A Good Kind of Karma

6lc6jptfew.jpg

About 30 years ago my husband (back then, not now) bought me a Mother's ring for Christmas. It is black hills gold with a garnet for my January son Ryan, an amethyst for my Febuary son Josh, and a peridot for my birthday in August. Not the most expensive piece of jewelry in history, granted, but very special to me.

A couple of weeks ago I lost it. It was a very cold winter day and I was wearing it, as I almost always do. Frantic searches in various locations failed to turn up the missing ring. I assumed it must have slipped off my cold hand, maybe when taking off gloves or a similar action.

I was pretty heartbroken about it. Both my boys, who were 5 and 7 at that time, had helped to pick it out. I still remember their faces that Christmas when I opened their gift.

Last Friday I was working my regular Friday shift as a volunteer at the Habitat for Humanity Resale Shop. I work at the front counter assisting customers and running the cash register. We go through a lot of plastic sacks for bagging up purchases and since this is a strictly not for profit thing, every cent helps. Most of us volunteers save all of our sacks and bring them in for use at the store.

eq93jlf9zi.jpg

I had brought this full bag of sacks from home and was spending the time in between customers to take out each bag, inspect it for any tears or holes, then fold it neatly for storage.

ybh8kz6rko.jpg

I was about three quarters of the way through the bag of sacks that I had brought. When I laid this sack on the counter to smooth it out for folding I felt a hard lump in the bottom.

6csii7yjj5.jpg

It was my Mother's ring! I had been to the grocery store that very cold day, and I assume the ring had slid off my finger into the sack.

So that is my Good Karma story! If I hadn't been saving the sacks for Habitat the ring would have ended up in recycling. If I hadn't taken it with me that day and folded each of the sacks myself, I wouldn't have found it.

I don't know about you, but I feel like my good deed of volunteering was paid back!

c8849k5ovd.jpg

blueeyes8960.gif


[credit@EdibleCthulhu]


99pyU5Ga1kwqSXWA2evTexn6YzPHotJF8R85JZsErvtTWYov37C6BjUdaTZT29DGryrTpwwdpqCgirPemMU3z3txPKvruXNYFGvejqt3VogK8zZfNHzdqCvnNPsC5V9vS9.gif

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Wow, what a wonderful story. I'm glad you found the ring.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28