My Beloved Pets! (A PowerHouseCreatives Contest entry)

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

Unsplash

This is my entry for the Powerhousecreatives contest, "Beloved pets - pet photos", run by @zord189 (guest judge @fionasfavourites) and @steemitbloggers.

Sadly... that photo above is not my pet... I would LOVE to have a cat, but wife is a dog person... and our kids would like to have a Unicorn... so, we've not really been able to come to a consensus about what would be the perfect pet for our household... I'm still convinced that a cat is really that right thing for us!

However, we have a couple of "pets" that exist in our household....

Screenshot 20190509 22.54.26.png

Seeing as I'm not allowed (yet...) to have a real cat... I've been living out my cat-owning fantasies online with a small litter of Cryptokitties! Actually, as I type this post up... two of the kitties are currently pregnant and so I'm expecting a couple of kittens any time soon! Anyway, this was also a foray into the idea of Non-Fungible Tokens on a blockchain, and to see how the idea worked out... of course, my wife ridicules me about this... but it is a pretty powerful concept!

So, meet my four online cats... Arun Fancynana, Brave Slippyears, Sinta Claws and Ginger Fluff! They do have different personalities and backstories:

Arun was planning to be a Penguin Charmer, but has since found out that the Illuminati run the banks... and she has a New Year's Resolution to be more bashful (birthday Sept 22 2018).

Brave, is still a user of MySpace, and describes herself as amphibious... I would rather say that she is turbulent... (birthday Sept 20 2018)

Sinta, is a vegetarian Dogwalker... with a podcast show and a love of public transport! (birthday 25 Dec 2017).

Ginger is a jock who is was voted most likely to work at NASA (ha.... not a chance...). With an absolute addiction to cinnamon! (Birthday 1 Jan 2018)

IMG_20181201_102947.jpg

My kids however, have started to take a shine and unhealthy attachment to the robot servants of our house... and have started to play with them like pets... From the left to the right, it is Eufy, Block and Spider. I had always just thought of them as mechanical tools (the marketing fluff describes how kids get attached to them... but I thought that it was just sickly sweet marketing spin), but the kids have taken to talking to them... and playing around with them (chasing them and making them run around in circles) whilst they are trying to clean... or even when they aren't cleaning.

One of the more interesting things that they do is to pile their soft toys on the backs of the machines... so the soft toys get a ride around the house. I've told them that they aren't allowed to do that themselves... the older child understands... but the younger one keeps asking "Why?"... I'm afraid that one of these days, she is going to squash one of her mechanical friends....

So... there you have it... those are the compromise pets of our house... given that we don't currently have a squishy real life one! Oddly enough... my wife is the only person in the house to not have projected her pet desires onto anything... that I know of...


Upgoats by ryivhnn
Account banner by jimramones



The classical music community at #classical-music and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio. Community Logo by ivan.atman


steemengineBannerAnimation(test).gif

Sort:  

Heh... it was the best I could do, given I don't actually have real pets...

Hey, what is "real" anyway? We could get into a whole deep and neverending wormhole on that one ;)

Kids just have the most amazing imaginations and creativity don't they... 😊

Haha... yes... the kids...

I am a cat person too but i can give it a try with a robot pet, lol!Your kids are already living at the future, start worry if the robots begin responding to them:)

Ha, well... there is the Alexa who talks back!

You need a cat. Your wife should just give in. Does she know about the Cryptokitties backstories? If not she should read this post.

Ha... so, if my wife thinks I'm going off the crazy end, you think she'll give in?

You poor, deprived person, having to make-do with online felines! My father loathed cats and as soon as I was grown up an no longer at home, I acquired my first ginger cat. My home has never, since 1987, been without a cat. Except for a short period when said ginger decided he didn't like my new apartment and returned to the old one and befriended its new occupant. Cats!

As for allergies - they can be managed - if one wants to.....

I think that pets - the warm blooded ones - are great for kids. They teach hard life lessons....

Ha... I knew that cats were fickle... but that is really quite surprising! We do have a neighbourhood cat who comes in and does what he pleases... and then leaves! If we aren't careful... we find him upstairs in the attic or asleep on our bed!

Oh, Princess Pearli's other name is the Smith Street Strumpet: she goes with anyone. She's even got herself locked into our neighbours' house and to add fuel to their fire, she jumps in the one of the bedroom windows in the dead of night and landed on one of their sleeping guests! Shrieks of horror were followed by gales of laughter and neverending sources (or sauce) for dinner conversations....

Dear @bengy,

Interesting story. I am just curious about your tag- teamaustralia. How do I become a member? of your group? Since I am now based in Cairns.

I am just curious- that's all.

Thanks... I think the person in charge of admissions is @choogirl... she can also be found on Discord in the PAL server.

Thanks Bengy. On it.

dads-nads-58b8c7853df78c353c208e63.webp

Bless your heart, you need a kitty :) Love your "digital kitties" but there is something to be said for a real one, lol We had two cats who lived until they were 22 years old, so different from one another. We have two now who are 13 years old, they have their quiet presence in the household, much less work than our beloved dog was!

That's what I think as well... a dog requires so much more attention and work... the playing and walking! Too much for me, especially as it will be me or my wife doing it and likely not the kids!

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 3 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 5 SBD worth and should receive 163 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Hi @bengy!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.713 which ranks you at #1548 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 1551).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 166 contributions, your post is ranked at #34.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You got a 8.15% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @bengy! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 20 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83