Saturday Morning Sweets | Renovations, Waffles and Blueberry Jam

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

DSC_0020 (2).jpg

The weekend is here and for many of you that may mean time for a little R&R! Not so for the Birdsthis weekend!

It’s time to start a new renovation project in the Bird nest!


DSC_0022 (2).jpg


Although we’ve only lived in this home for a couple of years Mr. Bird has already completed quite a few renovations! He always feels the need to add his personal touch to any home we choose which I love.


This can be both good and bad!


Good in that we don’t pay others to do the work, and bad that renovation work can be quite strenuous and sometimes stressful. (for both of us, lol)

Anyway…. today we begin the latest “project”!


We decided to add porcelain tile around our fireplace so; while Mr. Bird was busy gathering all of the tools he would need, I was in the kitchen prepping the healthy breakfast he would need to start the day!


Birds Healthy Waffles!

  • Almond Butter (1/2 cup)
  • Fresh Eggs (qty 4)
  • Yacon or Maple Syrup (2 tbsp.)
  • Baking Powder (1/2 tsp)
  • Fresh Blueberries (1 cup)
  • Chia Seeds (2 tbsp.)
  • Coconut Yogurt (optional topping)

You know we love blueberries …


and I know he loves waffles so I think that sounds like a wonderful breakfast combination! After washing the blueberries, I placed them in a saucepan with 6 tablespoons of water and heated to a slight boil. At that point I added the chia seeds along with a tablespoon of Yacon syrup. Now they can simmer until they thicken into a wonderful jam.
DSC_0002 (2).jpg


While the blueberries were cooking…


I dashed to help Mr. Bird! He was just preparing to cut the first tiles! He always says measure twice and cut once for these types of projects! Needless to say, he had everything under control so I headed back to the kitchen to make the waffles!
DSC_0035 (2).jpg

Almond Butter, eggs, baking soda ...


and Maple Syrup were blended to create a creamy batter.
DSC_0010 (2).jpg

I love this mini waffle maker!


It’s just the right size and the waffles are ready in minutes.
DSC_0036 (2d).jpg

The blueberry jam was ready, waffles are hot! Time for a breakfast break!


DSC_0030 (2x).jpg


Back to work now, we have a long day ahead of us. As many of you know, tile work can be tedious, it’s quite an art! At the end of the day, I think we made great progress! The tile looks great. Just a quick glimpse...


DSC_0003 (2).jpg


As for the waffles, I think you’ll enjoy them. They’re light and fluffy, won’t leave you feeling like you’ve eaten too much. Oh and I’ll be sure to let you know how the project turns out! Thanks for stopping by!


And as always blessings to you all!
loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @enchantedspirit.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Thank you so much @helpie-cake and @enchantedspirit :) That is one amazing slice of cheesecake, yum!!! Truly appreciate your support

The waffles look so good

measure twice and cut once
that was something I heard my dad tell me and my siblings many many times

The tile work looks good

I know, I hear that saying quite a lot around the house as he is always "re-doing" something. I'm quite lucky to have a perfectionist in the house! Glad you enjoyed my friend. Thank you, enjoy your weekend :)

Thanks and I hope your weekend is going well

My mouth is watering! well presented post!

Thank you, thank you! So glad you enjoyed them. Mr. Bird thought they were quite tasty, gobbled them right up :)

Waffles looks very tasty! I want to draw it))

I'm sure you could @amalinavia :) In fact you are so good you would probably make them look even better!! Love it, thank you sweet friend! Have a wonderful day!

I want that waffles and blueberry jam too Mrs @birdsinparadise 😍 for breakfast, lunch or dinner.. anytime 😂 but I'd better not hanging around the renovation works, it will take longer to finish.

Enjoy your weekend too Mrs and Mr Birds

hehehe, oh well I serve as the renovation cook and cleanup crew, lol I'll not be doing any tile work! So nice to see you, thank you sweet friend :) Glad you enjoyed this tasty treat!

It's middle of the night and you are making me feel hungry! Those foods are amazing. Yuum..

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey, they're healthy so I supposed you could have them at night right? lol Thank you for such sweet words! :) Have a wonderful weekend @rem-steem!

Thank you for this wonderful article.

I've also shared your post in the Steem Malaysia Community Page on Facebook, hoping to give you the extra exposure because of its good content. Feel free to join this community page is you wish!

I hope by doing this, more content creators/bloggers/vloggers will get to know this wonderful platform we both thrive in. :)

Keep creating awesome content!

Wow, thank you @zord189 :) What a kind gesture. Thank you for sharing my post!

Looks so good dear and beautiful presentation too. :)

Happy weekend!

Thank you @definisiluka :) So glad you enjoyed them! Have a wonderful weekend.

This post has been rewarded with an upvote from city trail as part of Neoxian City Curation program . We are glad to see you using #neoxian tag in your posts. If you still not in our discord, you can join our Discord Server for more goodies and giveaways.

Do you know that you can earn NEOXAG tokens as passive income by delegating to @neoxiancityvb. Here are some handy links for delegations: 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP. Read more about the bot in this post. Note: The liquid neoxag reward of this comment will be burned and stake will be use for curation.

Thank you @neoxian-city! Truly appreciate the support! :)

What a lovely project, mr Bird sounds just like my hubby when it comes to diy; ALWAYS measures twice, sometimes even thrice! I'm so impatient but it also reminds me of my hand draughting days when my dear old boss said to me:

Think twice and draw once!

Your waffles must have been delicious and no flours, just amazing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05