A Crypto Update. Positive news at last.

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)



It’s been a while. In fact, it has been over eight months since I last had any activity in crypto logistics outside of steemit. From that point of view I was a little tentative about re-engaging in the system but I made a decision a while ago to add more steem and I was determined to do it. Through all my fears and worries I have actually come out the other side positive and hopeful. So here is the story of what happened and why I’m feeling, dare I say it, a little bullish!

It has never been a better time to buy some steem! That’s what lots of people have been telling me and I am tending to agree with them. I am eleven months into my steemit life and, for someone who never usually put pen to paper, I feel I have had relative success. Things seemed to have settled nicely and I am still enjoying the experience. Being part of a few communities helps, the main one being Power House Creatives. This gives me a place to start my day almost every day and I like the people and the routine.

So! Things are good and the price of steem seems like great value. Time to dig out all those usernames and passwords so that I can embark on what, up until now, I considered a war of attrition. A while back I wrote a post on my experiences on entry into the crypto world. You can read it here. The Diary of a Crypto Novice

I currently live in Romania which presents certain problems when opening accounts in crypto. Nobody seems to like the fact that I am from the UK but I am based in eastern europe. He must be laundering or doing something dodgy! Well no! I teach English and unless you think that’s dodgy then let me get on with it! An issue that has been created from this is that my 2 step verification is on a UK sim card and not on my Romanian one, so I now have two phones for varying reasons. Any time we make a monetary transaction in a new place in Romania our card gets blocked and we have to call the UK to unblock it. We ask them ever so nicely to stop blocking Romanian transactions but the next time we make a transaction it happens again. None of this is directly cryptos fault but and indication of the hoops that you have to jump through.

Command central at the ready. I have phone number one and phone number two, my iPad, the PC and about three million bits of paper with tiny scribblings all over them. Finally ready. First things first, I want to avoid fees as much as possible. I can use a UK credit card but Coinbase will instantly take 4% off of me. Not doing that! I need to shift some money out of the UK account and transfer it to Euros. Bitcoin can be purchased in euros but not English pounds (or so I thought).

I opened my Revolut app; Revolut is an online banking app, on my old phone and it’s acting like I have just opened it for the first time. I put in the email and phone number and my details were not there. I called their customer support and got through to an operator surprisingly quick. I was a bit apprehensive because my previous dealings with Revolut support were less than stellar. She took some details off of me and within 20 minutes, had sorted it.

Improvement in crypto number 1: Revolut customer service was fast and efficient.

The next step was to top up Revolut with GBP. I set the transaction up and guess what happened? My Uk bank blocked the transaction! Surprise surprise. To be fair we made a quick phone call and they released the funds. It showed up on Revolut almost instantly. So far so good. Now I needed to log into Coinbase for the first time in donkeys years! Oh cripes! Heeeeere we go!

I sifted through my virtual rolodex of usernames, emails and passwords trying to get to the information I needed. I had visions of the Matrix with the characters streaming down the screen in indecipherable code. I finally found it and attempted to log in. Now the two step verification was needed so I grabbed my old phone. A message came up to say I’m logging in from a IP that has not been used before, which is not true but anyhow. I needed to log into one of my email accounts to verify the log in, verify once more and then start the process all over again. After all that I was actually logged in!! Wow.



Src Pixabay

Now for the first real revelation of this process. You can now buy Bitcoin on Coinbase with GBP! For anyone in the UK this is a huge step forward for Brits trying to get into crypto. Up until now we had to use a credit card and let Coinbase take 4% off of you or if you wanted to avoid the fees, convert your GBP into Euros (for an exchange fee) and then use a bank transfer which took a couple of working days to complete.

Improvement in crypto number 2: Buying Bitcoin with GBP

The only drawback for me at this stage was that I had already transferred my money to Revolut so I could end up waiting a couple of days for the transfer to Coinbase anyway. Oh well, lets see what happens. At least I didn’t have to convert into euros which was a positive. I looked up the transfer details on Coinbase; noticing that they now had a UK banking address. I filled out the form with the relevant details and sat back expecting to wait a couple of days. After all, I was doing this on a Sunday.

