Learning Mathematics...

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

IMG_20190407_171232.jpg

Sigh... this afternoon, I have to spend a couple of hours seeing if I can learn enough Set/Group Theory (I think it is...) to be able to intelligently help a student. It's all a touch esoteric for me, it would have been child's play for my father... or pretty much any first year Mathematics university major. However, the Mathematics that I studied was the fields that were more applicable to the highly non-abstract fields of Theoretical Physics...

Anyhow, it is a really interesting topic none the less... I will have some fun decoding the nomenclature and learning the basics of the subject! Or at least trying.... after all, it has been something that I've been meaning to learn about for a while now... just having a big kick in the arse to do it is just what I needed!

I'm not above asking for help either! So, if anyone has any tips.... I would be more than grateful!

EDIT:.... hmmm as I read more about it, I have a feeling that I have studied this before in the long lost past... some of it is starting to feel a little bit familiar....


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

:))

Ha ha... As long as there is no Balrog...

Why? :P

Posted using Partiko Android

It's one of my jobs! I tutor privately.... although, this is outside my preferred area, but I said that I would give it a shot...

Oh I see :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Math is never my favourite's.. staring at the picture above already make gulp and smirking... Good Luck @bengy..I need more coffee😂

Ha ha... Well... It is one of the most elegant things! Completely abstract, but just so consistent!

You should definitely be able to do the top blue one. Just take any linear function and find an appropriate h to show that it is equivalent to f

I'm getting there with most of them... The biggest problem was the definitions of the names and the symbol convention. But it starts working...

It's even worse than figured bass, haha!

Posted using Partiko Android

Well... This doesn't have to be done in real time!

I struggled with math during my (actuarial) career but luckily there were loads of people who were far worse.

Huh! I thought actuaries needed pretty solid ath skills to calculate the risks and all of that?

Correct. But I did not make it all the way to actuary but worked with pensions all my life. Last twenty years with HP and Philips Headoffice.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71