2 New Photos - I Tried To Get An Anne Brigman Look...

Yesterday, I shot photos for an interesting event. The Trails and Vistas crew that I shoot for annually was asked by the Nevada Museum of Art to collaborate on an Anne Brigman art hike. The performers will be putting on a show tomorrow for crowds of hikers and I will be shooting that too, but these photos are from the dress rehearsal last night where I was able to work with some of the performers to get some really cool shots.

"Anne Brigman was an American photographer and one of the original members of the Photo-Secession movement in America. Her most famous images were taken between 1900 and 1920, and depict nude women in primordial, naturalistic contexts." (Wikipedia) Here are some of Anne's photos on Google Images that I tried to copy the style of: Google Images

I shot other images that have more of an Anne Brigman look and I'll share some of those soon, but these two were probably my favorite of the shoot. The model is Leigh Collins a local professional dancer. She surprised me by getting in the water without being asked to. Not a big deal except that is was windy and incredibly cold out. I was wearing snow boots, a ski jacket, a beanie, and I was still a bit chilly. Nice job on suffering for your art Leigh!

_N2J9616.jpg #1

_Q1A1032.jpg #2

These images were shot with Canon digital cameras and converted to black and white in Photoshop's Camera RAW feature. They were softened up with Photoshop's "Field Blur" tool. I then brought them into ON1's Effects 10 program where I added a heavy amount of film grain, a bit of vignetting, and a touch of "tattered paper" texture. I then brought them back into Photoshop where I added the sepia tone.

I like both of these photos a lot even though this is not my normal style, but I have the same old problem... I can't decide which one I like best, haha! Please help me out:

Which of the two photos above do you like best?


Thank you for looking and reading!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

left.gifscottshots.gif



Sort:  

I like the second one more, it shows the lady real nicely
with the ball reflection, ripples and you can still see the rocks! :-)
Beautiful work @scottshots!

Thank you @shasta! Yeah, I like that reflection a lot too.

What a cool, artistic shoot!!

Thank you @coruscate!!! It was a fun and different kind of shoot. I have many more to share soon... Cheers!

@scottshots, both pics are very nice, at least in my view. But, somehow the 1st one is more appealing to me.
Btw, it was really very interesting to read the story about Anne Brigman. And, of course, Leigh Collins seems to be a very brave woman (going into the cold water).

Thank you @cryptospa! Yeah, Anne Brigman was a pretty interesting photographer indeed. And yup! Leigh is both an amazing dancer and one tough lady going into that pond when it was so cold out.

Compositionally the first one is more pleasing to me. In the second one, that rock in the bottom right holds my eye too much. I reckon a 4x5 crop and get rid of that rock, retaining the reflection would be something to try.

Thanks for the feedback @markangeltrueman! And for the photomag curation vote! Glad you like that first one.

logoAsset 5@2x copy.png

This post has been upvoted by @photomag and it's manual curation trail with a curie direct follow vote.

Vote for @markangeltrueman, the creator of @photomag as a witness here

Wow! I didn't knew about Anne Brigman, I just checked her work and I have to say that she was way ahead of her time!
Your shots are both great, hard to choose one!
My first thought was for the second one but I think it was because of the lovely model that takes the main attention in the picture. Overall as a composition I'll say the first one is more complete, more story-telling, if you know what I mean!
Looking forward for more shots from this really interesting event!

And thanks for sharing the technical details, always appreciated :)

Thank you @photostef! Always happy to share photo info. I didn't know about Anne Brigman either until I was hired for the shoot. Been studying her work, it's super cool indeed. Glad you like the composition of the second one, yup, I know what you mean. Cheers!

So cool to learn about Anne. I like the first one the best!

Thank you @sjarvie5! Yeah, it's been fun learning about her for this shoot. About to head out for more photos of the event soon... Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63966.64
ETH 3055.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87