I had a message from Revolut letting me know that they had submitted my transaction. OK! That’s quick. Maybe I won't be waiting so long after all. The next message said ‘processing’ and the third message, said ‘transaction executed’, all within half an hour of submission. The money arrived at Coinbase within 3 hours. Wow! What a difference. Go back to eight months ago and it would have taken three days not three hours.

Improvement in crypto number 3: Bank transaction times drastically reduced.

One of the things about this process is that I am always trying to avoid fees as much as possible. If I was feeling lazy or the fees didn’t matter to me then I could have used a credit card and taken a 4% hit on the money I had transfered, plus the purchase of Bitcoin will be a lot more expensive because I would be using Coinbase and theyl charge a fee for the purchase and take a cut in the actual exchange of fiat to crypto. Your original cash would be substantially depleted at this point. Gdax is the other option. It is professional broker owned by Coinbase and is far more cost effective at the purchasing of your crypto. Which is all well and good but it’s not called Gdax any more! WHAT! It is now known as Coinbase Pro.

All of my money was sat in my Coinbase account, still intact with no charges or fees so far. I needed to move it across to Coinbase Pro. This has always been a fairly easy step in the whole process. Your Coinbase account details are the same as the Pro details. It even logs in automatically if your coinbase account is open, which is handy. Transfering between the two sites is easy, quick and, most importantly, free. You click on deposit within your Pro account and it gives you the usual crypto type address. Copy and paste it over to the Coinbase account, hit send and Bob’s your uncle!



Src Pixabay

Now to buy some lovely Bitcoin. This is always the exciting bit, for me. There is something rather majestic with BTC; it is the crypto daddy after all, and I enjoy dealing with it. So with my entire purchase amount still intact, I go to the BTC - GBP page. Another thing that hasn’t changed about this process is saving fees by using a ‘limit’ order. Using a limit order means that you have to set the price and the amount ahead of time and hope that the overall price hits your request. If it does then you don’t get hit with any fees other than the exchange difference that Coinbase will take. Boom! Done.

The next stage on my journey to buy some steem is to move my purchased BTC to an exchange. The exchange of choice is Bittrex and I needed to transfer my newly purchased BTC over to this site to buy the steem that I require. The process is the same as before, go to your Bittrex wallet for BTC, click on deposit, copy and paste the address over to my Coinbase Pro BTC wallet and hit send. This is a nervous time waiting for something to happen. You check and double check the address to make sure there are no mistakes. The first time I did this (late 2017) i was actually sweating and trying to find excuses not to hit the button. Oh how times have changed! 😁

Now for the fourth improvement in crypto. One of the first times I tried to move some of my Bitcoin; i think it was December 2017, BTC was valued at around 19,000 dollars. For security reasons, I wanted to move my BTC to a different wallet and off of Coinbase. When I was preparing to hit send and make the move I noticed the fee for moving it. 23 dollars! What! I thought the point of crypto was to move it quickly and cheaply. The miners fees were ridiculous at this point and it was inhibiting for any sort of transaction. I had heard that things have improved so I was interested to see what fee I would get charged for moving it across to Bittrex. $0.04! Better!

Improvement to crypto number 4: BTC fees are now negligible, as they should be.

That put a big smile on my face. I hit send and waited for the next Block to move my funds. I admittedly hit refresh quite a lot until I could see a pending transaction show up. It did, and it only took about 20 minutes.

The Bittrex UI is quite nice to use. They had updated it just before my last transaction eight months ago so I had a first hand look at how it was going to work. You find the pair of cryptocurrencies that you wish to trade with and then, like Coinbase Pro, you set your limit order to avoid extra charges. I was feeling like a pro at this point. Everything was going swimmingly so I was in the mood to haggle. I set my initial limit order based on the current price and waited. There was lots of jostling for position, people jumping .0000001 up on the BTC price of the next person and so on. Eventually my order started to come in but I had a feeling that It was going to get cheaper so I cancelled my current order and waited some more. I was wrong! It went the other way, so I had a decision to make. Bite the bullet or hang in there with the big boys and see if it came back down. It did and I made a little bit more than I would of in the previous order. Feeling even more like a pro. LOL. I probably made myself $0.05! 😁



So I now own a bunch of steem at, in my opinion, a massively undervalued price. I now need to get it over to my steemit account and power it up ready to upvote all you lovely people. OK, where are the guidelines for moving steem from Bittrex? I seem to remember them changing a little while back. I searched for ages and I couldn’t find anything that definitively said you must do it like this! I even asked on the PHC general forum. Nada!

