Friday Night Eats! | A bit of History and Apple Smoked Blackened Salmon Salad

DSC_0050 (2).jpg

Salmon season is here! So exciting!


We love salmon and when we can find sustainably harvested wild salmon we enjoy it! Smoking the fish allows us to buy a larger quantity as it stores well, and it tastes so good!


But first, a yummy breakfast…


Now we’re ready to start smokin’
DSC_0087 (2).jpg


How about a bit of Smokin’ History…


Smoking food dates back many years, in fact all the way to the Paleolithic era! Humans living in small huts or caves found that by hanging meats and using smoke, food would last much longer without drying out. Smoke would also detour pests too! Over time salts and brines were included with the smoking process improve both the taste as well as increase the shelf life. Small smokehouses were often built specifically for smoking and preserving meat and fish for the cold winters. With the advent of modern means of transportation, preservation of food in this manor wasn’t nearly as crucial. Smoking foods became a popular method to flavor foods.
smokehouse.jpg

photo thanks to pixabay


We don’t have a smokehouse, just a small electric smoker which sits next to our outdoor grill. For years we used a charcoal smoker but when we moved we thought our smoking days were over. Not so! This past Thanksgiving we realized how much we missed our smoker. The electric smoker is a bit easier to work with but both are great. Fragrant wood chips are used with both. Mesquite, Apple, Cherry, Oak, Pecan are popular woods used in smoking. Today we’ve chosen Apple!


Apple wood is a great mild smoke paired with Chef Paul’s Redfish Magic!


Our salmon looks prepped and ready for the smoker!
DSC_0015 (2k).jpg

Smoked for 3 hours at 150 degrees.


Final finished temperature 140 degrees!
DSC_0021 (2w).jpg

Voila, Served perfectly on a fresh Spinach Salad!


DSC_0053 (2l).jpg


Just in time for my friends @foodfightfriday! If you haven’t checked out this food flinging tasty weekly venue you must! We would love to have you join us! A big thanks to our @fff friends! So glad you stopped by!


And as always, blessings to you all!

loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

It's breakfast time here and now I feel like some smoked fish but have none! Your smoked Salmon looks amazing my friend, I must really try and find an electric smoker.

I just woke up and the first thing I saw in my feed was your delicious breakfast. Now my smoothie does not look as good at all. hahaha jk another great one.

Here in Croatia, they do a lot of smoking for a different type of meat. Some of them are smoked and dried for a month and a half. But, some people age it for a longer time. Somebody for years. I don't eat much meat or some periods at all but my family does and they love it.

Another amazing post as always. Thank you for sharing. Have a blessed day. :)

Oh, smoking is awesome. We have an electric smoker too, mostly for ease, but, I love the old smokehouse. Once upon a time, one of the houses had one. Oh, now I am so spoiled!

But, content to take the easy way for now.

I'm a huge fan of smoked salmon for breakfast and on a bed of spinach with a side of avocado. Oh, brilliant! And that is why I love to stalk come over to your posts! Thank you for this and all the other yumminess you provide!

!tip

That looks like a yummy combination. I used to didn’t like salmon until I tasted it cooked the right way. I love it now and your smoked salmon looks so good. I grew up with smoked foods because my dad loved to it that way. It adds so much flavor!

@birdsinparadise
Your Food Fight Friday Contender has been entered into Round 55
May your contender make it out alive and not be placed in a permanent food coma!
B5E5B35B-2DB2-40C2-BC1A-8750ECD4870D.gif
Good Luck

I can just dive into that plate of Salmon right NOW!!

I admit it--I'm jealous!

Oh no, why did you smoke it? Salmon is so much more delicious raw and smoke is toxic.

I have never been a big fan of salmon, to be honest but that sure looks so good, but that breakfast looks so healthy and so good I could dive into that

Salmon is great, but over here it is frightening expensive, so much so that we can only have one small peace in the year.
Next time I will for sure smoke it and follow your advice about a salad.
A great post here my friend!
Blessings!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63706.21
ETH 3073.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76