Combating Aphids with ladybugs? (100% beneficiary to @lizziesworld)

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

NOTE: 100% of the rewards from this post go to @lizziesworld (@jaynie mother and member of @steemitbloggers), who I have learnt lots of little tricks and tips about gardening (I'm a complete novice!). This morning, her account was emptied of all liquid STEEM/SBD and a powerdown started (all passwords are changed..). This is a pretty sucky thing to do to a 70 year old who posts regularly on STEEM.... well, it's a pretty sucky thing to do to almost anyone!

IMG_20190619_144943.jpg

We are still trying to fight off the aphids (luizen) that are settling into our cherry tree.... we've tried various "natural" sprays with soap/garlic/chili... whilst these work decently enough, they aren't long lasting in deterring the little buggers... and so they soon return. I did resort one time to a spray that was sold at the garden centre, but now that the cherries are coming along and getting ready to eat... I didn't want to continue using that!

So, chemical and natural chemical means exhausted... I've started upon the biological warfare route! I've started collected ladybug larvae from my child's school (they are all over the playground!) to drop into the cherry tree... so, hopefully increasing our ladybug count... who will hopefully start eating up the little black bugs that are curling up our cherry tree leaves!

Now, in the past history of introducing species to combat other species has never gone too wrong...(ahem, CANE TOADS... AUSTRALIA!)... however, probably in this case... it is okay. Ladybugs aren't a huge difference to the ecosystem here! Although, I can't say for sure... I'm really assuming that the ecosystems between Den Haag and Rijswijk (10km, with no natural barriers...) are pretty similar!

I'll keep doing this for a few days, as I expect that not all the larvae will survive to become ladybugs... and then I need to have a sustainable ladybug population as well, which means enough need to be making baby ladybugs! Next up will be the suggestion from @simplymike to plant nasturniums. I just need to find those... probably at the garden centre... unless the school has a few that might suddenly go missing!

IMG_20190619_181128.jpg

The Dutch word for ladybug is "lieveheersbeestje"... a love-something-beast? At least that is how a non-native speaker see it!... and it is so funny when the kids say it!


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

giphy (16).gif
You just received a 100% upvote from @rewards-pool. Thank You for being apart of the @rewards-pool community

Thank you, glad you enjoyed it!

Blesss you @bengy for doing this!

I, too, LOVE going to @lizziesworld daily and seeing what changes are happening in her world and in her garden.

Yes, I learn quite a lot from her blog! We all pulled together to help out!

We upvoted you 100% to help give more to @jaynie's mom. You've done a great job trying to fight off the aphids! I hope that your transplant of lady bug larvae works and you see a large population increase!

Building Ourselves - One Block at a time

#innerblocks

Discord-https://discord.gg/XnJtNjd
https://www.theinnerblocks.com/

Thank you! Our group has banded together incredibly to help out one of our own!... still working at the transplanting!

such a nice gesture for Lizzie, nice of you bengy :)

We all pulled together to help out in different ways!

That's sad news about @lizziesworld
I hope you can get rid off those bugs.

Posted using Partiko Android

... but the good news was that we all pulled together to help her!

That's a lovely thing you've done, to make @lizziesworld 100% beneficiary!
For aphids I have had success using clove essential oil, 15ml in a 2 1/2 gallon sprayer. It does not harm the foliage, but I'm pretty sure it would kill the ladybugs too - it kills stuff that are very hard to get rid of except for some beetles. Clove is one of the least expensive of the oils, and much cheaper than chemicals from the gardening store.
Good luck!

We all helped out in our own ways!

I might try out your recipe if the ladybugs don't work... it's been a bit of an ongoing battle, so I'm always looking for new ideas!

Great gesture @bengy, i am sure a lot of people will support:)

Thanks, we all did our parts to help!

Such a shame that some people take advantage of others in such a way, but on the flip side it always shows how awesome the majority of people are when everyone rallies together to help a friend after such an experience! Kudos to you for helping out, and of course you got my full vote to add to the pot. This is a cool post anyway, as we have been having some bug issues ourselves. Though it is the worms that are getting our squash now. It is just so darn hot here now that the garden is flagging a bit. At least I was able to harvest a good half dozen acorn squash before the little suckers started attacking everything. :)

I was thinking the same... it was terrible that @lizziesworld got hacked, but the way the community pulled together was stunning!

I read that somewhere that ladybugs can help. I had a lot of problems with aphids and mites last year but had no clue about the ladybug tricks. I found out that we could actually order some, but must be careful as to not bring in a species foreign to this place.

Posted using Partiko Android

I had heard that as well, so that's why I'm trying this out! Hopefully it will take... but if not, I'll try out some other tricks!

Let me know how it goes. I'm very interested!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73