Ulog 60: Transplanting A Citronella Plant & Preparing To Make Citronella Oil

As you can see this citronella plant that I brought indoors last autumn has grown leaps and bounds. It was taking up a good corner of my 48x48 tent and it needed to be transplanted into yet another larger container.

I took it from the 3-gallon bucket and decided it was ready for the 5-gallon bucket; gosh knows I have more than enough of those around the homestead.

While I had the plant out and was sitting on the floor with it, I removed any browned leaves from it, trimmed off some healthy larger leaves for another post and project I'm working on (see below) and I cleaned it up real nice.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png



Filling the 5-gallon bucket up with Mother Earth Coco-Coir with perlite soil. This is the same soil I used for all of my cannabis plants and clones.

When I received the citronella plant last summer, I used the same soil to start it off in because it wasn't in the healthiest condition. I figured the perlite would possibly help the plant to survive. Here is the original post from eight months ago when I had first received the plant. It was stemmy and the leaves were dropping; I really had no hope for its survival at the time.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

I have this bucket filled about 3/4 of the way to the top. When I transplant anything into these 5-gallon buckets I like to leave at 3/4 full for a few days to let the plant settle into its new home and have the dirt settle down some too. I packed the soil down with my hand and fist so the roots will have a sturdy home. I learned this technique from growing cannabis and since the coco-coir soil can be on the light and airy side as far as soil goes, packing down the soil seems to work the best for a solid base.

I'll be adding more coco-coir dirt in a few days after the dirt in there now has completely had a chance to position itself.

I added two tomato/garden stakes (which may be difficult to see in the image as the sunlight was shining in through the kitchen window as well as the sky light above my head), then took some twine to tie off the plant. It (the plant) has become so top heavy and I wanted to make sure it has enough support and doesn't break or topple over.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png


These are some of the healthy leaves I trimmed off ans set aside so I can make some citronella oil later today. I'll share that recipe perhaps tomorrow here as well as some ideas on how to use the citronella oil.

Even though it has been a few hours since I finished this transplant, the kitchen's aroma of citronella is still prevalent.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_round.png


signature.gif

Join Us On Discord

Sort:  

Waiting for the citronella oil post now.... :))

That's one happy plant!

Wow, I guess you really have a green thumb. It looks a lot healthy now compared to your post 8 months ago. I hope it will yield you a lot of oil. Thanks for sharing this with us!

WOW the citronella plant is doing so well, Loving seeing your gardening updates

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.821 which ranks you at #1356 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 3 places in the last three days (old rank 1359).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 227 contributions, your post is ranked at #95.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

This is really cool. I think you need to meet my wife--she has plants all over the house and garden. In fact, she went to a fruit tree sale to buy one tree and came back with 9!

Proud member of #powerhousecreatives

Howdy goldendawne! Wonderful job on that plant, it looks like a million bucks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 61243.73
ETH 2974.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69