portrait photography - entry 1 for #portraitcontest theme "Low Key Portraits"

This portrait of a fire dancer at night at the Palace of Fine Arts in San Francisco, is an entry for theme Low Key Portraits in the Portrait Photography Contest, #portraitcontest, by @portraitcontest with guest judge @samsiedenstrang.

121213_1EM8570l.jpg

I've posted fire dancer portraits before but I don't think I have posted images of the surroundings yet. The Palace of Fine Arts is beautiful any time, but especially at night when all buildings are illumined. Here are two building impressions from the evening the portrait photo was taken:

121213_1EM8563l.jpg



and

121213_1EM8554l.jpg

So there is some ambient light but that light is diminutive compared to the light from the torches that the fire dancers are carrying.

Still, with a steady hand and longer exposure time it's possible to take a photo under that ambient light:

121212_1EM8196l.jpg


Overview of current photography contests


« Referral links »
Buy my art on Etsy.
View my steemit posts on busy.org.


divider-web-sites.png

spacerbanner kagalakan.comspacerbanner insharedoneness.comspacer

quote-formulate-desire.png

spacerbuy prints on etsyspacer


#epvm #epvm-blog #epvm-photography
Photography, art work and text by @edward.maesen
Requests to print any of my photographs are welcome.

Sort:  

I think these low light shots are beautiful, low light but they glow from the dark... I haven't seen any of your fire dancer shots, but this is good!
Good luck for the contest!!

Thanks @ackhoo!
You can view a selection of my fire dancer photos on my website :)

I like the light painting at the end, there. Those are always fun! I've been meaning to get out and do a little more of that lately, but I haven't found the time. Plus, the mosquitos are insane lately.

Thanks! These events are indeed great fun. I went to several over the years :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-06T23:16:06
Account Level: 4
Total XP: 1422.21/1600.00
Total Photos: 108
Total comments: 22
Total contest wins: 18
And have also received a 1.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Hi @photocontests / @juliank. Thanks for organizing these photo contests.
I think there's a problem with your "contest wins" algorithm: I noticed that mine seems to have been stuck for quite some while at "18" even though I have been included in your winning posts since I first started to suspect that that number was no longer changing...

Get your post resteemed to 72,000 followers. Go here https://steemit.com/@a-a-a

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87