Ulog 58: Sowing New Flower Seeds, Transplanting & Artichokes

My latest additions to the Golden D Homestead seed collection are here.

Pansy, Viola, English Daisy, more lavender to replenish my dwindling stash, Sweet Pea and, the one I'm most excited about, ARTICHOKES!

The artichokes will really be the one that tests my gardening abilities; as it is not just simply sow the seed, germinate and transplant. After researching quite a bit about it, I have concluded the growing and harvest season is a small window for the zone in which I live; so I have to me meticulous and stay precisely on schedule with the seedlings and plants as it grows. Small margin for error.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

So after gathering the seeds, the tray, the labels, other necessary supplies as well as my Samsung tablet (I like to listen to YouTube channels as I work), I was ready to get these seeds all sowed. I have been sowing seeds for the last month and keeping them all in my indoor grow tent, so I have no concerns about the germinated seeds dying or failing; as they all have room to expand in here and grow before I harden them for outdoor transplanting later.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Once I was finished with sowing the new seeds, I set to work on transplanting some of the other seeds that had germinated from my sowing last week. I was planning on putting them in Solo cups to start, but decided to skip that step and just transplant right into small pot containers; saving myself a step as I will not be putting them outside any time soon to harden. They will be staying in my grow tent with heat, lights and a small fan that blows them around for an hour or two a day to help with any pollination that is necessary.

I had three parsley seedlings and two more Nasturtium flowers to transplant on this day.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_round.png


signature.gif

Join Us On Discord

Sort:  

I've been growing artichokes here in New England for over 20 years. The crucial part is to make SURE the seedlings get at least 3 weeks of 50F temps 24/7 w/o freezing. This will set the buds. They can not have higher temps during the day. Often hard to do here, as we sometimes have a May heat wave, or even April...

Big Garden - artichokes1 crop Aug. 2011.jpg

OH thank you!!!! I was reading about that but sometimes it's better to hear from someone who has had experience with it!

I live pretty much parallel to you across the country so this is excellent to hear! 20 years? WOW!

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.816 which ranks you at #1369 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1370).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 226 contributions, your post is ranked at #143.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31