Ulog 45: Two Weeks In & How Am I Doing With The Keto Lifestyle?

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)



This keto meal was just some steamed cauliflower seasoned with salt and pepper with some sauteed cabbage and onions and ground venison. While you may be thinking... how bland and unimaginative, BUT let me tell you WE LOVED IT! It was so simple and makes for a quick stay on the lifestyle change when you're in a rush and have had a hectic day.

And the sauteed cabbage with onions, seasoned with salt. pepper, garlic powder and some crushed red pepper flakes really was delicious. Mr Golden D couldn't stop eating it! So healthy and cleansing (the next day) plus little to no carbs!

And I have to add... it was VERY filling. This was my plate and it filled me up to the point I didn't even have my regular evening snack of string cheese with a handful of almonds or nuts. Granted the cauliflower serving was larger than I normally would have eaten before, so this tells me the lifestyle change to keto and eating healthier is being implanted into my head. I am making better food choices. YEAH me!

border.png

My grocery shopping now also tells me more about the lifestyle change(s) we've made in the house. I spend twice the amount of time in the produce department than anywhere else in the store.

  • I don't go down the frozen foods aisles
  • I skip over the bread and bakery areas
  • I never go down the center aisles in the stores where all the carbs-filled and prepackaged foods are lurking
  • I bypass the snack aisles, soda aisle and all those other goodies

This has really been a transformation for me.

Yesterday I had two doctor appointments and had to go pick up some medical equipment and other things in my rehabilitation from the auto collision last year, and Mr Golden D took me. He was hungry midway through my medical treatment day out, so he stopped for lunch. Unfortunately I wasn't hungry (too stressed with all that was happening over the course of the day), but hey, a guy's gotta eat, right? So we stopped at a a local coney island restaurant.

So Mr Golden D ordered an omelette with cheese and meat, passed on the hash browns and toast and was quite full form the meal. He even made a comment to me (with a smile upon his face)... See...no carbs! Yeah... this food lifestyle change is happening and working!

How is it working? Well last week (one week into the change) I had mentioned in my one post that I was down five-pounds. Today... day 14... I am down eleven-pounds total!

AND guess what! I have given up soda pop! My one Achilles weakness! I HAVE GIVEN IT UP! That in itself is the best accomplishment by far for me.

border.png

Some Of My Keto Recipes & Posts

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_round.png

Join Us On Discord

Sort:  

We are SO proud to have you as a member of our
FANTABULOUS Power House Creatives family!
uvoted and resteemed!

❤ MWAH!!! ❤

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_float.png

#powerhousecreatives

You are doing great, @goldendawne, on the diet. Good to give up the soda pop. . I never was much of a pop drinker and have changed my tea and coffee to drink it black. The meal looks delicious, especially since I love cauliflower.

YES i FEEL GREAT about giving up the pop! Such a great accomplishment for me.

Cauliflower is one of my all-time favorites too!

Looks like a good meal to me! Keep up the great work. This new year I decided to try and be more conscious of what I eat. Been trying to eat more fruits and veggies and less processed foods, and so far I’ve cut out alcohol too...

Cheers and Happy New Year!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Great meal! I really think it's delicious

I have given up pop too, i now mostly drink water, pop tastes disgusting now :)

@goldendawne, I can feel this Cauliflower dish for sure and i can say that you've enjoyed this stuff. Stay blessed. 🙂

This was interesting to read, Dawne. Thank you for sharing! I'm 4 weeks into my keto diet and I'm loving it so far. My weight has finally dropped below 70 kg / 155 lbs – something I've been trying to achieve for years. And I love the fact that I don't get hungry that much anymore. And, just like you, I also observe that I'm now buying mostly fresh produce. Oh, and dairy products – something I didn't use to buy at all before.

Please keep us updated on your progress! I'm cheering for you! :)

Keep up the good work - your body will thank you.

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.788 which ranks you at #1388 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 3 places in the last three days (old rank 1385).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 471 contributions, your post is ranked at #80.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

It can be challenging at first but it becomes a lifestyle. Yes, I cheat some days but my natural go to's now are all low card or no carb and it really does make the world of difference. When I was eating COMPLETELY carb and sugar free, I felt like a very different person and yes, the weight just fell off! Keep it up hon!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63457.41
ETH 3119.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94