Saturday Sweets | Nut butter Love! Nutella!

DSC_0014 (1) (2).jpg

Nutella, that creamy nutty chocolate spread we love!


Nutella was originally created in a bakery owned by Pietro Ferrero in Alba Italy. Hazelnuts were widely grown around the area and often included in the bakery. Pietro made his first cocoa hazelnut confection in candy form but in 1951 he created a creamy spreadable version which quickly became quite popular! In 1963 Pietro’s son began marketing this creamy cocoa spread throughout Europe naming it Nutella![]( https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nutella}


Are you a Nutella fan?


I know my kids loved Nutella when they were growing up. They always carried their lunches to school so making creative and healthy lunches I knew they would eat was a daily challenge! Unfortunately the “official” Nutella sold at the market wouldn’t gain a passing grade in the Bird household! It actually contains more sugar than hazelnuts! What????? As I’ve said so many times, I wish I knew then what I know now!


You can make it yourself, and it’s much healthier!


Before we left on our latest road trip I decided to make a special Nutella treat to share with the family, it’s so simple! I’ll show you!


3 Ingredients! That’s all you need!

  • Hazelnuts (2 cups)
  • Cacao or Cocoa (2 tbsp.)
  • Maple Syrup (3 tbsp.)

Roast the hazelnuts…


by preheating the oven to 350 degrees. Place the hazelnuts in a single layer on a parchment lined baking sheet. Roast for about 10 minutes! Don’t let them burn!

Quick tip!


Place the toasted hazelnuts in a clean dishtowel and rub them together in the towel. You’ll be amazed, the shells come right off! So much easier than trying to peel those little guys! Trust me, I’ve done it, lol
DSC_0002 (2).jpg

Grab your favorite…


Food processor. Yes of course I called good old Walter! He’s always on standby for these challenges. Add the Cacao and Maple syrup and start processing. As they say…patience is a virtue! It’s not done yet! Keep processing!
DSC_0005 (2s).jpg

Now that’s much better!


Dreamy Creamy Nutella! I continued to process for a few minutes more; I wanted a really smooth butter consistency!
DSC_0008 (2).jpg

Pour into your favorite jar and enjoy!


DSC_0018 (1) (2).jpg

What a great sandwich spread…


and it’s wonderful with Ice Cream too! Even better, I made another healthy treat using Nutella! Take a peak… more to come!
DSC_0036 (2).jpg


Love seeing you today, I hope you’re having a wonderful weekend!

And as always, blessings to you all!


loveyourself.jpg


PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

I'm not much of a nutella fan. I bought a jar a few years ago and it finally just kind of dessicated and I threw it out. Maybe half used.

But your recipe looks great! I might give that a try. I've got no maple syrup in the house, but I've been threatening for a while now. Nothing better to drizzle on grilling salmon...

Thanks Birds! Looks just great!

I am not a big fan of Nutella in all honesty I may neve rhave tried it, but my grandkids love it so I have bookmarked this to make when we live close to them, why store bought when I can make it for them :)

Thanks for being an Active member of SteemUSA !TIP

Okay... this I really have to try out! I'm going to give it a shot this week... I'm pretty excited about it!

That looks like a far healthier substitute for what is found on the shelf! I have a son who really likes it. I'll need to give this a try.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Ohhhh. best recipe ever:) I will try to make it for sure:)

Oh my gosh, that’s brilliant. I will have to try it. I bet hard of that would make really nice Christmas presents.

I know my son used to eat it every single day but stopped with it because of the amount of sugar it contains :)

I get it now. There’s nearly as much Nutella on the shelves at any of the markets as there is tea here—true story. Next time we’re in one (we were just there today), I’ll snap a picture for you.

You know every one of your images is could make the cover, right?

Amazing! I love nutella so much. I remember eating it a lot as a kid. Thank you for the recipe!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.21
ETH 3073.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88