is a case if so as I say not as I did lol

@gillianpearce Thanks there was to much color and distraction in the city view in color but It came out good in MOno
Thanks for your visit and have a good week

Hmmmm. Did you put this comment on the wrong post @tattoodjay?! 😂 😂 😂

LOL I am not sure how that happened must have bene a glitch on fast reply I guess LOL, but yes this is the wrong spot for this reply lOL

Oh those photos and the station are timeless :) Thanks for sharing!

thank you and you're welcome @adam.tran. 😊

Travel is always interesting and even some small inconveniences can not spoil the impression of such a pleasant trip.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66654.57
ETH 3250.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.33