Healthy Eats | The Amazing Fruit to Juice to California Avocado Toast Transformation!

DSC_0022 (2).jpg

Good day my foodie friends! I hope you’re all off to a great start this week.

Summer is in full swing here and we’re busy dodging thunderstorms while we attempt to re-sand and re-seal our back patio. It’s a big project we would like to wrap up but Mother Nature has other plans!

We started the day pretty early…


and a nice glass of juice was certainly welcomed when the morning lightning and thunderstorms began.
DSC_0018 (2d).jpg

The fruit and veggie pulp…


was so colorful and delicious I just hated to toss it! You know I’m always trying to find new ways to incorporate pulp into my recipes. Since we were rained out I had a little time on my hands o I thought I would try using it in a loaf of sandwich bread! Why not? I knew it could fail but hey, it’s always fun to experiment!
DSC_0022 (2s).jpg

Birds Basic Veggie Sandwich Bread

  • Wheat Flour (2 cups)
  • Bread Flour (2 cups)
  • Almond Milk (1 1/2 cup)
  • Maple Syrup (2 tbsp.)
  • Olive or Coconut Oil (3 tbsp.)
  • Fruit and Veggie Pulp (1 ½ cups)
  • Sea Salt (2 tsp.)
  • Yeast (2 ¾ tsp.)
  • Italian Seasoning (1 ½ tsp.)
  • Garlic Powder (1 tsp.)

Don't have a juicer?


No problem! Just use your veggie peeler or cheese shredder to shred the carrots and beets! For this loaf I used mainly carrot and beet pulp! I didn’t want to add additional moisture to the bread on this first experiment!

Easy ingredients!


Mix all of the ingredients in your favorite bowl. Knead for about 5 minutes, cover and let it rise for an hour or so! Punch the dough down and into the bread pan we go. Bake at 400 degrees for about 40 minutes. Voila! Golden brown and the texture, so yummy!
DSC_0043 (2).jpg

Can you see the colorful bits of fruit and veggies? Love it!

DSC_0095 (3).jpg


My friends @plantstoplanks and @puravidaville are always talking about how wonderful Avocado toast tastes. I'm trying it for the first time today now that I have a fresh loaf of tasty bread and lots of avocadoes on hand! Fresh cucumber, red onions, tomatoes and some marinated basil mozzarella balls were all available in the fridge! Perfect for a sandwich! Grab the avocado, remove the pit, mash and add your favorite seasonings, mine were garlic, cayenne, salt and pepper, chopped cilantro and a splash of lemon juice! Toast that fresh bread and we’re good to go!


Voila! Bird Style California Avocado Toast


DSC_0019 (2d).jpg


Wow, now I understand what all of the excitement is all about! What a great sandwich! So versatile, you could top it with an egg for breakfast or with a burger for dinner! Do you like Avo toast? I would love to hear about your favorite recipe! As for the bread, well the experiment was a success. I’ll definitely be making more of this, it will be fun to try it using different fruit and veggie combinations. Lunch break is over, the rain has stopped, time to hit the pavers! Thanks for stopping by today!


And as always, blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Avo on toast is one of our favourites and now you add another dimension with bread made with pulp, wow my friend you really are a genius! When I was making juice I never knew what to do with the pulp and just hated throwing it away! I must really start again as there's no need to waste all of that goodness!

I know, it drives me crazy to toss it out each time. I thought surely it would work in bread, just not adding too much at once. It was perfect! Great as toast, with butter and jam too! I know you would love it, thanks my sweet friend! :)

I am a big lover of avocado toast too, but I guess I don't talk that much about it, lol. This bread recipe is absolutely amazing..............I love all your pulp recipes! Sooooo brilliant!!! 🥭🍏🥕🌱😍🍐🍊🍈🍎

You're too kind my friend. I just try to find ways to use the pulp, this was fun and tasted good too! As for the avocado toast, wow I can't believe I haven't tried it before now! I have lots of thoughts for combo's....I love it!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Thank you @vibesforlife and @helpiecake! What a sweet surprise! Your cake looks amazing, I would love to have a slice right about now, ;)

I love avocado toast, but, the bread from pulp? Ohhhh! Now, that looks simply divine! I cannot believe that you were not a chef in your former life.

The bit of color from the veggies is awesome! Were any of the flavors more dominant than the other?

Thanks for always showing us a new way of eating something delicious!

!tip

Well, I hate wasting the pulp! I have so much of it each day I try to find ways to use it, lol Actually the flavors were quite mild. I didn't want to use toomuch due to the moisture content. It will be fun to try different combos of veggies. I agree the avo toast is wonderful, I can't believe I hadn't tried it before...we eat everything avocado, lo Thanks my sweet friend!

This post is colourful and looking delicious!! What's in your juice???

And your sandwich!! Oh my!!! Drooling!!

Posted using Partiko Android

My juice? Well... cucumber, spinach, carrots, lemon, granny smith apples, blueberries and red beets :) My favorites! So glad you enjoyed it!

Yuuuuumy!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ok I had enough of your delicious posts. NOT(in Borat's voice). 🤣🤣

You really are an amazing chef. I would love one of these sandwiches right in front of me. Wait, scratch that. I would like a dozen of these right in front me right now.🤣

Another amazing recipe as always. Thank you for sharing it with us. Have a blessed day. 😀

Posted using Partiko Android

hehehe, I'm glad you enjoyed it! Love the avocado toast, so good for you! Of course you could always have plain old toast and butter with almond butter.... or better yet, those amazing berries you picked the other day! :) Enjoy!

The berries don't last long enough to get on the toast. I usually just grab a hand full anytime time I get some sweet cravings. They do the trick but they are gone in no time. :)

Looks delicious! I love avocado. In a few months I'm gonna have a bunch of 'em getting ripe on my trees. I can't wait. I'll be eating avo everything! lol.

Well, I'm seriously jealous now...I can't imagine having an avocado tree in my yard. My husband is from California and he tells stories of tossing them around as a small boy...hard to imagine lol We love them, can't buy them fast enough, lol Thanks @derekrichardson!

What a great idea to use the pulp to make bread I love the color sit has and lead to a cool and tasty looking sandwich

Well, when you make juice everyday and have all of that juice pulp you feel a bit wasteful tossing it out all the time. The veggie taste and nutrition is still there so I try to find ways to use it...this bread worked out. It'll be fun to try other combo's. Thanks @tattoodjay!

I love how creative you are with your ideas for use of food, its very inspiring visiting your posts

🎁 Hi @birdsinparadise! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @dswigle!

@dswigle wrote lately about: Capture The Muse(Ings) Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide :)

wow pulp to bread - amazing share

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.035
BTC 65869.37
ETH 3414.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.58