WHIRLEY-POP HAND CRANK POPCORN POPPER......RE-PURPOSED TO COFFEE ROASTER

in #popcornpopper5 years ago

IMG_0948.jpg

So this has not been used since 2008, but this is a part of my coffee history. Although a little rough and dirty, there is a story here......
About 2008 when me and the better half were drinking a lot........ coffee that is, I started to read about other people that roasted there own coffee. This sounded interesting and I thought I would find a way to roast some coffee beans. What I found out is that a lot of people use this, the Whirley-Pop hand crank popcorn popper

IMG_0949.jpg

Although it only roasts a small amount at a time, and you need to CRANK IT without stopping for about 20 minutes. This little roaster will produce a roast as good or better that the commercial roasters!

IMG_0947.jpg

As you can see roasting really produces an oil, and I caution anyone that wants to try this to roast outside with plenty of ventilation, you will have lots of smoke.

I have progressed to computer controlled, gas fired fluid bed roasters but this was my humble beginning.
The good thing about this Whirley-pop popper ( coffee roaster ) is that it is guaranteed for 25 years, yes 25 years!
I actually wore out the nylon gears that turn the auger inside and I called Whirley -pop and they sent me a complete popper free!

Thats customer service!!!

So..... give it a try, they are not very expensive and it's a lot of fun!!! @silvertop

Sort:  

I can just smell that coffee in my room @silvertop but I successfully quit drinking it.
I should have done it many years before because of its effects on bones but I was addicted to here I am.

It is so addictive! It is lunch time here and I just made my second latte , im drinking it as I type......... There's no hope for me @cryptopie LOL :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.75
ETH 3065.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82