AOC is self destructing

in #politics5 years ago

I know she has a legion of fans, and there are sometimes that she does shine, but honestly, she's been messing up big time lately and it's best not to sugar coat it.

I say this as someone who understands the ideas she's pushing for, and I don't play that "she's stupid" game that her critics love to partake of. She's not stupid, I think we have to accept that, but she's also not walking the talk, and it's starting to be too obvious to ignore.

The photo of her crying at the border was absurd, and it's public information now the fact that it was 100% staged. She used the crisis to up her name recognition and it truly bothers me deeply.

Sometimes I feel heartbroken about this country. So much potential, and yet everyone is just trying to win the popularity contest.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

shocking to see you join the conspiracy on this one, pretending like concentration camps and brutal torture is okay because you don't like a politician is just so sickening.

My favorite "100% staged" conspiracy theories are the ones that are proven false over and over and over by everyone everywhere.
https://www.snopes.com/fact-check/aoc-empty-parking-lot/

Listen dont misunderstand me... i hate whats happening at the border... im not saying that is not true, we need to fix it... we have kids dying... I hate how shes bringing attention to the problem, Im not denying the exisence of it.

You literally said in your post that her crying was "100% staged", made a meme about it, and promoted it to people that believed you.

I posted a link proving you false, and then you deflect to the tragedy in lieu of real points or arguments.

Try again, please.

when I say staged it means that she had two professional photographers there to capture the moment. It was not spontaneous, it was planned.

photographers.jpeg

there's video of this too... it pans and you can see the detention center is way waaaaaaaay in the back... she can't see any kids whatsoever.

The point is that she used this as political football and now it backfired, because those on the right now say tha its all bs. That the detention centers are fine, that they don't have horrible conditions, etc.

Regarding the meme, not mine, maybe not appropriate since the problem is serious, but the point I'm making is this. AOC should do better, she must... her latest comments on how Pelosi is racist against her was cringe too...

I think being effective is more important than earning votes.

weird how when there's a video of a popular politician that you can almost pick out any frame from the video to fit a narrative

"she had" why would press not be there to take photos of the most popular human being in congress?

She has empathy and can understand what's happening in there. She has an imagination that works and can understand concepts that even dogs can, and that's a problem somehow?

How does it backfire because conspiracy losers (who already hate her and will push propaganda against her) don't like it? Her moment was extremely powerful and I know people in person who have opened up their eyes because of it. The internet, especially whatever far-right bubble you live in, isn't indicative of the entire population. It's a logical leap that doesn't add up under scrutiny.

She didn't say she was racist, she said she was acting racist. Those are two things that White People (tm) seem to have a hard time grasping. No one is smearing Pelosi as a life-long racist. What they are doing is pointing out how her actions are hypocritical, targeted, and brutal to the actual constituency.

Maybe if you bothered reading articles all the way through, or looked at actual real social media and not rightwinginternet.dumb you'd be more in the loop.

Literally everything you said was false. She did extremely well and her supporters only support her more, and her traction is only upward. And the same can be said for Pressley, Tlaib, and Omar, that you seem to be ignoring because you probably don't know anything about them because you don't read articles all the way through, but that's just my assumption ;)

You know we might disagree on one core aspect.

I believe that they only way to govern is to find compromise, because we are a nation of differently minded people. There's even studies that suggest that genetically we have either liberal tendencies or conservative tendencies.

I'm very much a liberal, but I don't believe that shutting down conversations with the conservative is a good way to govern. It's almost as if I'm saying, lets ignore half the population, that seems anti-democratic.

I should preemptively say, I'm not talking about the fringe right, they are psychotic (the ethno state idiots, the immigrants are dirty assholes). I'm talking about who I consider right, which is believe it or not Pelosi(she's right wing to me), Schummer, and the handful of good republicans that exist too.

Compromise? Really? Have you paid ANY attention to politics over the last 10 years? Mitch McConnell is a rabid psychopath and refuses to do anything even remotely good for anyone. Why the FUCK would you compromise with him? Are you a psychopath?

Wisconsin got more votes for democrats, but more republicans took office. Why? Because they FUCKING CHEAT.
https://www.gq.com/story/republican-gerrymandering-wisconsin

Why the FUCK would you even consider """compromise""" with people WHO CHEAT? Because you don't read the news and don't pay attention.

