Healthy Treats! | Memory Lane with a Cookie Dough Surprise

DSC_0087 (2).jpg

Happy Sunday my friends!


Today has been filled with a bit of personal nostalgia . Do you ever have those kinds of days? For me they are often moments remembering fond childhood memories spent with grandparents. My mother’s parents lived about 30 minutes away and I spent many summers with them. They had a huge yard , vegetable garden with beautiful Peonies, a tree with a swing and a creek to wade in. Oh the fun I had.


As you can imagine...


cooking and baking was another favorite activity spent with my grandmother. She would bake fruit pies, tarts and cobblers loaded with fresh fruit. I would receive the leftover pastry to make tiny cinnamon rolls, always buttery and sweet.

A prized wedding gift...


Yes, I’ve been sorting through old family recipes again and came across a fabulous recipe my grandmother gave me when we were married. As I mentioned earlier, she prepared a special recipe box filled with personal recipes all handwritten in her perfect handwriting.


One of my favorite...


recipes was for Oatmeal Cookies. I’m not sure if it was the huge quantity of butter or the equally large quantity of sugar but these cookies are amazing. Not only are the cookies amazing but the cookie dough was even better! Please, tell me some of you love cookie dough! I used to bake half of the cookies and then roll the balance of the dough to be frozen for later use. Generally speaking this dough didn’t last long in our house! I would catch everyone grabbing a slice of this frozen dough…it was awesome.


Today I had a craving for this Oatmeal Cookie dough BUT I just had to figure out a way to make these healthier! (I promise you my grandmother would approve, lol) I knew the dough had to include Oatmeal, Raisins and Walnuts!

Want to try them? The experiment begins...

All I used!

  • Sun Butter (1/4 cup)
  • Gluten Free Oats (1 cup)
  • Coconut Oil (1 ½ tbsp.)
  • Vanilla (1 ½ tsp)
  • Coconut Milk (full fat) (1 ½ tbsp.)
  • Organic Raisins (2/3 cup)
  • Walnuts (1/3 cup)

I wanted to…


make something with a nice protein addition so walnuts and Sun Butter would do the job. I grabbed my handy food processor and added the Sun butter, ¾ cups of the Oats, Coconut Oil, Vanilla, Coconut Milk and half of the Raisins.
DSC_0063 (2).jpg

Process for about…


30 seconds or until the mixture starts to forms a ball. We still want the nice oatmeal texture. Test the dough to make sure it isn’t to dry, you should be able to form a tight ball with it. Feel free to add a bit more coconut milk if the dough is too dry.
DSC_0066 (2).jpg

Chop those walnuts…


and toss them into the dough along with the balance of the oatmeal and raisins. With damp hands I rolled the dough into sweet cookie dough balls! Now into the fridge for about 30 minutes.
DSC_0078 (2).jpg

Here you have it! Glorious Cookie Dough Balls


DSC_0084 (2).jpg

Don’t you love it! No added sugar, no dairy! And added protein! Enjoy!


DSC_0094 (2).jpg


Now I’ll have something to share with my grandchildren! A new memory, written with just as much love and care! Healthy treats I think you and your kiddo’s both big and small will love. Oh, and if you want to get the full frozen cookie dough experience, throw them in the freezer, they'll do just fine! (until the family finds out!) Thanks for stopping by!


And as always, blessings to you all


loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63594.33
ETH 3039.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10