Ulog 73: Gardening- Planting In Succession

in #powerhousecreatives5 years ago (edited)

In the past I have attempted to grow lettuce, arugula and spinach, but once the crop is done... it's done. So this year I am planning on using my cut in half barrels in succession.

What Is Succession?

More or less, it's when you plant crops of the same variety at different intervals throughout the grow season so you have a continuous crop coming up every week or two. So if most lettuce varieties mature and are ready for harvest every 50 days and you want fresh lettuce from June until October, you should plant a new crop every week or two. This would allow you to have a lettuce harvest almost every week for those previous mentioned months/weeks.

In this case, I will be planting new seeds or seedlings every week.

I figure two of each variety would be sufficient for our salad intake needs. I have four half barrels already on the homestead and will use one for all the varieties every week. So each barrel will have a supply and I will rotate them for the summer. (ie. Barrel one will harvest first, the following week will be Barrel two and so on.) The way I have planned out (in my head at least) will allow me to use each barrel three times for this succession garden plan.

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

We live about six miles from a local lettuce farm and I remember early last spring driving some back roads here and we passed this farm. When I saw the rows and rows of romaine lettuce I was entranced. Such beauty was sprawled out in the fields.

Image Source- Pixabay

Then about a month later we drove down the same dirt road again for an afternoon out to enjoy the day and when we came to this lettuce farm, a whole new field had been planted to the south of the first. This lettuce was just beginning to grow while the first field was in its full glory of growth.

I can recall thinking... how gorgeous! And that they'd have lettuce to harvest for weeks here.

This is exactly what I want to have (obviously on a much smaller scale).

So I have been working on a planting schedule using arugula, romaine lettuce, Bib lettuce, Little Gem lettuce and spinach. These are all our favorite varieties as they make one of the best salad combinations by far. Last year I attempted to grow some radicchio and had a minimum harvest- just enough to add to a few salads and dehydrate for stews and soups later. I'm hoping for a better crop this year.

So do you succession garden and plant? How have the results been?

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

For more information about succession gardening, see the Homestead Survival Site

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL.png

Power House Creatives Logos FINAL_round.png

Sort:  

That looks like a solid plan.. good luck with it. I used to do a indoor grow where I harvested every month using almost the same tactic. Different type of "lettuce" tho

Wow that totally made sense but never occurred to me. I figured for the space it would take up, and just to have no lettuce for a month and a half, then have too much, then have none again would not be worth it. But! If I plant early, get some seedlings sprouting before the harvest, then pop the new ones in mid summer and I will have it twice!

Thanks for sharing and I will give it a try this summer!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hi @goldendawne!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.824 which ranks you at #1363 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 359 contributions, your post is ranked at #208.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Love this, I'll be anxious to see how the season works out! So many varieties :) Yum! @goldendawne

I wish I have green thumbs!

I always wanted to do that especially those that you wanted to be in your diet all the time. Now I know the term for it - succession :)

Every year I start a new batch of greens and lettuce and have set aside beds for them. I plant out to the beds when the seedlings are big enough. The hard part is getting it to grow and not bolt in July and August...

That for sure is the way to go!! All at once and then nothing is a problem. I still need to figure some fruit trees to be year around...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64837.84
ETH 3174.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17