Will Gina Haspel make a good CIA director? Is there such a thing as a good CIA director?

in #politics6 years ago (edited)
Question originally asked on Musing.io - Click here to see answers

> She values the rule of law and Congressional oversight of the CIA, which aligns fittingly with President Trump’s accountability agenda for Washington.

Is she white hat or black hat?
Will she rein in the out of control CIA ("deep state")?
Will she finally release all documents re: JFK Assassination?
Since when did the CIA start following the rule of law?
Should the CIA be shut down?

Source: https://www.whitehouse.gov/articles/cia-director-one-accomplished-officers-generation

Testing musing.io for a post I want to do about it...
Sorry in advance if this just show up as code...
I had to EDIT on Steemit.com to correct the following code...
I also had to remove some div tags...
Well, sorry about that. I broke the formatting so now this part of the post doesn't show up on musing.io???

look.gif
Dustsweeper Footer 2 use this one.png
Meaning you can't
waste your vote
![look.gif]()
|
![wizsmall.png]()
Who I am

@WizarDave<d/iv> |
![veteran-60.jpg]()
| | | - | - | - |

Sort:  

Sorry, I tried to correct some formatting and now none of the post body shows up on musing.io

  • This app definitely needs a bit more work to make it really usable.
  • None of these comments made on Steemit.com are showing up on the musing.io page.
  • I tried to answer on musing.io page and now I have another post showing up on my blog. Hmm

It appears I would not support this woman, if what is written here is true...

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

It is certain

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

You are a hoot @magic8ball! haha

I have been summoned to answer your question! My Magic 8-Ball says:

Yes definitely

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

My answers to your title questions:

How can anyone know before she is one, and I'd like to think there is, but mileage may vary.

I think if we're looking for a CIA director who's going to be 100% truthful and transparent, then we might have an issue with our criteria. If we're looking for someone who will protect the Constitution and by extension the U.S. and her citizens to all enemies foreign and domestic, well, I would hope we could still find one of those. And one who could do so as ethically and as morally as possible.

We lost the moral high ground a long time ago. Maybe we can't get it back, but perpetuating the problem won't ever resolve it.

I think it's a good thing I don't know anything about her. (Of course, I don't watch MSM news...) That may mean she's at least not done something to make herself newsworthy and that probably is a good thing.

I personally would like to see the CIA shut down.

  • Those things that are necessary for our protection could be done by the military, as it used to be...
  • As apparently newsworthy as Russia meddling in our election process, you would think it waould be newsworthy to know where all our CIA has meddled in other country's elections. I do not agree with our meddling of Iran politics a few decades ago...
  • Movie type spies are no longer effective. I read awhile back a quick Google search is much more effective than all the spies we have around the world. ::shrug::

I figured that "there is no such thing as a good CIA director" was where you were going with this. And I agree, there's all kinds of agencies we really need to get rid of, and the CIA is on that list.

The Russia meddling is a cover up for what the Obama Administration, the DNC and Hilary Clinton were all doing during the election or prior to it, so instead of sending all those folks to jail, we have a witch hunt instead.

We shouldn't be meddling in any one's affairs. We should let the people of those countries decide what they're going to do. If help is requested, then there may be some circumstances that would justify it, but it would be the exception rather than the rule.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64615.49
ETH 3112.63
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84