Building up a head of Steem - SPUD4

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)


It's SPUD!

No, I'm not talking food, let alone potatoes.

Today is Steem Power Up Day.

In the just over two years I have been on Steemit, I have only ever reinvested the Steem Based Dollars I have earned, buying Steem. Today, my 5.30 SBD converted to 20.227 STEEM.


In addition to that, I have only ever powered up any liquid Steem. Today, it was (for me) quite a substantial amount

Although Steem is not as strong as it was, it is still at a level that it is not really affordable in the South African Rand (1SBD : ZAR14.05 source). My investment is instead, posting what I hope is mostly quality content, on the blockchain, and choosing to use my allocation of resource credits to support fellow Steemians.

I would, at some point, be more than happy to see some liquid return on that investment. I started blogging with three goals: sharing recipes, cultivating a different voice (for years, my writing had been largely very formal, almost academic and businesslike), and earning. Fun though it was is, in more than five years, I didn't earn a bean from blogging. Until I arrived on Steemit. Although I've never powered down, and although Steem tanked along with Bitcoin, et al, not long after I joined, I have become one of those who -

came for the money and stayed for the community

AND

now have a long term view that Steem (and other alternative crypto currencies) will strengthen again.

That said, my website is paid for in Steem or SBD and I have a Wordpress blog which is effectivly costing me nothing. My .com blogging site had been costing me nearly ZAR1,400 a year and was going to go up. Not only is WordPress my chosen blog platform, it is the main interface from which I post to Steem. This means that while I may not be earning fiat from my investment, I am both benefiting from, and constructively using, my time to build that investment - doing something I enjoy. Seems to me, if I take a long term view, it's a win-win.

For those for whom this is a foreign language (I confess that much of this is still gobbledeygook to me), here are the principles for building a head of Steem, as I understand them. It is Steem which gives one currency - in every sense of the word - on the blockchain:

  1. create content (posts) and/or you curate by voting and commenting on posts:
  2. these transactions come at a cost and with a return, and
  3. in so doing one earns and is rewarded in different proportions in three ways, with
    • Steem tokens
    • Steem Based Dollars (SBD) - these two can be used to buy Steem Power (power up) and can also be traded for other crypto currencies or fiat.
    • Steem Power

However

Investing in Steem by powering up Steem to Steem Power or using SBD to buy it, is not just buying a share, but is how one literally works one's way up the ranks on the blockchain:

STEEM Power

Rank

0 - 499

Red fish
500 - 4,999
Minnow
5,000 - 49,999
Dolphin
50,000 - 499,999
Orca
500,000+
Whale
With thanks to Steempal @nickyhavey for providing me with this breakdown.
The more Steem one has, the greater the value of one's votes for others, and to add to the complication, one is also rewarded for voting, sharing (re-steeming) posts on the blockchain and by commenting on other people's posts.

It really is a social blockchain, and where cooperation and collegiality should be the order of the day. It isn't always. More of that, another time, perhaps.

As well as buying Steem, today, I also powered up what little "liquid" Steem I'd been squirrelling away since I heard about SPUD4, in the hopes that by 1 August, I'd have reached a head of 1,000 Steem.


Alas, not quite, and a little of my Steem is delegated (lent) to @PHCtop3 a fun project on the blockchain, and which is responsible for inspring some of my more lighthearted eclectic posts:


I have an awful long way to go to reach dolphin status, let alone whale or orca, but given that I'm in for the long haul and there are folk like this encouraging rank amatuers (you see what I did?) and little fish like me, to buy in, every little helps. I'm not likely to feature anywhere in his incentive programme, but I share it to encourage folk to look out for SPUD5 which, I have no doubt, will be a thing.

Alternatively, if you read this, and haven't powered up, and it's still 1 August in your part of the world, why not join in?

SPUD4 PRIZES & HOW TO WIN

Prizes:

1st Place

  • 2500 Steem Power Delegation for 4 Weeks - sponsored by @xpilar
  • 1000 Steem Power Delegation for 4 Weeks - sponsored by @sultan-aceh
  • 20 SBI shares, "The Gift that keeps on Giving" - sponsored by @jlsplatts
*If the 1st Place Winner is from Aceh, Indonesia
  • +1000 Steem Power Delegation for 4 Weeks - sponsored by @sultan-aceh
2nd Place *if no 1st Place winner from Aceh, Indonesia
  • +1000 Steem Power Delegation for 4 Weeks - sponsor @sultan-aceh
3rd Place 4th Place
  • 250 Steem Power Delegation for 4 Weeks - sponsor @taliakerch
  • 10 Steem Basic Income shares sponsored by me, @streetstyle
Rules to Win Prizes for SPUD4 :
  • MUST have a reputation score BELOW 69.00 ( so 68.99 is good & Can participate.) AND more than 75 STEEM POWER (prior to SPUD4) BUT LESS than 7501 Steem Power.
  • MUST have a reputation score ABOVE 42 (so rank of 41.99 will Not Win)
  • MUST have at least 1 Steem Post in their blog about SPUD4
  • MUST Power Up Steem on August 1st, 2019
  • On August 1st, you MUST make a post about your POWER UP. It can be as simple as "I powered up X amount of Steem" to a simple picture/screenshot of your Power Up and posted to your Steem blog, or it could be a super long dissertation on Steem Power. IMPORTANT: Use the SPUD and/or SPUD4 Hash tags so that I can be sure to see them.

