It still makes me laugh! : PowerHouseCreatives Contest Entry

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago

This is my entry for the Powerhouse Creatives (@steemitbloggers) community contest run by @zord189.

When I was thinking about which photo that I would like to feature as one of my most memorable photos... I had many to choose from. Most of them document happy memories or things that are really important or very special to me... and as such, they have most significance to myself and my family (and are also more private...)... and thus, would be interesting to others, but would lack the same emotional connection that makes the photo special in the first place...

However, I do have this photo that I've featured above as one that always brings a smile to my face. It comes from a time when phone cameras were slower than the speedy devices that we have today (especially on the Android side of things...), when it wasn't so uncommon for a bit of a lag (sometimes a good part of a second...) between pressing the button and the focussing and picture being taken!

It is a photo that most parents and pet owners will have much in common with... the moment when you set up a nice photo, when everyone is smiling and you take the photo... and something happens, that completely messes up the photo... which weirdly enough often turns out to be much more memorable than the original intended photo!

In this photo, we had visited Keukenhof (a famous Dutch flower festival) and it was a great day... it was a time when we only had the one child, and she was about 2 or 3. We were taking lots of photos, the day was great and it was a nice setting! This one, we were lined up to take the photo... and then suddenly, something caught the eye of our daughter... and off she went! So, the shot captures my wife suddenly taken by surprise as my daughter's butt heads off to the left! Funnily enough, the picture came out quite clearly... again, something that wasn't to be always expected back in the early days of Android phones!


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

That is so funny! I have been there too many times to count!!!! I had three all two-years apart so when the youngest was just running the oldest was six. Poor girl was busy running after her sister (four at the time) while I was chasing the youngest. I think every photo I have of the kids at that age is their butt! haha.
Thanks for the memories!!!!!
Ren

Ha, 3 would be much trickier! With only two adults, if they go different directions you will have to give up on at least one of them!

Great story and photos @bengy, upvoted

Thanks, glad you enjoyed it!

Ah yes, in the days when a bridge camera was "phaster than the phone!"

In many ways, I miss these blooper shots!

Look slike a straight mom reaction where she starts to leap.

Yep... But not quite fast enough!

Ah yes! I remember those slow response cameras that you had to be quick to try to snap something and give yourself some headway plus you end up with impatient subjects who just want to dart like your daughter!
Thanks for sharing!

Ha, those were the days when I wasn't sure if optical cameras would go out of fashion! But they did make for some of the more memorable photos...

Happened to me many times

... But memorable photos!

Haha great story and picture here, awesome action shot. Good luck for the contest!

Posted using Partiko Android

Blooper photos can be the best ones... It at least the ones with memories!

Haha! You gotta be quick on your toes as a parent and a photographer. ACTION SHOT!

Yep... always torn between should I:

a) rescue the child from danger...
b) take a hilarious and memorable shot?

Thank you bengy! You've just received an upvote of 36% by artturtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your posts



Please come visit me to see my daily report detailing my current upvote power and how much I'm currently upvoting.

Help Support Artopium & ArtoLabs

I'm asking all my friends and supporters to consider downloading the new Brave Browser as way of helping me to raise capital for Artopium & ArtoLabs. This costs you absolutely nothing, but I get a referral reward if you use Brave. If you've enjoyed using @ArtTurtle please consider doing this. I wrote this very comprehensive article about this here:

https://steemit.com/brave/@artopium/support-artopium-using-brave-browser

Posing for the photo one...two.......dash lol. Unexpected photos indeed are the most memorable.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85