Ulog 129: Pet Peeves- Where Are People's Work Ethics?

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

It's not that I'm an impatient person, it's just that I take people for their word.

If someone tells me to expect something, then I grasp onto that (their word). And when they fail to produce what was promised when it was promised, I tend to get irritated. Do you?

This pet peeve of my expectations from people goes back and spans over two decades, from when I was a newspaper reporter and I was calling someone or stopped by their office waiting for an interview, some quotes or basic information for newspaper story I was working on... with a deadline.

If someone told me they would call me back and promise to get the information to me, knowing I had to meet a deadline on this day, at this time; and they didn't get back to me... I would get so upset. They were, after all, messing with not only my job, but also my reputation. (And we ALL know how valuable a reputation is.)

photo-1564055630017-d58393798b8e.jpg

Image Source- Unsplashed- Elijah O'Donnell

Back in the olden days, it was always common knowledge that a man's word was his honor/bond.

If a cowboy gave his word about a business transaction or deal, the person on the receiving end knew he would be true to his statement.

But words are just words now. People expect to be forgiven for not following through with what they promised. Excuses are a dime a dozen and I have had my fill of empty promises and broken appointments.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

I've been waiting for two weeks for someone to come out and clean out our gutters here. I now this may sound trivial to some of you, but I cannot go up a ladder to save my own life. With ferocious bouts of vertigo, an unsteady stance and un-coordination, I am a prime candidate for a hospital emergency room visit if I attempt this feat.

Mr Golden D works 12 hour days, seven days a week and by the time he gets home... he's exhausted and bedtime is right around the corner. So I can't expect him to trudge up a ladder to do this maintenance. Plus I am the person who handles all the household tasks.

I have called eleven people to come do this. Either I left a message with no return call to schedule this chore; or people on the other end of the telephone say they'll have someone call back to schedule a good day and time. Needless to say, no return calls... as of yet.

But almost two weeks ago, someone answered my call, set up a day and time to come out and do this... and I sit here and am still waiting, although they were supposed to be here two Sundays ago.

Then again last Wednesday AND Thursday... and again this past Sunday.

I get so irritated by the nonchalant attitudes, brushing off of a good payday they'll receive and the dismissive work ethics these people are conveying about themselves.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

TIBLogo


This post was made from https://ulogs.org

Sort:  

I subscribe to your pet peeve. I remember reading once in a self-help book an expression that cheese as it may sound carries a lot of power.
something along the lines of
the bull gets its strength from its horns, the man from the honoring of his word.
I can understand your frustration. Here we can't get anything done these days. Most companies that delivered different repair or maintenance services are broke, left the country or do not have equipments (vehicles etc.)

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Sigh, you too? We've been waiting to have gutters installed here. Signed a contract and everything. Still waiting. I don't know if I can expect them to come out this year or not. And that's just the beginning of it.
I don't understand how people don't care about doing a good job. Doesn't that give them a sense of purpose?

Indeed, this good habit of keeping the word, a promise, has been lost.
I don't understand why you have to promise something when you know you can't do that.
It's like the label of some old days ... we must have no expectations.

Oh my goodness, what a pain! I'm so with you on living up to your word, and also respecting other people's time! I pretty much work by scheduling appointments, so it is really frustrating for me when someone cancels frequently or doesn't otherwise respect our scheduled times. Of course on my end I make sure to keep my own schedule up to date to make sure I'm living up to my end of the bargain, as well.

I was actually just having a conversation with friends over the weekend about doctor's appointments. How it has pretty much become accepted that you're going to wait for an hour before being seen, but you better not be late to check in for your allotted time or they won't see you! So crazy.

I hope you finally get someone to get over there soon!

We just went through this in the last 2 weeks. I made a post about it today:

https://steemit.com/life/@goldenoakfarm/the-forms-are-built-august-14-2019-goldenoakfarm

At least in our case, they finally did come....

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.889 which ranks you at #1313 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 157 contributions, your post is ranked at #20.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

You ought to be angry. It is important to you and even if it isn't, why give your word when you can't fulfill?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77