"Half the population"
Again, you know nothing. only 20-25% of the population voted for Trump. If that. And less will be the next time. You realize that democratic voters are disenfranchised, right? Re-read the wisconsin story (all the way this time). It's not alienating people to live in reality. They want to murder immigrants and are actively doing so and yet you want to compromise? What's the half way point? Kill only the brown eyed ones but leave the rest? Jesus christ. Some liberal, lmfao.

Pelosi and Schummer are definitely right wing, so you win one point. But who cares? Pelosi has a primary challenger. FIGHT her. WIN her seat. GET RID OF HER. She represents 1% of the population (wall street billionaires), why """""""compromise""""" with that idiot? What kind of strategy is that?

It's called not thinking.

It's all smoke and mirrors, mang.
But you already know that.
We all love preaching to the choir :D

You're falling for propaganda and misinformation, be skeptical.

I'm not sure what you mean.
I'm totally divorced from this festering neon distraction.
I have literally never voted, ever.

And that makes you a pawn and just what they all designed is coming into fruition. Good job!

Seriously, ever wonder why gerrymandering exists? To keep minorities down and impoverished. You not voting is a privilege that means you're wealthy and lucky enough not to have to care about your life being destroyed. Open your eyes and look at all the people that you can help by literally just circling a bubble on a paper for 20 minutes.

Your attitude is aggressive and offensive.

Gerrymandering is a tool of the right-wing so I know you're a registered democrat now. The system is rigged, and those who choose to be a part of it and think they can make a difference within the rigged game are fooling themselves and drowning with false hope.

Abstention is not a privilege, it is a political statement. It means the system is so rigged that I refuse to participate in it. Stop giving the system validation by participating in the rigged events and demanding others do the same.

Open your eyes and look at all the people that you can help by literally just circling a bubble on a paper for 20 minutes.

Why are you assuming that I wouldn't vote against you? Are you trolling me or for real? I can't tell.

You are literally replying in a thread about AOC, the youngest woman ever elected to congress who unseated a party leader.

Reality is not congruent with what you're saying. We are winning all around the country, you are literally reading it, and yet you cling to these fantasy land beliefs of selfishness and apathy.

BTW, don't care about the feelings, facts > feelings ;)

Money controls the world and politicians aren't rich. The government was designed to be bought and sold by the elite. Do the math.

You are a debt slave, and everyone you know is a debt slave, and it doesn't matter who the president is.

You're attitude meshes with that of a self-righteous zealot, and no amount of discussion or facts could ever pop the bubble you are living in. The same is true with all those right-wingers you argue with.

But we all like to just keep on listening to ourselves talk and do mental gymnastics to convince ourselves we're on the side of truth. Isn't that nice?

The next time you're fretting over the woman's right to choose or gun control or whatever other tired political argument, remember that the people who actually control this world don't actually give a shit about those issues. They just pretend that those meager scraps from the big boy table are significant so you can go on believing you're making a difference.

And just for the record
Just so you know
I did not believe
That you could sink so low
You think that you can beat them
I know that you won't
You think you have everything
But no, you don't
No, you don't
No, you don't
No, you don't
No, you don't

So wait, you're saying women losing abortion rights in half the country is just fine because you aren't a woman so you don't care?

PIECE OF GARBAGE

offended? Should be. Go fuck yourself. Blocked.

"AOC is self destructing"

"... the fact that it was 100% staged."

Is this a surprise @meno? The surprise to me is the election of a twenty something to a position with that much power. As a rep for 100s of 1,000s of Americans ...

"... yet everyone is just trying to win the popularity contest."

Years ago, as a political activist, I resigned my position over my perception of what was coming. With far too few people willing to accept the stewardship responsibility for the work needed to maintain the freedoms of our Republic ...

"We the people" are reduced to this. Both on the "left" and the "right" ...

Posted using Partiko Android

You're falling for propaganda and misinformation, be skeptical.

I have only downvoted your post, not out of malice, but because I want the fact check to be at the top for anyone else who might be duped by the lies @meno is promoting and refusing to own up to. I will upvote your other post to compensate because I appreciate the conversation.

