Tuesday Treats | Special delivery! Chocolate Chip Sun Butter Cookies

DSC_0017 (2).jpg

You’ve made it through Monday my friends so how about a Tuesday treat?


This weekend we spent time helping one of our neighbors who recently had surgery. I thought it would be nice to share a sweet treat while we worked. It was kind of a last minute call and I didn’t have time to visit the market. I had only a few minutes to see what I had on hand and whip up something sweet!


A few months ago...


I shared grain free peanut butter cookies with you. They were quite a hit around the Bird nest but today I wanted to try something with chocolate chips. Since I knew Almond Butter and Peanut Butter would work I thought I would give Sun Butter a whirl. For those of you who haven’t used Sun Butter, it’s a wonderful butter made from Sunflower Seeds. Like Almond Butter, Sun Butter is high in protein and healthy fats. I like it because it has a mild taste which won’t compete with the chocolate! If you have peanut allergies, this is a great alternative!


The best part? You need only 5 ingredients!


  • Coconut Palm Sugar (2/3 cup)
  • Fresh Egg or Chia Egg (qty 1)
  • Vanilla (1 tsp)
  • Sun Butter (1 cup)
  • Dairy Free Chocolate Chips (1/4 cup)
    Recipe makes 1 dozen cookies

Mix it well…


yep, everything except the chips. So simple! I added vanilla to give a bit more flavor but if you don’t have any on hand they’ll still taste great!
DSC_0003 (2).jpg

Gently fold in the chips!


DSC_0005 (2z).jpg

The dough was pretty sticky…


and I was running out of time! I suggest using damp fingers to roll the dough into golf ball size balls. Place them on a parchment lined baking sheet and flatten them with a spoon or your fingers.

DSC_0011 (2).jpg


Into the oven for 12 minutes at 350 degrees and then allow them to cool on the baking sheet for at least 20 minutes. I know, I know who wants to wait!! Because they’re grain free you really have to let them cool. They’ll firm up nicely. This was where I made my mistake…I didn’t have that extra 20 minutes! I had to come back to the house to get the cookies, ugh.


Ready for Delivery! A welcome reward after a hard afternoon!


DSC_0024 (2).jpg

How about that…


only 5 ingredients to make a cookie! Oh and btw I realized I had used the “crunchy” version of Sun Butter, WOW! This adds another dimension to the cookie that sends it over the top! I think you’ll love them. Feel free to try Peanut Butter or Almond Butter if you wish, they both work well. I would love to hear what you think! Good to see you today!

And as always, blessings to you all!

loveyourself.jpg

PHC-Footer-05.gif


steemusa1.png


The STEEM Engine


Sort:  

I love almond butter so I’m sure I’ll love sun butter! Thanks for introducing me to it! I love that you only need 5 ingredients for these!!! They look really tasty too!!

Sun Butter is so versatile like almond butter because you can incorporate different flavors with it. Your family would love them!! If you can find crunchy variety try it...woo it was so good :) Thanks @crosheille

That’s so great to know! Thanks again for the information :)

You truly have some of the best recipes that you seemingly throw together on the fly!!!

I wish I could cook like that!

Upped and Steemed

!tip

You are kind, but I just don't share all of my failures, lol I am positive you are a wonderful cook! I would love to see your favorites :) I hope you try these and let me know what you think! :) Thanks for the Resteem and tip my friend!

Yet another creative dish I have never tried sun Butter, but it looks like it worked so well in these

Thanks for being an Active member of SteemUSA !tip

I bought Sun Butter for my husband a few years ago because he wasn't able to eat peanut butter at the time. He liked it so I have since tried to incorporate it into other recipes that usually call for peanut butter. I'm glad you enjoyed it @tattoodjay! (Its good on a sandwich too ;) )

I am intrigued to try it but that said we seldom use butter these days come to think of it

Chocolate chip cookies, huh? Hold on a second.

You didn't see the chips????Now I know these little goodies would be something you two would LOVE! Sun Butter, yum!!! :)

That looks soo delicious, I think ill make one in the future, it's so cool that you only used 5 ingredients but my problem is that we dont have sun butter here. THanks for sharing us this wonderful recipe!

I know, simple huh? I'm sorry you don't have sun butter, but you could use peanut or almond butter! Glad you enjoyed these little treats! :)

Congratulations! This post has been chosen as one of the daily Whistle Stops for The STEEM Engine!

You can see your post's place along the track here: The Daily Whistle Stops, Issue 476

Thank you @thesteemengine! So appreciate your support :)

What a thoughtful neighbour you are my friend, these look scrumptious! And the added bonus that it's a healthy treat, you really work magic in that kitchen!

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you @lizelle. We were so glad to help them. The husband had his hip re placed and they needed help laying rugs and moving furniture. Glad to help, I know you would and do do the same :)

You're so right we need to lend a helping hand where we can, imagine what a better world it would be if we all got proactive and not just be spectators:) Have a lovely weekend my friend @birdsinparadise.

Thanks @doitvoluntarily! I must say they were good, at least they didn't last very long, lol Thanks for stopping by :)

they wouldn't last very long here either lol

Yes please. I was just thinking about getting some more sun butter during my last grocery store excursion. Definitely on the list for next time! 🤤

Posted using Partiko Android

I really enjoy Sun Butter Katie. Next I'll be trying Walnut butter, I know you said it is good but I haven't tried making it yet :) You'll have to try these, they are delightful! Oh but do try to get the crunchy!!!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.

Thanks for the curation @vibesforlife! Truly appreciated :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61482.47
ETH 2990.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67