Because I must - a last word

This is the second time I have participated in SPUD. Both times it was at the behest of my witchy friend, fellow Steemian and blogpal @traciyork, but it's the first time I've actually posted about it. It's also the first time I've written properly a little about Steem, itself, from on my WordPress blog in a way that, I hope, my non-Steemian readers may follow.

Feature Image: Pixabay

Until next time
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa



Photo: Selma
Post Script
In addition to WordPress I blog on a number of platforms:

  • Steemit - a crypto, social network and blogging platform, to which I post from WordPress using the SteemPress plugin. If you'd also like to use your WordPress blog to earn crypto, join us on SteemPress.
  • My WordPress site is hosted by fellow Steemian, @gmuxx, with fees paid in crypto currency: Steem Based Dollars. If you want more information, join the Steemblogs Club on Discord
  • Narrative, a crypto blogging platform

  • Instagram is a mostly visual platform where I post microblogs about fluff: usually food and the cats; posts that sometimes promise hint about future WordPress posts.
On the Steem platform, I am part of these communities

Designed by @zord189






Let me help with your English writing
Rates depend on the depth of edit required
More about why I am offering this service here
Contact me



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://www.fionasfavourites.net/2019/08/01/building-up-a-head-of-steem-spud4/

Sort:  

When I decided to contribute to the #SPUD4 prize pool, I said...

I will give a 100% upvote to the winning posts (unless I've already hit them up, then I'll upvote their most recent post).

Also, I'll give the first prize winner 2.5 Steem, and the second runner up 1.5 Steem (for a total of 4 Steem, because of this being SPUD4 😊).

If I somehow end up being flush with lots of Steem by then, I reserve the right to increase the size of the prizes... 😂

While I'm not exactly flush, I decided to go ahead and add a couple things. One was an award for the 3rd place winner. The other (which I didn't announce) is a WildCard Favorite. Three guesses who I picked for that.

grin.gif

It's not much, but I hope it helps towards your next power up!

@traciyork! I am blown away! Thank you. So generous of you. I hope to reciprocate some day. Thank you

Posted using Partiko Android

You're very welcome, Fiona! No need to reciprocate - I know you're good people and you pay it forward in so many ways on this platform. I just wish I could've added a few zeros to the amount, but as soon as Steem moons again, it will be worth more, so it all works out. Hope you have a spectacular Sunday!

!SHADE 2
Thanks for sharing on Pimp Your Post Thursday

nice post,
thanks for explaining this all.
and thanks for presenting this on #pypt @pypt @traciyork

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT

Thanks for stopping by @bluefinstudios and thank you @traciyork for mentioning the post in @pypt

Posted using Partiko Android

Good job on the explanation and you're welcome for the help! We'll get you to 1000SP yet! Hint: ocdb 🙂

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks @nickyhavey. It's taken me long enough to grasp. :D And yes, I have to look into the ocdb thing properly.

WICKED AWESOMESAUCE, Fiona! Love how you broke down the Steem basics for those reading on WordPress, and while you haven't hit your goal yet, I have no doubt you will in the very near future (call it my witchy sixth sense...😂). And it's early afternoon here in my corner of the world, yet I haven't done my #SPUD4 thing yet - you totally beat me to it! Nicely done, on all counts.

Also, I shouted out about this post on this morning's #PYPT (Pimp Your Post Thursday), so hopefully a few new folks will drop by and say hello!

Happy #SPUD!

SPUD4 animated gif.gif

Thank you, Traci - on all counts. Yes a couple of #pypt folk did stop by, so thanks for this, too.

That post should have gone out earlier than it did - it was close to, if not after 6pm. And then I realised I hadn't done my usual Sunday Supper graphic and posts... Too many interruptions and distractions! Never mind. Better late than never.

Happy Friday and a good weekend!

Posted using Partiko Android

You're very welcome, Fiona and hope you're having a splendiferous weekend!

Great post about your experience here on the Steem Blockchain. Glad you stayed, and grateful for your support and participation in #SPUD4. This community is getting better and stronger everyday.

And thank you for stopping by - and for the initiative.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @vibesforlife.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

SPUD is always a noble endeavor. Either you increase your SP or you pray for the price of Steem to rise.

🤣 and for the Rand to weaken...

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi, @fionasfavourites!

You just got a 0.02% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

@traciyork shared your SPUD post in PYPT and made all of us hungry! 😂 I did the S.P.U.D. thing one time, on the day, but most of the time I power-up every couple of days and forget to hold it until the beginning of the month... but, it gets done! 😁

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT

Ah thanks so much @thekittygirl - and for stoppingby! I also usually power up as I go, but perhaps now, I shall do it once a month and see how that goes.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05