“In here” briefly this morning @cyberdemon531 and I find this …

”I have only downvoted your post, not out of malice, but because I want the fact check to be at the top for anyone else who might be duped by the lies @meno is promoting and refusing to own up to.”

… so, I will let you know the only reason for my reply now is you have chosen to both explain yourself ... and … offset the “damage” by upvoting my comment below. You apparently believe enough in the moral superiority of your position to justify your manipulation of Steem votes to meet your objective …

”… because I appreciate the conversation.”

Hmmm. Surprising to me! What are you anticipating our “conversation” will be from this point forward?

Prior to electing to become active on the Steem blockchain, I had intentionally never previously established any sort of online “presence.” “In here” for over a year now, I still at times question the value of it. As I have written elsewhere, “face time” is much more than an app to me. That said, it is unmistakably clear that this new technology provides a means of communication with people I am unlikely to ever meet in person. From all over the world

So … I will respectfully “listen” to your answer to my question. If there is some value in continuing, know in advance I will be insisting on some “rules of engagement.” Otherwise, I will not invest any more of my time into it …

We can start with your response to my other post.

The internet is made of up real people who believe real things. The majority of the younger generations are extremely left and are winning and winning and winning, and ignoring that is bad for your world view. It keeps you in your bubble. That's my thing, I want to pop that bubble so you can see all the truly great things that are happening politically right now.

There's a successful anti-israel movement pushing them further and further from being able to murder Palestinians.

There's a great movement for medicare for all, so that people like my mother don't have to die from lack of healthcare treating preventable illnesses.

There's a movement to stop the prison industrial complex from incarcerating our entire black population and more.

There's a movement to legalize marijuana which helps the previous point, and promotes liberty.

I can go on. Focus on helping others with your message, it's the least you can do.

Okay @cyberdemon531, you appear interested in having our “conversation” continue. While I will make no pretense to having the enthusiasm for it you appear to have, I am willing to go forward. For now …

Rules of Engagement:

  1. Civil and respectful at all times. You’ve already “danced on the line” in what you’ve written to me prior to this. Anything remotely close to how you’ve chosen to express yourself elsewhere on this post and this “conversation” will be over.
  2. Setting expectations on time commitment, I am very unlikely to match the time you appear to have to “engage.” Meaning there will likely be delays at times, in hearing back from me. I will always follow through, however, and my commitment is you will always know what to expect. Specifically, I will let you know, if I decide I am no longer willing to “engage” … And the reasons for my decision … Otherwise, I will be getting back to you …

Simple. Straightforward. At least to me. I will assume so for you as well, unless I hear otherwise.

While I may in the future chose to come back and comment more specifically on any of these many topics you’ve raised, that is not where I want to begin myself. You elected to let pass my reference to your presumed “moral superiority” in expressing yourself the way that you have thus far. You’ve not challenged this, so either you missed it or you accept it as true. Until you indicate otherwise, I will assume the latter to be true, since it is unmistakably clear (to me) from your manner of communicating.

Questions:

  1. My position is what we think is based upon the foundation of what we believe, i.e. our system of belief. Do you agree? If so, how would you describe your system of belief?
  2. What is the experience base from which you have learned / derived all that you have chosen to say thus far?
  3. Your Steem profile references being an “anarchist communist” … In your view, how accurately does this associated Wikipedia article describe your political philosophy?

That’s it for now. Some of our extended family is getting together this afternoon, so it is unlikely I will have time to write more today. If I do, it will be later tonight ...

In response to your rules:
  1. I am civil until the person I talk to proves themselves to be irrational. I was civil with @meno until he started defending concentration camps and even going as far as promoting and upvoting nazi eugenics posts. If you dont do that (which it seems like you arent) then we are good to go. Same with the other guy whose name I can't remember because he's irrelevant.
  2. Time is not a concern for me, take as long as you like.

I 100% believe I am morally superior to people who advocate for concentration camps, eugenics, and libel. If you want to see human suffering and you strategically position yourself to enable it, you are garbage. I don't believe that applies to you, just the others.