From memory, I seemed to remember not needing the memo anymore. That latest tutorial I could find was a few months old and looked a little different. So I literally put the max total in and added my steemit username to the address box. That’s got to be it, right? Right? Tumbleweed! I guess I’m on my own here. I am now just sat there absolutely bricking it thinking that all my hard work was just about to be blown into the ether by the ‘evacuate and panic’ button, otherwise known as send. I couldn’t do it. I was chatting to a couple of PHC members @wales and @mattifer at the time so I put the ball in there court! “Shall I hit the send button”? @mattifer said ‘go for it’, so without thinking any more, I did. Gulp!

I was half expecting alarm bells to ring out, a few pipes to spew out some gas and a humanoid voice shouting out warning, warning over a tannoy! But nothing happened. But the other problem was, NOTHING HAPPENED!. No confirmation, no pending etc. I’m starting to get my sweat on, starting to think about how to tell the wife, whom I’ve been trying to convince to let me do this for a couple of months, starting to think about who to blame! @mattifer! It was all her fault. She made me do it!

About 15 minutes later; mid nervous breakdown, it arrived. Pheeeeew! Quick and simple really. I would of liked some guidelines or a tutorial to have made it a little more stress free though. The fee for moving it from Bittrex was small and acceptable. I powered up and started to breathe normally again.

The whole process from transferring GBP from a UK bank all the way through to powering up took less than 4 hours as opposed to taking two to three working days. I think some of the reason that I found the experience easier was because I had been through it a few times now and I just trusted it a little more. That didn’t stop the stress at certain points though. It has to be said that a number of things have greatly improved in this whole process and that is a good sign for crypto in general.

The four main improvements that I have listed are:

  1. Revolut customer service was quick, efficient and friendly. Im making a slight assumption here but I think that/hope that this is a general trend for the industry. For mainstream adoption people need to feel safe, secure and looked after. My experience with online only banking was not a good one up until now. Please continue this trend.

  2. Another Fiat currency that you can directly buy Bitcoin with. Ie British pounds. I know GBP only helps us Brits out but its a move in the right direction.

  3. Bank transfer times have been smashed! Literally from two to three days to a couple of hours. They were always able to do this but not willing. Maybe this is the start of something very positive between the traditional banking system and crypto. (pig’s might fly!)

  4. Bitcoin mining fees are now under control and are negligible. The crypto daddy leads the way for all others, even steem. If Bitcoin was broken we were all doomed. Thankfully, we are back on track.

Compare this to one of my first posts on steemit and you can see that we have come a long way in a relatively short space of time. It’s called Bitcoin ready for mainstream? Not a chance. Here is the link if you would like to read it. link

I’m satisfied with my purchase of steem and I may consider adding some more in the future. I enjoy the steemit experience more now than ever before. Being a part of something like the Power House Creatives community makes day to day on steemit fun and gives me a routine on steemit that I like. I would recommend finding a community that relates to your interests to anyone on steemit, especially the newer members who are struggling to get their work some exposure.

I am confident in the future of crypto in the long term. I know the dollar value is not where we want it to be right now but think about it in terms of industry improvement. What I have just experienced is a tiny piece of the overall improvement being made to the crypto space and that improvement, in my opinion, has very little connection with the dollar value at the moment. The spike that we experienced in late 2017 was a fad. A mainstream FOMO that was always going to end with panic and sell off. Bitcoin and the whole of the space wasn’t ready and still isn’t ready for mainstream adoption. What we need is small steady improvement over the long haul with adoption to match that improvement. If it’s stable and gradual they will come!

Header Src

Thanks for reading and keep on steeming!

