Sex vs Sleep and their importance to society.

in #politics6 years ago



A lot of political theory takes the family as fundamental: people having sex and producing more people is how society re-creates itself, which surely has to be important, right?

Of course the assertion is true, but how important is it? Specifically, how relevant is it to our political institutions, particularly when compared to other aspects of human biology?

Consider sleep. For several hours every day, even the strongest and cleverest people will become unconscious, whether they want to or not. During that time, even many of the weakest and least clever will be able to kill them. Easily. Not only that, but aggressors could perpetrate this act far more often than any biologically reproductive couple might be able to produce babies.

If we're going to try to boil down political institutions to some kind of biological degree zero, why settle on sex? Why isn't sleep the (rhetorical?) reason that we have society?

Sort:  

sorry, I am not following the relationships between sleep, sex, and politics?

LOL, By the time they get past my dogs to kill me, they will be bleeding out, from multiple holes, Problem solved. :)

violence doesn't solve anything.

My wife is in a wheelchair, and needs me to take care of her. Which one should I sacrifice to avoid meeting violence with violence? I have not searched this person out, they have come to do me, and mine, harm! Who should I allow them to kill? Since I keep a number of orphans alive overseas by my support, am I allowed to let them starve by sacrificing myself. I also feed the homeless (about 300) here in town directly, how many of them are to be allowed to die? I plan to follow what GOD allows:

"When a strong man, fully armed, guards his own house, his possessions are safe." Luke 11:21

I will help a burglar, If I can; once he is no longer a threat, as I do NOT want to kill anyone! I keep a good trauma first aid kit for that purpose. BUT, I disagree with you, violence does solve this specific problem! Again, the Bible does not agree with you on this point:

"3A time to kill and a time to heal; A time to tear down and a time to build up. 4A time to weep and a time to laugh; A time to mourn and a time to dance". Ecclesiastes 3:3,4

So, I recommend that you don't kick down my door.... :)

I agree that using violence to defend yourself or those who need defending is justified, I don't need the bible to tell me that. I feel that's just common sense.

I have a very good trauma first aid kit, which I practice with, in the event of a shooting. I also practice with the firearms, to be as effective as possible. The third layer of preparation is special insurance for legal fees if I am forced to defend myself. In decades, I have been close to using my defensive firearm only once, but I managed to contain the situation without using it.

@dprn @smithlabs
Violence does solve things. But it is only required when someone, somewhere, used their power in selfish ways, directly or indirectly.

From politicians and big companies waging war for oil, to the lack of government investment in education and security. Not to mention the "all brawl no brain" assholes.

A thief breaking and entering is usually a long term consequence of all three reasons combined.

ok, what if you suspect someone means you harm? then what do you do?

That's so vague. I would do something. What would I do? Depends on who I'm suspecting, why and of what.

Please give me something more specific I can work with, I'd gladly answer more throughly.

well like if you get a vibe from someone, that they have hidden and festering envy towards you and just express anger and hatred towards you.

That's not necessarily meaning harm, though. They could fester envy without meaning harm. So nothing.

If I pick up they're really going to do something, though, evasive maneuvers like avoiding them altogether or informing the authorities are the most obvious option. If they just come for me violently, I will use whatever means necessary.

ok thanks, I did inform the police and now doing my best to avoid them all together.

It is an interesting though, but without both humans would cease to exist.

sex is very important to husband and wife, its physical connection between couples and it will produce good hormones and it will make couple relationship go strong.

there is time to have sex and there always time to have rest and have a nice sleep.

sex is a blessing to husband and wife.
it is also biblical.

and politically sex has a big contribution to the society.

you know why?

without it, there will no reproductions of babies, and no voters will vote for them in the future elections. Lol ^_&

nice post @honeybee

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

The post is very good. Hahaha

For most of our species both are important, but for political purposes sex grabs more of everyone’s attention.

Totally agree. Sleep is the thing in life everyone does the most - it's about one third. I guess the reason why this is ignored so much is that we are unconscious while doing so. That's why waiting in traffic or a waiting line is much more debated - it's an annoying and conscious activity.

I honestly believe, the world would be a much better place if we collectively put an emphasis on sleeping, its quality and the fact that we can't change what chronotype we are (early VS late morning).

I will follow you now.

Sleeping is more related to mantain good, fisical and mental conditions (as of eating food), while sex is more related to experience pleasure and emotional connections, wich affects our psychological conditions. So it is logical to give more importance to the sleeping matter, because If you don't feel fisically good, you may not want to have sex either.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70310.43
ETH 3568.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73