Answers to your Questions:
  1. Actions speak louder than words, I don't much care about what people claim to belive, I care about how their actions compare to those beliefs. Like, for example, @meno claimed to be a peace-loving liberal. However, he published lies about someone who is promoting what he claims to want. He then upvoted someone who posted nazi-style eugenics. I consider beliefs without congruent actions to be "virtue signalling" and useless.
    My foundation of belief is that all human life is precious and that human suffering shouldn't exist. It doesn't need to from a scarcity standpoint, and thus my actions fight for redistribution of stolen wealth by the elite class. Furthermore, I am a staunch anti-racist and believe all people regardless of who or what they are should be treated based on their actions, as stated prior.
  2. My experience base is community organizing, local political meetings, national discourse, research, historical studies, and running a livestream where I discuss it for several hours a day. I am very involved on all scenes, or at least as many as I can.
  3. I am not going to read the entire article, but rather outline what I belief more directly. We need an egalitarian society as soon as possible, we need to usurp the levers of power in the united states and across the world to use those levers for justice and for good, and slowly dissolve the need for federal government over the course of a 100 Year Plan by encouraging direct democracy in our economy via worker-collectives and others. The rise of automation and the drastic reduction in required labor is a core requirement.
Loading...

You certainly appear to keep up a remarkably consistent and quick response rate. And ... You have responded well ...

"Credit where credit is due" @cyberdemon531. This is just a quick note to let you know that means something to me.

I will be back ...

Posted using Partiko Android

Perhaps you have mistakenly taken my comment to be narrowly focused on the specifics of this post @cyberdemon531. It isn't ...

I could elaborate, but I'm sure you and I view this very differently. Which is just fine. At least with me ...

If you are responding positively with a post that is proven false, it makes you look silly.

You also said nothing of substance in your post, just conspiratorial vague nothings about feelings and emotions.

I'd love to debate on why you think dismantling concentration camps is a bad thing, or why healthcare for all people is a bad thing, or why saving the planet via green energy is a bad thing.

Feel free to tell me, it's not about convincing me, it's about expressing yourself coherently enough to have a chance.

Okay @cyberdemon531 ...

"If you are responding positively with a post that is proven false, it makes you look silly."

... I'll take another minute or two to make my point more clearly for you. I could hardly care any less about whether or not what is stated here in this post about AOC was staged or authentic.

In browsing through my feed this afternoon, I saw this post, read through it and deemed it worth a minute or two to make a much broader point about what I perceive to be the decline of our representative Republic.

"You also said nothing of substance in your post, just conspiratorial vague nothings about feelings and emotions."

Statements like this lack the civility and respect I would insist upon if we were to truly engage in any sort of "debate."

That said, I think your comment is well worded enough to provide you an upvote. The same as I do day in and day out for all those with whom I "engage" here on our Steem blockchain.

Have a good evening!

But you made no broader points? I'm not trying to be disrespectful, but when you lie or defend lies, it makes it hard to take you seriously.

You made literal substanceless statements.

I resigned my position over my perception of what was coming.

huh? What was coming? What came?

people willing to accept the stewardship responsibility for the work needed to maintain the freedoms of our Republic ...

huh? what does this mean? What work is needed and how aren't people doing it?

"We the people" are reduced to this. Both on the "left" and the "right" ...

"This", this what?

This is what I'm referring to.

Okay @cyberdemon531, before calling it a day, back to responding to your last message.

Historical Context:

  • Precincts represent the most basic component of the political “map” in our country.
  • I was a District Leader for 6 years in the late 1980s, early 1990s. Responsible for 45 precincts in Washington state.
  • I resigned my position upon the election of Bill Clinton in 1992. Far more than just his election, it was the election results that year all the way down to our local state representative, which led to my decision. Too many details of the corruption, etc. experienced during that year to go into now …
  • While I and a fellow District Leader, with whom I worked very closely, won a number of accolades for our efforts over those 6 years, there was endless frustration with the unwillingness of far too many people to do much of anything, except vote. If that …
  • Overall, my perception was the American people were “progressively” voting into power a ruling class; elitists who think they are superior to the people they were elected to represent. And once in power, there is a great deal of corruption and propaganda which goes into keeping them in power. Both on the “left,” as well as the “right.” The result? Our legacy of liberty was / is “progressively” being lost …

Meno’s Post Context:

  • AOC’s election to me represents an acceleration in the decline of the American electorate. His post provided me an opportunity to make that point.
  • Beyond the narrower point of what happened during her border visit was his reference to “trying to win the popularity contest,” which I cited in my response.