Gaz

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

The last year has certainly seen an improvement in speed of transactions even with traditional banking! You may also like to know that Coinbase has a "withdraw to PayPal" option so any crypto you have in there can be sent to PayPal, which is great! I haven't tried that yet as I was one of the mugs who got in between Dec 2017 - Mar 2018 ATH so I'm just trying to earn what I can now rather than buy any more crypto. Stuff is dangerous haha

Great write-up mate!

what a mug! well it's worse than that isn't it? I think for you it's a rube mug! But anyway, what is the advantage of putting your crypto in paypal. That's my redneck question of the day.

Speaking of mugs, rubes and plebs... Hey Lord Janton!

PayPal is a more widely accepted payment mechanism than 99% of crypto at the moment. Plus the average pleb won't want to go through the process of having to figure out exchanges, wallets and all the other technical terminology. So by having a single click button to withdraw to PayPal, it could be beneficial in getting the masses involved.

Posted using Partiko Android

haha! Howdy sir nickyhavey! thanks for the explanation, but are we talking about currency being withdrawn to PayPal or crypto?

Hey Lord Janton! Up late today? You wielding cans of Lone Star beer in your lawn mower shouting "Yehaawww" again? 🙂

I am talking about any crypto (BTC, LTC, ETH) you have in Coinbase that can now be withdraw and sent to PayPal. Coinbase, as far as I know do all the exchanging for you.

Posted using Partiko Android

haha! Howdy this fine Friday sir nickyhavey! Well sir, if you're talking about tansferring crypto then I still don't get it that clearly. It's a redneck thing. If it's crypto and in Coinbase why not just send it or trade it or whatever on Coinbase? But then I know they has some stupid 13 day waiting period on Coinbase which sounds insane to me, is that why?
I always stay up to 2:00am or 2:30, that seems to be my natural bedtime, not sure why.

I only beat you by a few days then @nickyhavey.

My father and I were actively discussing it from the September 2017 and finally made the purchase in late November. A difference of 9000 to 15000 bucks per BTC. Ah well we fomo'd but you live and learn. I think the important thing is that it has started us on this path and also led me to Steem.

Yea FOMO is a bastard haha! But if I didn't take the plunge, I wouldn't have found out about steem, we wouldn't have met and we wouldn't be setting up the best quiz the blockchain has seen so there's that 😉

Posted using Partiko Android

lol 😂

Exactabloodymundo!!

During the FOMO of late 2017, I was convinced that I had gotten into crypto too late. This slow reasonable march toward early majority adoption is alright by me

Trying to get 1000 of each little coin, a couple of the bigger ones, and as much steem as I can manage.

Wish I had the FIAT to invest!

Agreed @zekepickleman

Slow and steady is stable not fad! Let's stick together for the long haul.

Hi,
I always make my transactions to or from my Steemit account with block trades.us, very easy fast and cheap. A Steemit guy is running the exchange on Cayman islands. 💝
I use litecoin to change fiat and send to blocktrades because of the very low fees for litecoin.
Blocktrades change them automatically in Steem and send it to my Steemit account, no other exchange necessary.
Have a great day.
Tom

Posted using Partiko Android

Hey Tom. I hope you are well.

I know next to nothing about Blocktrades. I will have to check it out.

Cheers, Gaz

My experience with Coinbase was bad, there were some problems with the bank document since my bank can't give me any documents in English. Ridiculous, right? But the problem was I couldn't find real support on CB, only an automated loop that went nowhere. I sent e-mails and was redirected to FAQ and automated stuff again and again. Nope, not happy with your "support".

I found a way to send to my bank with Bittrex who did write to me in person and accepted my documents after I translated them line by line to a real person and advised them to make a google translate check if they needed. So I hope it remains working when I decide to use my crypto. Which is not soon, I guess.

Hey @monoldonchev

The poor reputation of Coinbase precedes them. I think they are improving, slowly. For instance they have a UK bank account option instead of just Estonia. That seems to be helping. That may not help your situation though unless the trend is to have accounts regionally.

The banks themselves were being pig headed and very stubborn but; not too dissimilar to science and religion, I think they realise that they can coexist and benefit from one another. Not allowing you to have documents in English is just mean but, at the same time Coinbase not allowing your documents in you native language is also a little backwards.

