Healthy Eats! |The Birds are in the Weeds with Purslane Pesto!

DSC_0024 (3).jpg

How’s it going my foodie friends?

We’ve had a crazy week on the road, traveling from Florida through Georgia, Tennessee and Kentucky just to land in the Ozarks! What a whirlwind! Computer connectivity has been quite spotty so I have lots to share!


My daughter @mountainjewel has an amazing homestead with an incredible garden filled with so many delicious fruits and veggies. It’s been wonderful having sautéed veggies and salads every day! Today I was introduced to a new “veggie” which perhaps some of you love, and many of you don’t know as a veggie!


In fact most of you would know this as an invasive “weed”


Now that I’ve peaked your interest and you’re sitting on the edge of your seat I’ll show you a picture and see if you know what it is!


Know what it is? No…not the yellow flowers

DSC_0191 (2).jpg

It’s Purslane!


DSC_0149 (2).jpg


Now before you stop reading, just listen to this!


Purslane is really nutritious and if you like Watercress you will love this stuff! They’re packed with so many vitamins and nutrients too!

  • Vitamins A, C, and E
  • Iron, Calcium and potassium!
  • And the best yet! It is the number one source of Omega-3 fatty acids among green leafy vegetables!!
    Even more than spinach! Wow! You know the Omega Alpha-linolenic acid which is found fish like
    salmon.

I know, you’re thinking, why didn’t I know this right? This purslane is great in a salad or on your favorite sandwich. When I realized this I knew what I would try…

Pesto!

Ingredients

  • Fresh Purslane (washed and destemmed)
  • Fresh Garlic
  • Lemon Juice
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt/Pepper (to taste)
  • Cayenne Pepper

So I grabbed the purslane…


and removed the stems, feathers flying!
DSC_0006 (2ss).jpg

I had walnuts…


on hand and you remember those sweet Tomato Chips I made the other day?

DSC_0001 (2).jpg


Luckily I had all of my Pesto…
ingredients with me; Olive Oil, Garlic, Salt and Pepper, Lemon Juice, Tomato Chips ,walnuts and of course Cayenne! Into the blender they went and…


Bam, Pesto!


DSC_0010 (2c).jpg

Gluten free Linguine…


ready to go, tossed everything together (tasted it once or maybe twice)!

DSC_0012 (2).jpg

Topped with a few grilled chicken tenders we had on hand and the family was very happy!

DSC_0027 (2).jpg


This is very tasty my friends! I’ll tell you, Mr. Bird spends a lot of time trying to eradicate this pesky plant! He loved it! He couldn’t believe what we were eating, but happy to know the nutritional benefits! Try it on a salad, I think you’ll be pleasantly surprised! Thanks for stopping by!


And as always, blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg



steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Purslane grows over here too, so I will have to try making this, if I can find the time. It looks delicious!

Fantastic @natubat! They have cultivated this purslane so it is quite tender, I'll have to see what they cultivar they grow. Not like the weedy type I'm used to. I think you would like it.

Ah - I'll have to see if it grows in the UK then.

An array of freshly grown vegetables what a pleasure to visit your daughter, that dish looks superb! Enjoy your meal!

Thank you @joanstewart, their homestead looks like a garden wonderland. Very lush with berries and veggies galore. We have been planting and harvesting every day. Such fun! :)

We grew up in a garden like that, my Dad an avid gardener. When I think back to what we had in a small suburban garden it still amazes me.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Yum, and gluten free… love it. Tennessee has to be our favorite state in the US. The people there are like no other, southern and kind. Have fun, with a garden like your daughters I don’t see how you couldn’t 😉

Yes! Tennessee was awesome, we're having fun! Garden like crazy, we are indeed gardening! The fresh veggies are so nice, berries :) Glad you enjoyed my friend! Blessings to you guys!

Always sending blessings to you @birdsinparadise

Okay...so Purlane it is!
I wonder if we have this in South Africa, but we will certainly have a look for it.
Your dishes are always so cool looking.
Blessings!

Thank you @papilloncharity! This was fun to make, and tasty too! I love experimenting with foods, especially those most aren't familiar with. (Sometimes the results aren't so good, lol) Luckily I have eager taste testers! I appreciate your kind words my friend! Blessings to you

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by birdsinparadise from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

this was absolutely a delicious meal! you are an amazing chef and i am SO Impressed with everything you create with odd ingredients! love you XOXO

You.are amazing my sweet daughter! We can create infinite delicious dishes fresh from your garden :) Thank you for having us, love love your homestead and all of the fresh veggies and fruits. You can't go wrong with your garden offering oxoxoxo love you

purlane? Pesto? hmmm! Gluten-free? I am sold ;0)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70839.13
ETH 3563.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77