Ulog 59: Newest Addition To The Golden D Homestead Kitchen

I am not a person who lives on Facebook; heck the last time I made a post on that platform was New Year's Day 2018. So many of you may ask... Why do you keep your page and account open? Mainly to see pictures of my six grandchildren on a semi-daily basis. Other than that... I rarely have a use for it. With all the privacy issues that social media platform has inundated us with in the last few years, I'm not real sure how anyone would want to still use it; but that's another concern that I won't be discussing here.

Today I want to show what happened when I did venture on the social media website the other day to clear out the notifications that were blinking red of notice on my tablet.

I do belong to a few homesteading, gardening and local swap pages and groups there and when I clicked open the app the other day I immediately saw someone was selling an almost new, only used twice dehydrator. I've been wanting to buy a second dehydrator for my homestead, I've just never really sat down to price them and figure out which one I wanted. I don't need a fancy or expensive dehydrator. I just want one that I can run in unison with my current one so I can dry more herbs, make more jerky and other items all at once.

Well... this lady (who lived about five miles from me) had made this for sale post Just Now... so I quickly sent her a message and told her I could come by the next morning to buy it if it was still available. And it was!

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

So I was clock watching ALL morning long until it was twenty minutes until the time we had agreed upon meeting. I was practically pacing around the house! I priced out the dehydrator while I waited and saw it retailed anywhere from $35-$50 depending which store, brick and mortar or online, it was purchased from.

She was asking $30, but I told her I would give her $25, as that was my budget to buy a second one. She agreed and I went to pick it up. Of course, Mr Golden D would have said to offer her $20, but I didn't want to miss out on this deal and not have to wait for it to be delivered; plus it is more or less new.

As I said, this may not be the most fancy (other models I noticed of this brand has rotating trays) and it may not be the fanciest, but it's perfect for me. I've never heard of this brand before and I'll be reading the instructions manual for more information, but I am beyond thrilled to add this to my homesteading room and to have come summer and autumn when my herbs and flowers are all being harvested.

So in the mean time, the night before picking it up, I took out the last package of thinly sliced sirloin steaks from the quarter of a cow we purchased last September and marinated it in the jerky seasoning. Hey... I have to try out the new dehydrator after all!

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_round.png


signature.gif

Join Us On Discord

Sort:  

Sometimes things just fall into place :D

awesome... I got one this year too! Just dehydrated a heap of home grown tomatoes.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.816 which ranks you at #1368 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1 places in the last three days (old rank 1369).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 233 contributions, your post is ranked at #104.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

First rule of second hand sales: Always offer low, you can always go up. Real hard to go down.... :))

You are so lucky that you got it with a nice price.

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy goldendawne! oh so that's how you get your jerky! Wonderful. And marinated in the seasonings would make it perfect! well done on that and the new dehydrator!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02