I also found the Bittrex sign up quite intuitive and helpful. Instant photo upload etc Hopefully everyone follows suit and makes it more accessible.

Thanks for reading and commenting on my post.

Gaz

Great write up- very comprehensive!

Positive is always a good thing :)

#powerhousecreatives

Thanks for checking out my post @arbitrarykitten

It did feel more of a positive experience this time. This must bode well for all of us involved. We are the people who are interested in this regardless but the general public will need a lot more in the way of safety, security and most of all, ease of use.

Cheers, Gaz

I love your story @cheese4ead. I especially like how you've shown the growth in crypto exchange and your sense of humor :) Onward we go!

Hey @lizablove

Thanks for your kind words. It did go on longer than I initially thought but I tried to make it light hearted. I can be a bit heavy and that's half the problem when it comes to the mainstream.

Cheers, Gaz

If you are interested, I use Bitstamp (no fee for withdrawal in BTC, only the trading fee). I can't remember if they had a UK fiat bridge. Anyway, here are a couple of other options with referral links, feel free to strip the referral if you want.

You might also want to try out Binance.JE: https://www.binance.je/?ref=35020826
Binance just opened it up as a fiat gateway in Europe.

I find that Binance (https://www.binance.com/?ref=18699956) to be a handier place to do the altcoin business.

... but glad that you got interested again in the non-STEEM cryptosphere again!

With Lightning, BTC has a good chance of getting the mining fees completely under control for good.....

Nice one @bengy

Thanks for checking out my post.

I already have a Binance account and, if truth be told, I sent my BTC to Bittrex without thinking and should have gone to Binance as I hear it's a slightly better deal. Back in the day I was considering investing in some Binance coin but I never got around to it.

Tell me more about Bitstamp? Is it a regular exchange?

Bitstamp is one of the oldest exchanges around! Although, I will have to check against Binance Jersey to see what is the better route these days... On the other, if the difference is only a handful of cents... Then it doesn't matter (unless you are moving millions!). Based in Luxemburg I think, they have an order type that I wish other exchanges would adopt. Trailing stop order, it follows the price of the asset at a set distance. So if you placed an order at 100 and the market price was 90...later if the price dropped to 50, your buy order would execute at 60. If course, you lose a bit of the price goes the other way! But in the bear market, it was pretty handy!

If you do end up using Binance, use Bnb to pay the fees. We'll, it used to be good idea maybe now it is a risk with rising prices. You get a discount on the trading fee and it stops you buying coins with fractional values that can only be move off exchange with integer value.

Yeah, that's why I was thinking of getting Bnb. I looked like a great idea. I hate the little left overs in your wallet. I have some in nearly every exchange wallet that I have. Annoying!

I like the sound of the trailing stop order. You can kind of take a punt at a bargain price and leave it to do its thing.

Binance (and others, I'm not sure) offers you the option to dust up all the little bits and convert to BNB. It's a handy feature!

Yikes. That sounds like a lot of hoops to jump through to do a transaction. We really need to reform the world's financial system. Too many want too much control over us.

Proud member of #powerhousecreatives

I hear that @toddrjohnson

Too much power to the few. I think that power is controlling/manipulating the crypto price too, sadly. They are certainly spreading fear and doubt. The ironic thing is that it is their own fear and doubt!

I agree about the hoops. Buying crypto from the UK is either expensive or a pain in the butt and the first time I did it, it was bloody terrifying. It needs to keep improving constantly and consistently to attract the numbers we need.

Cheers, Gaz

Congratulations @cheese4ead! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 36000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 37000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness and get one more award and increased upvotes!

I strongly believe in crypto and will keep on holding for the long run. I had a taste of that spike in 2017. A lot of projects and partnerships for some coins but not much change in the prices. It would probably take years for us to see any significant change. Well I wouldn't mind to see that spike again hopefully.

Another spike would be wonderful @watersnake101

Maybe one day it will happen! I'll settle for a steady increase over time. If the whole industry rises as one then stability will be there which, in turn, will breed confidence.

HODL dude HODL!!! 😂

Gaz

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87