Ulog 53: Estate Sale Finds & Plans To Re-Purpose

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

Over the weekend a neighbor was having an estate sale and we decided to stop in on the first day. The lady who was hosting this estate sale is on a tight time schedule due to her husband already being at their new home; we found out they had actually moved late last autumn and were keeping this place just in case things didn't work out at their new place (in Hawaii).

So the prices were dirt cheap because she's got a flight out of here on Wednesday.

We hit at the right time for shopping. Mr Golden D is a fiend when it comes to flea markets, Goodwill stores, garage and yard sales and all things cheap. I love to wander around and look but this is one of the rare times I actually made purchases. We had fun.

Things we bought...

  • A wicker shelf that I will be sanding and repainting for our master bathroom (image above)
  • His and her mountain bikes with locks - $100 for both
  • An industrial fan for Mr Golden D to take to work - $15
  • A new (microwave-image below) stand that I have in my homesteading room for my soapmaking supplies and essential oils - $20
  • A treadmill with electronic readings - $50
  • A Ryobi Circular and two drills' set - $50
  • A table/counter top Miter saw - $25
  • A brand new (only used once) Toro 21" snow blower - $150
  • Other odds and ends - total $20

Plus my brother was able to stop over and get a queen mattress set with pillow top for $100 plus a Sanyo 42" Tv for $60 for his new place he just moved into last November.

The wicker shelf above, I am planning on cleaning it up, sanding it down then painting it this spring. I'm still trying to decide on the colors to use. I'd like something vibrant and bright against the pale wicker baskets. My first thought was teal... and since I have plans already to repaint and give the master bathroom a lift this year, I want to make sure I color coordinate the shelf too.


This is the microwave stand we got. I already have it cleaned up with some of my soapmaking items, essential oils and the wicker basket has my to-do craft ideas in it.

It's the perfect fit in my homesteading room and I'm thrilled to have it as an addition in there.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_round.png

Join Us On Discord

Sort:  

That is my kind of fun! Sounds like you had a great time.

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

It's always a blessing whenever someone is flying away as things can't be more cheaper than even on black friday sale. ...we too always lookout for such chances

Posted using Partiko Android

Sounds like a nice haul! That snow blower would have been awesome. My neighbor passed a couple of months ago and had an estate sale. She was a single older lady though so she wouldn't have had any of the tools and stuff that I would have been interested in. We didn't walk over to it, we just sat at home and complained about the cars using our driveway as a turn around :)

Congratulations @goldendawne! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 14000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 15000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.802 which ranks you at #1378 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 221 contributions, your post is ranked at #40.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

So very cool! We love tag sales and estate sales, though estate sales are mostly real sad. We've gotten some great stuff from estate sales.

You 2 did really well! The microwave stand looks perfect there!

Howdy there goldendawne! man, you guys did that right didn't you? haha, great job. I love when things like that work out!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29