Healthy Eats! | Dragon Fruit Protein Bites

DSC_0017 (2).jpg

Well my foodie friends, I ventured into the Bird pantry this week! Sometimes that can be scary as I seem to accumulate quite a few little baggies of “stuff”.

Do you ever have this problem?


Don't be frightened! Usually they're full of nuts, as I use lots of nuts in my recipes. Ground almonds, pecans, walnuts, hazelnuts…you get the idea. The same holds true with the fridge.


As Granny Bird always said, “Waste not, want not!”


This week the Birdy kitchen experiment with leftovers went something like this:

  • Bird’s Cashew Cream Cheese
  • Ground Walnuts and Almonds
  • Chia Seeds
  • Hemp Seeds
  • Fresh Lemon Juice
  • Maple Syrup
  • Medjool Dates
  • Strawberries
  • Fresh Dragon Fruit
  • Fresh Strawberries

My plan was to make a fruity protein bite! Think we can do it? Let’s try!

todaysjourney.jpg

Dragon Fruit Protein Bites

I love Dragon Fruit…


I think it is the most beautiful fruit! It was one of the first fruits I spied when we moved to SW Florida. I didn’t know what it was but it was so beautiful I had to buy it and try it. I mean, something this lovely certainly had to taste amazing!

dragonfruit.jpg

Not only is this fruit stunning…


this fruit is packed with beneficial antioxidants, Vitamin C and Magnesium. Dragon fruit is high in fiber and contains prebiotics which help promote a healthy gut. Certainly a great fruit to have around. Dragon Fruit has a light flavor and pairs well with Strawberries and Lemons. We’re using both today!

Serious multitasking…


skills came into play today, starting with the Strawberry/Dragon Fruit compote. Wash and chop the fruit, and into the saucepan with a bit of water. If sweet is what you want, add a tablespoon of Maple Syrup. It’s your call! Stir and then simmer for about 15 minutes. Add a tablespoon of Chia Seeds to thicken the compote.
DSC_0006 (2).jpg

Meanwhile…


Let’s make the base layer for the protein bites. Toss 1 cup of ground walnuts/Almonds along with the pitted Medjool dates, Hemp Seeds and 2 tablespoons of Maple Syrup into your favorite food processer. Walnuts, Almonds and Hemp are full of healthy protein; you’ll love the nutty taste. Good old Walter really does the job. You’re good to go when the nutty mixture looks like this.
DSC_0017 (23.jpg

Locate your...


Silicone candy mold and press the mixture into each little mold. A muffin tin or baking pan lined with parchment would work just as well. I just like these little molds, they keep me honest! Just one bite!
DSC_0022 (2).jpg

Remember that Cashew...


Cream cheese? Well grab that tub and whip it with your fresh lemon juice. Feel free to add a bit of Maple Syrup if you think it’s too tart. Now layer this whipped lemon cheese over your base layer.
DSC_0010 (2).jpg

Smell that Strawberry?


Oh Yes! It’s ready to top our protein bars. Give it a quick 30 second spin in your blender. I like to leave a little texture in the topping. Top the bars, refrigerate or freeze if you want to save them for later!
DSC_0030 (2).jpg

Voila! Tart and tasty! A perfect snack!


DSC_0014 (2).jpg

I’m always amazed to see what can be created using leftovers! Check out your pantry and fridge, you might just be surprised! Just about any fruit and nut combination would work; I hope you’ll try them. Your family and friends will love you!


And as always, blessings to you all


loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif

steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Man, that is one scary-looking piece of vegetation. Somebody was really brave to try that one for the first time.

Oh no, it is really beautiful. Pinks, yellows and oranges...the inside will be either bright pink or white. This one was white, very mild tasting. Great paired with strawberries :) Now you do like strawberries don't you?????? Not brave, just very curious, lol

Not just Tart and Tasty but absolutely beautiful granny Bird, you are so creative! I still have to try Dragon Fruit!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @lizelle, try to get a pink one, they have more flavor, the whites are mild with little flavor really. Although they both really good for us! :)

I will look out for that, thank you!

Speaking of delicious and professional!!! Oh my goodness, I have to make these 🍓🥥🍓

You're too kind Lena, this presentation doesn't come close to your beauty! But thank you anyway, you're so thoughtful. They were fun to create my friend!:)

Always a pleasure my Dear and don't be so humble 💖

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 426 (03/11/19)

Thank you @thesteemengine, so appreciate your support :)

Your leftovers look better than my artisan. I love love love dragon fruit. The pink dragon fruit is my favorite to add to a smoothie or make a bowl out of it. They are so pretty I can’t help but love them. Great post @birdsinparadie (I mean creative McCreativerson)

lol, creative McCreativerson....youuuuuu! Thanks @puravidaville, I just couldn't throw out all of those little leftovers and the pantry was looking a bit, ummm untidy if you know what I mean. These aren't too sweet and really fix that afternoon hunger call. I used half of the fruit for this and the other half in my morning juice! I love them too, just can't get over how cute they are :)

One of my favorite farmers may have the first of the strawberries of the season in a few weeks! She asked me to trade a copy of my cook book for some, which of course makes it even better. These might just have to be on the menu when I get my hands on those beauties. Dragon fruit is a bit tougher to come by, but I'll be pretty content with all the berries coming in soon. 🍓

Posted using Partiko Android

I know, this is my second season in Florida and I am still surprised when I find out it is Stawberry season in January, lol I love them, I almost want to freeze them because they'll be gone but with the bounty of fruit here I don't. This year I have dehydrated a bunch of them, I think it will be fun to try different ideas using the dried strawberries. Can't wait to see your recipes, I'm sure they'll be amazing. Thank you @plantstoplanks as I know you don't eat sweets in general, I appreciate your sweet words! :)

This doesn't count as a "sweet" when it's so healthy! ;) Well, maybe if you splurged and at the whole tray. I froze a bunch of the berries last year since I'm spoiled now for grocery bought ones! It was nice to pull some out into the fall and beginning of winter to add to smoothies and oats. I bet the dehydrated ones will be great to use, too! So many options. My mouth is starting to water just thinking about them...

@birdsinparadise,

Welcome to the Power House Creatives!!!

These Protein Bites look as nutricious and they do delicious. And, as a Canadian, I appreciate anything containing Maple Syrup.

BTW, we're almost neighbors ... I live in Sarasota.

Quill

Nice to meet you-fellow-Floridian! Thank you @quillfire! Glad to be a part of the Power House Creatives. This will be fun! I love Maple syrup as well and use it ipo most recipes which need sugar, a bit healthier :)

As a dragon fruit lover, I will try this recipe.

Upvoted n resteemed

Thank you @anggreklestari! I know, its so versatile I love it in smoothies as well!

Delicious through the looks

Thank you @hananali, appreciate your kind words. It's a fun fruit to use in smoothies too :)

Yeah, must be delicious. Will want to have it one day

Dropping by to say welcome to #powerhousecreatives once again! :) It's good to have you with us and I hope that you'll enjoy Steemit more with us bugging you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63517.53
ETH 3062.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81