Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez's moral certainty is what gives her the media appeal.

in #politics5 years ago


In a nutshell, why I can't stand AOC. Her most defining characteristic is this unbearable moral smugness.

What good is your perfect moral rightness if you are factually wrong about how to achieve good ends and avoid bad ones?

She's really no different, to me, than the right wingers like Jeff Sessions who insist we must continue prohibition because drugs are so clearly morally wrong. The gang violence, the destroyed lives of tens of thousands of people who will struggle because of drug convictions, the costs of putting people in prisons, etc, simply don't matter to these people - they'll deny the effects or justify them, because their moral vision trumps their commitment to facts.

Certainty of all kinds is tremendously appealing to people. I've often noticed how people who speak up immediately and confidently are often looked to as the ones with the answers, and are followed as leaders, while the person who pauses, thinks a while, and expresses their uncertainty, gets shunted to the background.

Shrug. I guess it's human nature. I'm the second type, not the first type, but I've learned that sometimes it's useful to be the first type. I don't often do it to get my way, but I find myself doing it to help a group make a decision when the stakes are low and everyone's uncertain.

It all fits in with my distrust for charismatic leadership. AOC is no worse than many others, of course.

Sort:  

me neither... I cannot stand her...

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.37
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70162.45
ETH 3540.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.79