PowerHouseCreatives Contest - Love Your Steem Communities - SoCal Steemit

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

socalbadgelogo.png

This is my entry for the Love Your Steem Communities Contest for the #powerhousecreatives community!

For this contest @zord189 asked us to introduce and talk about another Steem community, other than the PHC, that has also contributed and impacted lives on the Steem blockchain. So today I am going to tell you about a local Steem community that I run, the Southern California Steem community @SoCalSteemit!

Brief History -

Back in December of 2017 I met up at a restaurant with a couple Steemians and we started talking about starting a Steem community for Southern California. We saw them forming elsewhere and figured why not start one here. We opened the @socalsteemit account and started a Discord server for the community. Then we started finding people to join. Looking for both people already on Steemit and those not yet on Steemit. And we started planning meetups! During that time we found @mariannewest who had also been trying to start a Steem community and schedule meetups in San Diego, CA. She joined the group and became my partner in running it! With the support of Marianne, our community leaders @csusbgeochem1 and @alaqrab, some of our long time dedicated members like @mattlovell, @creationofcare, @kunschj, @steemseph, and a few others, as well as support from other great communities like @qurator and @canna-curate, we have continued to grow and improve!!

IMG_6763.JPG

Our first official meetup


Importance of Community -

Once I found Steem I was trying to get everyone I know to join and it was quite frustrating to see most of them all give up after only a few posts because they put a bunch of effort into an awesome post and only made .05 or less. Having a Steem community where you can immediately find support and make connections and friendships can make all the difference in a new users Steem experience. I saw first hand how important finding great communities like the @steemitbloggers was. People I knew that didn't join a community lost interest, got dishearten and disappeared from the platform. While I continued to blog and make new friends within these communities and receive lots of support from them. Now by creating SoCal Steemit I have made it possible for me to onboard a brand new user here in SoCal and have them able to get immediate support and interaction from our community. And what a better way to start than by making new friends!!

Group photo at a meetup in Old Town San Diego (Photo by @csusbgeochem1)
@dawg-boy, @madpotters, @nutinbutdatruth, and @matlovell chatting after the meetup
(Photo by @creationofcare)
@beckymeep and @csusbgeochem1 grilling at Whittier Narrows
@agirlis, @creationofcare, @mattlovell, and @mikesthoughts chatting at the meetup
@zingali, @jnetsworld, @wfmkay, and @kunschj at a meetup in Eagle Rock, CA
(Photo edited by @jnetsworld)
Having fun at the "Thanksgaming" meetup hosted by @improv and @stinawog

About Us -

SoCal Steemit is dedicated to building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. Our members use #socalsteemit on their posts so that we, as well as fellow members, can easily find and support those posts. In addition to supporting our members with upvotes, SoCal Steemit chooses one member each week to be our "SoCal Steemian of the week". We run a weekly "SoCal Spotlight" curation post which features 5 of the posts using the #socalsteemit tag. We are running 2 weekly contests. The "Show Us Your California" contest, and the "Mystery Photo Fridays" contest where members can win SBI! We are having weekly voice chats every tuesday at 8pm PST on our Discord server, and are scheduling monthly in person meetups all over Southern California! We also have a facebook group and a meetup.com group and we have plans to keep doing even more fun stuff to keep building and supporting this awesome Steem community!

Showing off our banner at Comic Con in San Diego
The cool stickers that we give away at every meetup (Photo by @eyedreemit)

Most Recent Meetups -

In our more recent meetups we were invited by @steemseph to watch him and his band @steelparade perform at Taco Surf in Surfside, CA which you can read about here, we were invited to the home of @improv and @stinawog to play games for "Thanksgaming" which you can read about here, we met up and had a bunch of fun going bowling at the Brunswick Lanes in Norco, CA which you can read about here, and most recently we were invited by @melbookermusic to come see his band Mel Booker and King play at the Maui Sugar Mill Saloon in Tarzana, CA which you can read about here, here, here, here, here, and here!

b1whrwd18b.jpg
Mel Booker and King
(Photo by @kunschj)

And that's my entry for the Love Your Steem Communities Contest by @zord189!

If you have any questions or are interested in joining SoCal Steemit tell me in the comments below or contact me on our Discord server.

If you would like to support our community consider joining the SoCalSteemit curation trail or giving a delegation

5SP
10SP
20SP
50SP
100SP
200SP
500SP
1000SP

Thanks for reading!!

all photos by @derekrichardson except where otherwise noted

CMA banner3.jpg

https://www.californiamountainadventure.com
Contact me on Discord

mountaindivider.jpg

#SoCalSteemit is building and supporting the Steemit community of Southern California. If you are from SoCal and are into creating quality content here on Steemit, we'd love for you to follow us @SoCalSteemit and join our group on Discord

SoCal divider.jpg

PHC-Footer-05.gif
Animation By @zord189

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Dividerbar.jpg

WorldMap banner.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

canna-curate-banner1a.jpg

Dividerbar.jpg

DQmXa3zVXJVYtacu5692MePMJTj35yZX7LKub8WUR4c91Mt.png

Dividerbar.jpg

Gifbanner.gif

Sort:  

An awesome selection of real life community meet ups, obviously this is a really active selection of the Steem Blockchain and I see lot’s of familiar names in your comments.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I've seen @socalsteemit since its birth and I can say that you've done an excellent job @dererichardson along with your teammates! Keep it up

Thanks uncle Zord!

You guys where the first group we teamed up with, much love for what you got going on! I honestly think when it comes to Steem meetups, your group sets the bar. Thanks for the support you gave us as well, after all we are all in this together.

Great to see! Love to join sometime! Let me know if I may be of assistance.

Thanks @virtualgrowth! I'd love for you to join us! I would definitely welcome any assistance. I'm derekrichardson#5459 on discord if you would like to message me directly.

Yes!! SoCAlSteemit!!! You forgot to talk about all the great food we have been eating - mostly cooked by you LOL

Once the weather warms up we'll have to do another picnic somewhere!

socal steemit has been a great way to make real connections with people here on steemit! It's really great to be a part of it. Woo hoo!

A great community that I am proud to be a part of! Go @socalsteemit!

LOVE how our SoCal community has all the gatherings and get-togethers!

I have yet to meet another steemian, probably because I am such a homebody.

I am the same, I was nervous about my first meet up but I went and had a blast try one of the upcoming events. Everyone is kind and welcoming. Hope to see you at one of the events.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great post @derekrichardson. I just share2steem'ed it on twitter.

Please get a twitter account for @socalsteemit and I will help you. I saw you (and others) asking about share2steem and I will soon do a post explaining it. It is def worth the time and effort - especially with our twitter push these days.

If you have personal twitter - that would be good too. You need separate email addresses.

Awesome! Thanks @fitinfun. I'll get us a Twitter account setup today. I'll share it with you on discord once I get it made.

Great! My share2steem post will be done in the next day or two. The dapp has got some quirks, but it is a great way to get a quick post out that gets attention in a lot of ways. I just got it going about one month ago, and now I do a post with it almost every day.

Went to my very first meet up last week. Had a blast watching @melbookermusic Never had been to a Steem meet up. Look forward to more SoCalSteemIt events.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61830.08
ETH 2986.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73