Captain Marvel (NO SPOILERS!): My thoughts/review

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

Unsplash

As I mentioned in a bit of a nerdy excitement post yesterdady... I went to see Captain Marvel today! It was a pretty hectic day beforehand... my wife was sick with the flu and so I was tending to her and also getting the kids to school and daycare and all of that sort of routine stuff. There was a chance that I wasn't able to see the movie as the timing of the film required two adults on board to do the taxi running! However, in the end it worked out with just one... I was a touch late getting to school to pick up my oldest daughter, but I had let her know in the morning that there was a chance that that might happen if her mother wasn't able to pick her up.

Given that I had accidentally tried to see the movie a month before launch..... I was going to go out of my way to make sure that I could see it this time!

So, the movie.. no spoilers! So, I'm a huge fan of the Marvel Cinematic Universe. I like most of the movies, I LOOOOVVVVVEEEEE Agents of Shield (and Peggy Carter) and I'm pretty fond of the Netflix series as well. I have to say, I much more fond of this Universe than what has happened with the Star Wars Universe. However, let me get this out of the way, I'm NOT a MARVEL comic die hard fan. I like the comics and the Marvel Universe, but I'm not someone who is immersed in it. So, I love discovering all the plot twists and how they all tie together in the Marvel Cinematic Universe. For me, it is great to have this huge overarching narrative to the Universe.

Now, I love Agents of SHIELD. The main reason is that I really enjoy how tongue in cheek the series is. They don't take the Superhero thing too seriously... and I love how they do that in the most of the films as well. I really am not so fond of movies that take a fantasy Universe and do it is a straight poe-faced manner. The light comedy and the self-depredation is really part of what makes it a great movie Universe to me.

... and Captain Marvel manages this. There is so much pre-plot for all the rest of the Universe (the movie is set before most of the films and TV series that have already been released.), and so seeing all these references helps tie together and place the movie in the the larger narrative. It has a better plot that most of the other movies that I've seen in the MCU (low bar, I know...)... it's definitely one movie that leaves me thinking that Avengers: Endgame is going to be epic!

... so my humble verdict?

IT IS FRICKIN' AWESOME!

Go see it!

I know that there has been a bit of controversy with accusations that Marvel is pushing a political or social justice agenda. All I can say is, NOPE! Watch the movie!

Hey, I would say that for most things... watch/read/experience... BEFORE screaming!

...oh, and I have to mention that it has some of the most kick arse music, hailing from the time when I was at university! Hearing these riffs start was just a completely awesome moment!


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

@bengy haha my bf, a diehard Marvel fan, has been talking about Captain Marvel but he didn't bring me to the movies with him (who has never watched one Marvel film before) 😂

I may dip my toes into it when I have time. 😸

Posted using Partiko Android

I would say, if you watch one... this is a great place to start!

I did see how to tame a dragon 3 last week.
Not comparable I assume 😂

I don't know... I also enjoy the animated films!

Loved the soundtrack to give that 90's vibe. I'm pretty sure end game would crush the box office in epic proportions. Marvel fanatic here and I hope they branch out to Europe, Canada and other parts. Excalibur, Alpha Flight, X Force, X Factor man the possibilities are endless. Still it boils down to the rights for it to materialize.

That sound track was completely awesome... I have to say that it really was my favourite part of it! The setting into the '90s was like a real throwback to university!

I have loved several of the Marvel movies, so I'll be trying to catch this one as well. Thanks for the review.

This has been my favourite one so far... but it does have me ready for Endgame!

Thanks for the review and confirming its a Movie I want too see ;)

Its a good one! I think everyone should definitely see this!

Not sure my will Re will be into it she is nit keen on the superhero style of movies but I fir sure will see it

Thanks for your opinion, makes me kinda want to see it although I don’t like movies too much

Posted using Partiko iOS

I don't see many movie these days... More of a gamer myself!

Same, I’ve always been more into video games

Posted using Partiko iOS

I watched it also last night and I really enjoyed it too ! The beginning was a bit disjointed but it really picked up from the middle onwards :D I love all the characters and I love Carol and the humour was so spot on and the post credit scenes were great !!!

I'm glad I actually enjoyed myself to be honest since the trailer did NOT do anything for me so I went in with a very humdrum expectation and I enjoyed myself unexpectedly :D :D :D

Glad you also enjoyed it! It has me excited for Endgame... Although, I do find the multiple superhero movies to be much less successful for me...

saaaaaaaaaaame

ultron was my least favourite in the mcu line up to be honest, and civil war was kinda bloated, but infinity war was really fun and i hope endgame will deliver a great finale :D

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Bengy (also musicapoetica) from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got a 3.44% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @bengy! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 50 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 422 (03/08/19)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77