Ulog 128: Never A Dull (Or Slow) Moment In The Garden: Saving Seeds

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

Tis the busy time of year in the garden! Not only am I weeding, trimming, harvesting the bounty and making sure everything out there is blooming and growing despite the heat and dry conditions, but I've also started saving seeds from some of my flowers that have begun to end their cycle for the season.

cal seeds 2.jpg

One specific flower I've been snatching up seeds from are the calendula. Some of the flowers have started to wither away and now is the time to gather up these beautiful blooms, and seeds, for Garden 2020.

I had originally purchased organic, non-GMO calendula seeds from a local (and highly reputable) seed company two years ago and have been slowly building my seed stock. I do this with ALL of my seeds and plants now. I really have no reason to purchase new seeds; unless it is a new variety of seed I have never grown before.

I have built up such a surplus of certain seeds that I have started selling the seeds on Etsy. Ones that I have been selling on a weekly, some days daily basis, are feverfew and wild lettuce.

Just two days ago I added my calendula seeds to the mix on Etsy. No sales yet, but I have great hope for them.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

It's so sad to see these beautiful flower blooms wilting away as another garden season begins to come to an end. But I also know they will be back next year as I will always plant this flower in my herb and flower gardens. Not only do they add a special pop of color to the rows and rows of green herbs early in the summer, but I also harvest the petals for making soaps, salves and even vinegar.

SIDE NOTE

calendula vinegar makes for a wondrous hair conditioner and rinse!

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

TIBLogo


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

I think it's fantastic that you save your own seeds. That's really the way that flowers are meant to be stored and grown!

Posted using Partiko Android

Keeping seeds and replanting, no selling, excellent ensuring they thrive in nature whether in your garden or someone else's garden.

Interesting to learn the uses you have with this bloom @goldendawne

This post has been rewarded with an upvote from city trail as part of Neoxian City Curation program . We are glad to see you using #neoxian tag in your posts. If you still not in our discord, you can join our Discord Server for more goodies and giveaways.

Do you know that you can earn NEOXAG tokens as passive income by delegating to @neoxiancityvb. Here are some handy links for delegations: 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP. Read more about the bot in this post.

👍👍 Right on SiStar 🌱🌿🌾🌼

I will be visiting your etsy shop soon 💕

🌿🌻🙏🌻🌿

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.885 which ranks you at #1321 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 1323).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 143 contributions, your post is ranked at #70.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Very interesting. Are you increasing the number of calendulas that you have by planting more each year, or does the calendula die off after one season?

Definitely need to save up the seeds of such beautiful flower!

Definitely need
To save up the seeds of such
Beautiful flower!

                 - joelai


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Oh no, 3 month late finding this post!
I save sooo many prairie-native seeds, some will end up rotting before I find a home for them. The mice get some. Friends get buckets full of 'em. One confesed he never planted his, fearing seeds from an adjacent prairie state might carry some contaminant (the way firewood carries Emerald Ash borer to every county in the state). *sigh
I even mail seeds - all the way to Spain, in one case, and he mailed me some sweetpea seeds from his second home in Australia in return. And they grew, and blossomed, and I saved the seeds in the fall, but they never grew for me again. And he stopped writing me. (An author. Very accomplished and very private author. No surprise there.)
We have several Seed Sharing groups in our state, but I always forget to contact them... meanwhile, I have lots of gorgeous purple aster seed, some blackberry lily, and this year, not one asculepias tuberosa (orange butterfly) - not sure why that is! They did bloom! Something ate the seed pods?

You sound like a brilliant herbalist! do you recommend any particular books? I have a few, but never seem to master botany (identifying plants is dangerous, and mushrooms, I wouldn't dare! Just the morrel.)
You "harvest the petals for making soaps, salves and even vinegar." And a hair rinse. Someone here blogged about edible shampoo and soap. Why do buy plastic bottles full of chemicals and suds and false promises? I need to get with the program!! You inspire me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66765.98
ETH 3234.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.23