Healthy Treats! | Licorice Protein Treats for the Road!

DSC_0076 (2).jpg

We’re on the road again my friends!


The Bird nest is empty, time for a little R&R!


We love visiting the Florida Keys. Nothing like camping right beside the beach, waking up to hear the waves splashing on the shore. The State Parks are busy during the winter months so when we find a spot available, we take flight!


Mr. Bird is a big fan of Licorice candies and every time we plan a road trip, he hopes we’ll have some on hand. You know me, I’m not a big fan of the sugar, preservatives, and dyes… just about the whole idea of licorice don’t sound good. In fact, I remember going to the movies when I was a young, my little brother often tagged along. We would buy the gummy candies to eat during the movies. All of the black licorice went to my little brother, he loved it! Me? Not so much!


As I scanned...


the spice rack I noticed a spice I rarely use...Anise! Are you familiar with this spice?
DSC_0025 (2d).jpg


Pimpinella anisum; also known as Aniseed, has a licorice taste! This plant grows to about three feet and produces sweet white flowers. These flowers hold tiny seed, anise seeds! Not only are these seeds tasty, they have powerful health benefits! Just what we need on the road!


Is it Healthy? Yes!

  • Rich in nutrients: specifically iron and magnesium! Keeps your blood cells healthy!
  • May help prevent depression: Studies have shown a small quantity of Anais seed can help reduce the symptoms and frequency of depression.
  • Help prevent Stomach Ulcers: Anise seed helps curb excess production of stomach acid, a real help for those who suffer from Stomach Ulcers.
  • Balance Blood Sugars: This seed may help improve the function of insulin producing cells.

Although typically used in small quantities, this spice really packs a punch! A word of caution, if you suffer with allergies to celery, fennel, parsley or dill you may be allergic to Anise!

Let’s see what we can cook up!


todaysjourney.jpg

Tahini Licorice Protein Treats

I used…

  • Tahini (3/4 cup)
  • Coconut Palm Sugar (4 tbsp.)
  • Maple Syrup (2 tbsp.)
  • Flax (2 tbsp.)
  • Baking Powder (1/2 tsp)
  • Baking Soda (1/2/ tsp)
  • Sea Salt (dash)
  • Vanilla (2 tsp)
  • Anise Seed (1/2 tsp)
  • Optional Topping: Sesame Seed

I’ve really enjoyed…


baking without using flour! These cookies are much lighter on the stomach, and using Tahini adds a big boost of protein to the treat! I found adding just a touch of baking powder and baking soda gives these little guys a lift! Oh and if you’re not a big licorice fan, leave out the Anise and add another favorite flavoring! (And if you’re in the mood for chocolate, add chocolate chips!)

Everything goes….


Into the mixing bowl! Mix well and into the fridge for about 30 minutes.
DSC_0028 (2).jpg

Roll into nut sized…


balls and place them on a parchment lined baking sheet. I used a fork to press a little decoration on top! Feel free to sprinkle a few Sesame seeds on top! After tasting the dough, I knew these cookies would be a big hit!
DSC_0040 (2).jpg

Into the Oven…


At 350 degrees for about 9 minutes. Try to let them cool before you let the troops know they’re ready! Lol Cute aren’t they?
DSC_0044 (2).jpg

Happy Trails my friends! Licorice for the troops!

DSC_0082 (2).jpg

I hope you'll try these and let me know what you think! I would love to hear!


DSC_0086 (2).jpg


We had a rainy ride down to the Keys! Tomorrow should be great, who knows what we’ll see! Stay tuned!


And as always, blessings to you all!
loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

Hmmm.. my oldest is crazy about liquorice (the Dutch kind...) as she grew up here with that sort of taste in her mouth.... She'll probably like these... the adults... not so sure!

I am not a licorice fan myself. I made these for my husband, the licorice fan and he was very pleased. It is definitely a taste you either love or not so much :)

I'm sure these were delicious Mrs Bird! My mom actually uses aniseed in her rusks, gives it that extra flavour. I find the health benefits very interesting, thank you for that!

Thanks my friend :) What are rusks? I am not familiar with the term @lizelle. I had heard about some of the benefits but not all. I know the candy is not good for you, lol Hubby loved these though. Me, not so much!

mmm your posts always look so good. i really like tahini - is the falvour quite strong in these?

Thankyou @princessmewmew! I just asked my husband if he thought the cookies were strong...he said no. (Not being a licorice lover I haven't been eating them, lol) I love Tahini as well! You could leave the licorice out if you wish. The vanilla and maple would give them a nice flavor too!

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you, thank you :) I am really enjoying this new community of excited, creative people! So appreciate being included!

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 453 (04/10/19)

Thank you @thesteemengine! I truly appreciate your support :) Have a great Monday!

Oh, yes!! You know I come over here just to be fed! Oh, you jumped down to Key West? I love it there. I was just there last month. Hmmm. No, February!

Time is flying.

Oh, I do love licorice. I am one of those that cherry picks all the licorice out of candies. And tahini is popular in this house. Thank you for always leaving great recipes for us to try!

You are the best!

!tip

The Keys are so beautiful aren't they. We feel so blessed just sitting by the water watching the birds and wildlife (and wildlife we did see) so peaceful. Glad you enjoyed this recipe! See if we went to the movies, you could have all of the licorice and I would eat the rest, lol So fun! My husband loved these cookies, said the licorice flavor was wonderful. Me...not so much, lol You are so sweet @dswigle, have a wonderful Sunday!

These look really eatable...

Thank you! They were great for our trip, satisfied my husbands licorice craving, lol

I to love licorice but seldom have it these days but these sound like something to try instead so much healthier and with a licorice taste they have to be good

Yes, knowing how unhealthy the candy is, I just couldn't buy it for my husband....so I made the cookies. He really enjoyed them, me not so much, lol Thanks @tattoodjay!

I often walk past licorice allsorts and am so tempted by them, but its been close to a year now that I have managed to control myself and not get some ;)

It's look tasty. And the recipe is easy to repeat))) I will try it!

They were quick and easy to make. If you are a licorice fan I hope you'll try them. Thanks @amalinavia :)

I've heard before that anise can help balance your blood sugar, but had no idea of all the other amazing benefits! Thanks so much for the info and the recipe - I've pinned it on Pinterest (https://www.pinterest.com/pin/33073378499543941/), and will be sure to shout out once I've given it a go. Safe travels to you and Mr. Bird!

Thanks @traciyork :) I love researching the spices and foods I use. It is amazing the health benefits packed into such small packages, like anise. I would love to hear what you think, my husband really enjoyed them.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10