My Response:

  • Civic responsibility and even what it means (with all due respect, your response supports this …) has largely been lost. Think of precincts as neighborhoods and / or communities. There are critical roles and responsibilities associated with the “healthy” functioning of our political system at this level.
    The last time I was actively involved, the vacancy rate was +50%. Note I did not say the incompetence / “slackadaisical” rate was +50%. Far too often, there is no one volunteering to fill these roles any more …
  • Our representative republic is being lost with this failure to accept our civic responsibilities.
  • We are left with what is referenced in Meno’s post. An endless parade of sound bites / photo ops, etc. where little of any real substance is actually transferred to “we the people” to make well informed decisions, when we turn out to vote. If we turn out at all …

That’s enough out of me. Hopefully this provides you with what you perceived to be the “missing pieces” in my original response to this post.

I 100% agree with you about local level politics, I am an activist and working on expanding my reaches in my own areas.

The thing about where you're wrong is that you seem to not be familiar with AOC, or any of her freshmen colleagues. They talk policy SUBSTANCE all day long on twitter, facebook, the hill, instagram, and elsewhere, bringing those great and progressive ideas to an entire new generation of new voters. The phasing out of The Third Way politics of wall street and big business is over.

Look at Bernie Sanders' "Anti-Endorsement" list, as an example
https://berniesanders.com/anti-endorsements/

Going AFTER big business, going AFTER wall street, going AFTER the people that you hint at to be the culprits in a crumbling democracy.

Things are changing, stop being so cynical. Headlines aren't everything. Go deeper.

Providing you the courtesy of a quick response @cyberdemon531, my wife has just arrived home unexpectedly with our grandchildren.

I am not sure when I will have a follow-up reply, as "real life" always takes priority for me. Hopefully, you'll understand ...

Fair enough. Take your time.

The democratic sociopolitical matrix, in which the governing officials are chosen via a crude popularity contest, ensures the ascendance of populist whores to positions of power. The political rulers of the West have no other skill than election prostitution, allowing for low-born mercantile scum to carve-out semi-independent fiefdoms, in the absence of proper and competent governance. Only in such degenerate society will those who can not even organise their own lives ascend to positions of power with the purpose of organising others' lives. Western politicians belong in a zoo, not within the corridors of power. Democracy is the worst form of government.

LMFAO @meno is literally upvoting an actual national socialist instead of admitting he lied.

It's 100% confirmed that @meno is either a national socialist himself. All facts point to it. It's 100%.

Excellent review @meno and it seems people are increasingly at a dead end!

You're falling for propaganda and misinformation, be skeptical.

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! You have received a 8.59% upvote from us for your 1050 Partiko Points! Together, let's change the world!

Thank you so much for being an awesome Partiko user! We have just given you a free upvote!

The more Partiko Points you have, the more likely you will get a free upvote from us! You can earn 30 Partiko Points for each post made using Partiko, and you can make 10 Points per comment.

One easy way to earn Partiko Point fast is to look at posts under the #introduceyourself tag and welcome new Steem users by commenting under their posts using Partiko!

If you have questions, don't feel hesitant to reach out to us by sending us a Partiko Message, or leaving a comment under our post!

Hi @meno!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 6.016 which ranks you at #327 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 58 places in the last three days (old rank 385).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 171 contributions, your post is ranked at #5.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Upvoted, for posts like this you can also include the #informationwar tag. We go through and upvote #informationwar posts and 70+ other accounts follow what we upvote :)

Curated for #informationwar (by @truthforce)

  • Our purpose is to encourage posts discussing Information War, Propaganda, Disinformation, and Liberty. We are a peaceful and non-violent movement that sees information as being held back by corrupt forces in the private sector and government. Our Mission.
  • Discord, website, youtube channel links here.

Ways you can help the @informationwar!

Cheap publicity that's what it is.

I would do the same if i were AOC

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64507.66
ETH 3080.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85